StoryTrax - The Adventures I See in Music - 005 - Glassweaver

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Every song tells a story to me. Fascinating visuals broadcast through my mind like an IMAX presentation when I close my eyes and put my headphones on. I'd like to give you a glimpse into what I see, so feel free to listen along as I present the stories I've found while listening to some of my favorite tracks.

Today's track: HAUNTR - Angel Dust

(Note: Today's track is not available on YouTube. Right-click the picture below and select "Open link in new tab" to open the track in a new window, click play, and come back!)


and tell someone to please code in a soundcloud plugin while we're at it

005 - Glassweaver

In the moonlight, the sands of the desert whispered the tales of millennia long past. Jezzu sat cross-legged, his loose robes shifting in the gentle breeze. The soft cries of birds of prey echoed in the night as he meditated, a hollow melody in a place normally silent of nature's song. His mind clear, he focused his attention to the vastness of the skies above, and compared the countless stars to the neigh infinite grains beneath him. He contemplated the stillness of the voids in the darkness, the clearness of an empty sky, and the many colors hidden in inky tones between burning orbs far off in the dead of night.

He felt every beat of his heart in his chest. The blood in his veins slowly stoked the fires of his heart with a steady, slow rhythm. The warmth of the desert radiated up, thin veils of heat parting between the hairs of arms otherwise chilled. Jezzu's breath was constant and methodical as he became aware of the movement of all things. He felt the vibrations of the sand, and though he did not understand the details, he could sense the tiny beads were made of smaller parts, and that they themselves were in a constant state of flux, humming with energy though they appeared completely still.

His mind's eye opened wide. He visualized a single drop of water fall in to the sky and ripple as a wave of consciousness flowed over the galaxies and nebulae of the farthest reaches of the imagination. He saw the strings of mana that connected all things, the source of all magic tying together infinite worlds. He had reached his flow state, it was time to move.

He inhaled sharply and stretched out his hands, holding them inches above the silicon beads of the desert. They began to swirl beneath his palms, bowing to the will of their new master. The sorcerer began to stand, pushing his toes deep in to the dune and lifting his weight with perfect balance, a fluid motion from lotus to warrior position. As he rose the sand followed, swirling in slow-spinning columns. He dug his toes in to the ground as his muscles tensed. His outstretched fingers hooked down, commanding the power he had stored to release itself.

Instantly the sand just below his hands, swirling at the tops of dancing columns, became molten. The columns themselves drew upward from the desert floor, releasing their hold and floating by force of will. As they drew upwards, they met with the molten tops until Jezzu wielded perfect orbs of glowing liquid glass.

Snapping his wrists back, his hands flattened outstretched to his sides, and so did the glass. Two square sheets, solid and thick, formed crystalline shields in the air, completely tempered and clear. Jezzu switched poses again, and the glass followed form, peeling away like dense orange ribbons. With each form Jezzu changed the state and shape of the matter under his control, a glowing liquid in transitional state, solidifying instantly in to shields, swords, and arrows as he moved through the ancient martial art. Each stance combined body, mind, and soul in a stable connection to the webs of magic that tied him to his craft.

As the weaver closed his routine, he pulled the molten orbs together in a single ball, then stretched it in a long, thin, vertical spike of glass that hovered inches above the desert before him. He bowed to it solemnly, and as he grounded himself the bottom tip of the shard began to dissolve, raining tiny beads of sand until the entire shaft became a small pile that blew away as the wind gusted.

Sort:  

Every song tells a story to me.

When you open a post like that, the reader should know that their in for a treat. Man, your writing is really something. I feel like such a novice when my writing stands side by side to yours. The details are amazing, and the way you wrote the movement is so intricate. You could feel every fiber of Jezzu's body flow through the words. The way you described the sweeping vista is incredible. When I read this I couldn't help but think of a setting that's an amalgamation of Dune, Magic: The Gathering and a little hint of Avatar: The Last Airbender. I really hope that a lot of people get to read this truly amazing piece of work. StoryTrax continues to impress, and I do hope I give it justice when I eventually add my contribution to it.

It actually started with a visualization that was more "Avatar" than not, what with being a Glassbender, something I'm surprised they didnt do in the show. However I didnt want it to be overly fan-fic'd so I decided to go with a more sorcerer route, call them a glassweaver, and I'm glad that came off well.

The hardest part of this character, is the surprising lack of synonyms available for molten.... XD

Haha! Glassweavers really get the raw end of the deal when it comes to adjectives that's why I try to stay away from writing them!

The Avatar comparison was really more of the movements, but the setting and the imagery really evoked Dune and MTG for me. Such an amazing read! I read it again and it only got better the third time around. I hope more people get the chance to read this masterpiece. I'll do my best to promote this.

I appreciate it! Glad that you're enjoying reading these, it's the little comments that give me the motivation to keep writing them.

Oh hey, I really have been making a conscious effort to encourage other writers to keep on doing what they love. I know how discouraging it could be sometimes (or ... most of the time?), that's why I'm using the comments section to hopefully inspire fellow writers. If I can't be positive about my own chances, I at least want others to keep the fervor burning.

Check out @anarcho-andrei's work when you find the time. Let him know you found his work through me, if you like. He's very responsive to comments as well. I'm sure he'll back your work up the way I do. I want the #fiction community to be inclusive and supportive of each other. Even if one day my name would be forgotten in the oblivion, I just want to take comfort in knowing that I helped foster a strong fiction community :)

I instantly thought of Magic the Gathering as well after finishing my read of your story. I absolutely love this idea, and I can't wait for you to put more work out there for us to enjoy. This was the first entry in this series that I read, so now I'm going to go back and read the rest of them! :D

Mind Blown!!
I just discovered you, now I get to read all your previous writings.

StoryTrax is something I will look forward to every day. Your creativity, and ability to describe in words what most people can only feel is outstanding . Your writing and imagination are a quantumanomaly.

Hey thanks! I dont generally post them EVERY day (especially since this one took two days to articulate properly) but I have been trying to stay frequent with them. Thanks for your kind words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54225.25
ETH 2280.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29