Writing Update: Novel #3, The Veil of Creation, is done!

in #writing7 years ago

I finished the first draft of my third novel, The Veil of Creation on June 6th! It's been a challenge to dive into #4, otherwise known as The Foundation of Creation.

I learned a lot in the process of finishing The Veil of Creation, mostly about the importance of strong supporting characters and juggling subplots. I finally got to write a steamy love scene between two of the supporting cast!

Having all the novels in an unfinished state has allowed me to weave together the stories in a very strong manner! I guess I should get around to editing one of these days...but for now I've been having too much fun.

As I mentioned #4 has been a bit of challenge to begin. The main story arc of the protagonist is solid in my mind, but the subplots and supporting cast I've come to love has a new adventure ahead of them.... one that I don't quite understand how to write!

I've decided to include a murder mystery subplot, after all the Victorian's invented the damn genre.

The only catch is I've never written a mystery before! It's been a lot of research into the genre, and a lot of plotting... lots and lots of plotting because you can't really 'pants' a mystery novel! It's been a roller-coaster of an adventure since NaNoWriMo, and I can't wait to see what the next page holds! If you are missing my work, look me up ... I'll need some beta readers soon!

Love,
Renée

Sort:  

I do not read much fiction these days, but it sounds like you are very passionate about your novels. I hope that you get through this work with lots of knowledge learned!

I think it would be right up your alley. Considering I'm attempting to distill the initiatory path of western esoteric magic in an exciting queer neo-Victorian setting! The Qabalistic symbolism alone is worth the price of admission!

Yeah, after reading some of your posts I was reconsidering my answer, heh. I would absolutely be down with reading your beta-copy :D

Congratulations ! Good luck and Best wishes on #4 ! wow ... Impressed ! Not bad for a "Tide Wader" and a "Bone Digger", lol

Read More, Reason More ... JTS

There is very little Tide Wading and Bone Digging in my fiction!

lol ! Funny AND smart ... sexy !

This sounds wonderfully engaging. I'm so glad your making progress! I must admit that when you mentioned the ability to weave them tightly together as they are semi unfinished across the board I got very excited, how does a girl get into this elite group known as beta readers?

You go girl! Takes some depth to write novels. I barely got through my 72 page real estate investing book. Soooo glad it's done. Time to start the next one, ugh...I mean yay! :-)

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51