Proofreading Matters

in #writing6 years ago

First of all, what is the difference between proofreading and editing? You ask a good question. These handy highlights should clarify things for you ... except for the final point in our case, as it is all free here my friends.

enter image description hereenter image description here
image source

I jumped at the chance to volunteer as a proofreader in the wonderful Steemit Creators' Guild Discord server as I think that with just a little polish most posts can be fabulous. When I see simple little mistakes in spelling, punctuation and grammar I am itching to correct them; and I personally find them distracting from the great content a post may offer. (Not to say that I am not infallible, but it is always easier to check others' work than one's own.)

Our Guild creator, @jrswab recently created this informative post on why you should make use of our free & helpful services. We would love to be even busier than we already are in there, so please do join us. If English isn't your first language, and you have had your work translated, our service would be a good asset for you to be able to check that the English version still 'makes sense' grammatically. You have put a lot of effort into creating your post, so you want its message to be understood by your readers.

The following is a (sometimes tongue-in-cheek) look at some common errors that can easily be corrected by a good proofreader.

Spelling Mistakes

enter image description here
some of these examples are grammatical errors rather than spelling errors
image source

Other common mistakes I have noticed around Steemit are when apart is used instead of a part; and spelling realy instead of really. A common mistake - not on Steemit - I notice often used by real estate agents in their listing blurbs is when they use seperate instead of separate. These silly errors bug me. Perhaps I have spelling-OCD.
enter image description here
A spelling error can change the entire message.
image source

Punctuation

I think we can all get the idea, from these following cartoons, on just why correct punctuation matters.

enter image description here
image source

enter image description here
image source

enter image description here
image source

enter image description here
image source

Enough said.

Grammar

enter image description here
image source

This is often a case of 'wrong place, wrong time'. Choosing the correct variation matters, people.

Classic examples would be using the wrong form of their, they're or there; your or you're; its or it's.

enter image description here
image source

As I have said, it can be these small errors that can make your post seem not as terrific as it is intended to be. A proofreading service is, therefore, an invaluable tool to utilise; and there is certainly no embarrassment to be felt in asking for one of us to give your post a look over before you publish it. As @jrswab mentioned in his post, it is not so easy for us to see our own mistakes. A pair of fresh eyes is invaluable.

I cannot speak for any other proofreader - and I am not a professional, just a passionate hobbyist - but when I proofread I change as little as possible of the essence of the post. I may offer suggestions on rewording a sentence if I feel it does not make sense the way it is intended to, but I have no desire to destroy the basic structure of what you have created. I will also have no opinion on the content of your post. That is not my job either. There are other services much better equipped to offer deeper analysis of your writing.

One final thing - if you spot any errors in this post, just remember this:

“Muphry’s Law: “If you write anything criticising editing or proofreading, there will be a fault of some kind in what you have written.”
― Mary Norris, Between You & Me: Confessions of a Comma Queen

Sort:  

Great post! I hope that you will excuse me for some mistakes because English is not my native language? I consider myself a literate enough person and I hate when people make elementary mistakes in grammar and punctuation! I hate it to goose bumps! I believe that this is disrespect for the language and for country. But all this concerns only the Russian language. I try not to make mistakes in English, but it's not so simple ...

Of course! I wish I was multi-lingual, it would come in very handy now I'm on Steemit. Maybe I could time-travel back to my school-age self and tell me to learn. :D

I've never heard of anyone hating anything to goose bumps before. I like the description, though. :)

Oh, yeah! I always proofread all my essays before sending them to the teacher, as I like when they are impeccable. However, sometimes I don't have time to write them, so I use a writing service that always manages to write it in a record time, and more importantly in a unique way. If you also need some good writing services, then you can read more about them on https://www.bestessaytips.com/review_essay.php

This post has received a 1.16 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @dksart.

Oh, thank you very much @dksart a lovely surprise :)

One big thing I find when I proofread my own stuff is syntax and redundancy. I tend to write as if I was having a conversation with someone, and in a conversation that person gets to rely heavily on body language and tone of voice to understand you. Sometimes being redundant is a good idea to emphasize a point.

However, people don't get that in writing. They have enough time to reflect on what you've said and being redundant just makes it look like you're not aware of what you're writing.

I also tend to write as if having a conversation. I think that since I started posting on forums it is why I've always relied a lot on using emoticons to emphasise my tone - but they aren't something you can easily throw into a post or comment on Steemit, or even Discord. But I still try.

oh yes this is soooo important! mistakes erk me too! i have my college english classes to thank for that i suppose ;) sharing this account with my less editorish partner, ini, oooooh boy... i guess i just end up doing all of the editing, though to his credit he is doing a bit better ;) lol standards!

and lol to all of those let's eat grandma and cut kids!! lol punctuation saves lives <3

hehe, I bet if you didn't have to do any editing you'd be just that little bit bored ;) I think part of what I enjoy about it is the organisation - setting things into order, even if it is just words.

high 5 :D

haha yes, i agree! there is something satisfying about a correctly written sentence! High 5 back ;) :D

So hide my posts from you then @ravenruis the writing police...
I seem to forget to proof read before posting, but do it after, that's when I find all my mistakes, a bad habit, working on it.
Thankful for spell check, though some still escape.

Come into the Creators' Guild for a post 'spit & polish' any time before you push the button. ;)

lol, I need a badge like this

Truly, if you are proofreading, do have a quick perusal of my posts. The early ones before #097 were not numbered(#), but scrolling approximate about four per day.
#06,07,08,11,12,15,16,19,23,26 are mainly of speaking, but to write clearly is to speak clearly and vice versa, a great help.
#30,37,38,40,/#44,48,52,56,60,64,68,72,76,80,84,85,87,/#91,95,names/#103,107,112,115,119, punctuation/#124 conversations.
--These early posts were about persons proofreading and being self-aware of their own opportunities to be misunderstood.
--They are from < EWUE 118th Ed. HJLtd Pub. 1933 > and are the grammar my grandparents and WW1 babysitters clipped me about the ear for using incorrectly. If you find them useful please do copy/paste/print to hard-copy notes for easy reference. The EWUE was an encyclopaedia the publishers produced for the common weal, from the letters of their public. It was produced in at least 118 editions over the Victorian period for just such a use as that which you are doing.
Keep on keeping on. 😇

Oatmeal have got some really cool classroom posters that I wish to acquisition as soon as I have more relevant walls to put them on XD

LoL that Cyanide and Happiness strip XD

If it's any consolation I didn't pick up anything glaring and would have to scrub through pretty hard to find errors if any exist, but it's early morning. I think you'll be fine ;D

goatsig

lol, I am greatly consoled actually :D phew

Haven't heard of Oatmeal, but posters are always handy as the kids could pick up the messages even subconsciously. :)

As a one-time, short-lived, TEFL teacher this is a great article.

Thank you for saying so, I appreciate it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99