Dusky Meets Baby SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

image
source

In a beautiful blue ocean filled with all kinds of sea life, I met a redfish named Baby Steem. Baby Steem lived in shallow waters at the top of the ocean. He was not allowed to go into the deep water until he could generate enough Steem to keep him warm.

In a cold water ecosystem, lots of Steem is needed to be able to survive below freezing water temperatures. Mistaking Baby Steem for a dead fish, one day I swallowed him whole before realizing he had a fraction of lukewarm Steem that was not visible to a dolphin’s senses.

On this particular day, the temperature was 26°. After he made me aware that he was just trying to introduce himself, I spit him out and gave him some Steem to warm his body.

Hello...are you okay little one? Baby Steem replied, “I am very cold and I am trying to find a way to get to deeper water. I am so lost and so tired of the minnows, whales, orcas and dolphins passing me by.”

Well please forgive me for not engaging with you. My name is Dusky Dolphin and it’s a pleasure to meet you. Baby Steem, what would you do if you could get to deeper water? Well...I would help other redfish and minnows do the same. Then we would all multiply and build a wonderful warm and welcoming ecosystem with Steem for everyone.

That’s a great goal to have Baby Steem. I tell you what, I will teach you how to generate Steem and navigate into deeper water, if you agree to teach others. Everyday I will meet with you and give you a lesson. Okay Dusky, it’s a deal.

Lesson One from Dusky

First Baby Steem I want you to keep making sounds. Even though your sound is faint and not heard by others, make it everyday. Make good sounds. Others will eventually hear you making different sounds. Make beautiful sounds. Colorful sounds. Some of the sea life will start listening to you and following you around. You can also follow others that you like.

Baby Steem, listen to the sounds made by others. When you like their sounds give them a up-nod and some fish will reciprocate the up-nod.

Next, I want you to take some resources and purchase some Steem while the temperature is low. Today the temperature is 26° and you can buy a lot of Steem.

The final point I want to make in our lesson for today is to find other fish who enjoy the kind of sounds that you like to make and hangout with them. Form a community and support each other with up-nods.

Baby Steem was so grateful I had taken time with him, that he gave me a faint up-nob. I decided to give him a twenty percent up-nob to get him started.

Thank you Dusky for helping me today. Now I will go and put into practice all that I have learned. Next week I am going to be a minnow.

Okay Baby Steem, but first I want you to learn how to navigate through all of the sea doors. I will see you on tomorrow. I love you Dusky, bye.

Photo Enhanced with Canva

Backstory
Part one of this story is written for children to introduce them to cryptocurrency and explain the Steem platform. This is also an entry for the contest hosted by @sndbox and @celfmagazine.

C0BDC26D-EA0F-4BE8-A6C5-A5EC771B92C9.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @pyemoney! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55