Day 1: My (semi) mess'd up life, part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I was born in this small town in Sicily with 4,000 people. My mom is from Tuscany and my dad from Sicily.

I grew up being an outsider because of my weird accent. I was bullied and beaten on a daily base in school, by some of those fucktards. Life is ironic, those fucktards are my friends.

Being bullied is probably one of the worst best things that can happen to anyone, it either makes you a psycho, or it makes you a frustrated introspective person, creating an insatiable and irrational hunger for ambition because you’re constantly trying to prove that you belong. Elon is on the same boat. That’s actually how most of us get into Tony Robbins and start to believe in those new age bullshits, such as meditation and the Law Of Attraction. I'm going to dedicate a serious post to that sometimes.

I started coding back in 1999 while creating my Warcraft 3 clan website. I worked on it so hard that it became one of the biggest warcraft 3 portal and it hosted the Italian national team. I created my own CMS because I was too lazy to study the horrible documentation of the shitty PHPNuke. I was a nerd, back when nerds were disguised as losers and socially uncool people. I don’t know at which point saying “I got this, I’m an arcade engineer” become something cool to brag about, but I saw someone in Jersey approaching a woman in difficulty with her car not starting.

When I was around 18 years old, I was in love with a friend, who eventually broke my heart, and make me go into an emo spiral, becoming a goth dressed like The Crow... in a beach town where nobody knows what emos or vegetarians are. I then moved from metal, into nu-metal and eventually into hip hop and break dance.

Around 23 I moved to Milan, where I started to work in tech startups. During that time nothing interesting happened, aside from moving to Cardiff and (almost) getting arrested in Croatia, ah love again… yep, I know, there’s a pattern there. During summer my boss told me: “Fed take a vacation we'll need you back in September”. So I packed my backpack and on July 15, 2008, I traveled to New York and flipped to a totally new page of my life, filled with serendipity and crazier events.

Notes:
1. I'll write part 2 at some point.
2. The purpose of my 30 articles in 30 days challenge is to improve my writing skills while having fun and to possibly pay my meal.

Federico Ulfo

Creative software engineer into Bitcoin, acting, dancing, wine, coffee...

https://twitter.com/feulf
https://linkedin.com/in/federicoulfo

Sort:  

I not sure I understood everything (old guy here), but just remember - its the Journey, not the Destination that is important.

Here's something I just read that you may like. I am sure will help my writing someday... Similes and Metaphores: "Her hair glistened in the rain like nose hair after a sneeze"

and don't forget "She walked onto the stage like a centipede with ninety-eight legs missing"

Albert Einstein I think said it best though, "Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity, and I am not sure about the universe"

Waiting impatiently for Part 2....

What in particular didn't you understand? I'll be happy to explain and edit if not clear, these posts are meant to improve my writing skills and have fun while sharing my stories and experiences :)

Sorry, no harm intended... :-(
I had several students heavily into the World of Warcraft, but I really can't relate directly to the problems you had with the "shitty PHPNuke".
Not sure what an "emo spiral" is.
I guess my pitiful attempts at a little humour in connection with your desire to "to improve my writing skills" failed miserably. Lets just chalk it up to an age difference, shall we?
Writing for a cause/Living, is new to me too, although I have, of necessity, written 'stuff' all my life.

My game was Warcraft 3 actually, never played World Of Warcraft, but the concept is pretty much the same, you play a lot to gain experience and level up.

"Emo-spiral": going into a dark place of sadness depression. Emo is a style of rock music with sad emotional lyrics, a style of living and a fashion style.

It's fun to write. Simple as that. Thanks for the comments!

Thanks for the help. And I think I understand the 'Goth' look... I suppose you reviewing the crazy antics and outfits of the Hippies in the '60s would be akin to the same thing for me here...

Yep... hated PHPNuke so much that I created my own CMS which I then released 10 years after, in 2010, https://github.com/feulf/raincms

Nice read. I am also writing to improve my writing skills. Keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66566.79
ETH 3333.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70