🌿WINELAND MUSINGS🌿

in #writing6 years ago

Oh, take me back to the winelands! Summer in the winelands, a lush, mountainous area outside of Cape Town, famous for it's gorgeous grapes that make the tastiest wine, is the best summer one can experience. The weather is hot, okay, sometimes too warm, but that just means tons of time in the pool.

IMG_4745.jpg

Arid air scented with vanilla leaves sits heavily on the landscape. Not a leaf moves, and the baked earth is too warm to put foot on. Birds tweet faintly, half heartedly, hoping for dusk.

On the other side of the farm, I can just faintly hear my family splashing around in the pool. I have come to explore the vineyards and have some me time. Frodo the Chocolate Labrador bounds after a rooster, oblivious of the scorching sun.

IMG_4735.jpg

Panting, he relentlessly digs up sticks for me to throw, his more than ample belly flopping around as he blunders around. Dogs, I shake my head, and think to myself how unintelligent they are. The cat person in me is snootily amused at his obsessive stick chasing.

IMG_4766.jpg

The farm is quiet. A privacy that is not found in the city. I enjoy coming out here to clear my head, stroll long quiet strolls, and breathe in the fresh air.

I enter the old farm house, it's walls as thick as a tree trunk. The house is cool, quiet and away from the others. I relish this time here; city life can be so inane.

IMG_4753.jpg

I lay down on the bed, cool, crisp white linen crackling beneath me. I close my eyes, thoughts lazily floating around my mind. I nod off, blissfully.

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Sort:  

I wish I liked wine. It's so beautiful there....I'll just eat the grapes :)

you will love wine if you come here. There is NO bad wine at all. Every bottle is top notch, regardless of price point x

Lovely. I was just watching the chelsea flower show episodes and there was south African vineyard garden ( I can't recall if it was this years or last years Chelsea) and this immedately made me think of it. The architectural style of that region is really beautiful. I love the idea of a brick surround for a pool!

Ah, the brick surround is very common here, I think it's a remnant from the '80's. I must look up the Chelsea flower show, someone else told me about a garden in Cape Town that was featured. Any idea where I can find the link?

I got caught the way you wrote about this vineyard. I feel in a story walking through your photos, I love the warm days and with a pool, it's much better! You left me with the curiosity to see the wine served!

A really great reflection.

With the one obvious exception. Dogs genuinely care for humans and cats may or may not like the person that feeds them. Ergo, dogs are far superior :)

Thanks for a truly wonderful post.

hehe. Dogs are dumb. Cute, but dumb. Arhh arrhhh, stick! Woof, stick!

And cats? Cats can contemplate air for two hours then take a nap. Ahahahaha.

Sounds like le good life. I love doggos, but I find them really strange

This looks and sounds like an amazing place to get lost and forget about the rest of the world for just a little bit. Sign me up for a week and endless glasses of wine to enjoy as I take it all in.

you would love it! There are a million wine farms, all with exceptional varietals. So much nature and outdoorsy stuff too

mesmerizing writing , enjoyed reading it :)

look at the scenery, very beautiful many vineyards are so neat, I was curious to visit the vineyard that wide

thanks buddy for your comment x

If you weren't a food bloggers sometimes antique, I'd have said you would make a good essayist and prose writer😀

thanks man! I have written a few short stories. I do try, but I find my mind needs to be still do write well, and that doesn't happen often xx

Sometimes it takes mental freedom like this, boom and it's really a good write 😀

you're right. I think I need another winelands meander x

don't forget to lose yourself haha

Lekka :D

Fantastic piece of writing. You've really captured the moment in words well. Great read! Who doesn't love the Cape and its winelands?!?

thanks so much. it's one of my favourite places besides the transkei!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56