The Horror of War

in #writing6 years ago

michal-parzuchowski-260084-edited.jpg

The shooting and bombing outside our apartment building stopped. Finally, we started to feel a bit relieved. When it was all going on in the outside, my mother was crying and my father was reciting a verse from the Quran. I, along with my two younger sisters and a brother was hiding under a bed. We were afraid of dying like the way my uncle's family died when their building fell down to the ground during an air strike.

They used to live not so far away from our building. It was only a couple of blocks away.I had a cousin who was around my age. I used to go to his house and play with him almost every morning since we didn’t have schools anymore. All the school buildings in my area either got destroyed by bombs or got occupied by the militants.

I used to live in Aleppo with my family which is one of the largest cities in Syria. But after the death of my uncle’s family, my father decided to move with his family. He paid a local leader of the Islamic Militants in our area so that he grants us a safe passage to the Turkish border. We had to stop in many places while we were on our way to the border.

The ISIS fighters stopped us in different places and wanted to send us back. But my father told them about his connection with the local leader of militants of our area so they let us go. We had to change our routes of travel several times. Sometimes we were traveling by car, sometimes we were on our feet and sometimes we were just waiting in the dark.

After five days, we reached the Turkish border and the aid workers who were in charge of there, gave us some foods, waters, and medical supplies. Then they gave us a tent for our family.

Life in the refugee camp was another struggle, there were so many problems. I have seen hundreds of people waiting in line to go to the toilet. I have seen people trying to kill each other for foods and water.

So we decided to run away from the camp and get on a boat for Europe. During our journey to Europe, I lost a sister who died from diarrhea. She was the youngest among my siblings. She was just three years old.

I can’t imagine, I won’t be able to see her anymore. My mother wakes up crying every night looking for my sister. She had four children but now she has three.

I don't know how to console her, neither does my father. I am just twelve years old but I have already seen the horror of war. I have seen thousands of dead bodies but I regret that I couldn't see the body of my cousin who died. The rescue workers couldn’t recover his body from under the demolished building.

I have seen that the two young girls of my neighbor were taken away by the militants. When their father was trying to stop those men, they shot him in the head. He was such a good man. My father often says he was like an angel. He always came forward when anyone asked him for help. I had never seen anyone speaking ill of him.

I have seen so much in my life that by now probably you are wondering how old I am.

In that case, I want to tell you again, I am just a twelve years old boy who lives in a refugee camp in Germany. Our life is good at present but I have already learned a lot about the ugly truths of our life.

I have grown tired of those people coming from different aid and humanitarian organizations asking about my life. I am tired of some people from here who hate me just because I am a refugee. Sometimes they look at me in a way that makes me feel like I am an insect who has crawled up from the sewerage.

I know that they will never understand my situation. I have seen war and war is something that changes you forever. Like, look at me right now, look at the way I am talking to you.

Don’t you think I sound like an old man? Don’t you think I have grown up a lot faster? Do you want to know how I feel about you?

I think all of you are hypocrites who talk about peace and do nothing about it. I know you only take a deep breath while watching or reading the news about the horror of war. But you never come forward to stop those who run this war business, who trade on arms and who make a profit from this war.

Unlike you, I have embraced the truth. I have realized that I will never get to see my sister, my cousin or my neighbor whom I lost just because of the war.


* * * * * * * *


A few words about this story


After writing this story a few questions came to my mind like:

Why did I write this story or what led me to write this story? Is it an anti-war story or Is there anything called anti-war story?

I had no idea how to answer those questions. The plot of this story came to my mind as I often get to see so many news about the war on the internet.

Anyway, I always have been against the war. I believe that there should be no such thing as the war in our world.

(P.S:This story is my original work.I am a writer who is trying to create quality content in steemit.)


Thank you for reading.Support me by upvote,comment and resteem on this post.


City Photo Tumblr Banner (1).png

City Photo Tumblr Banner.png

Sort:  

@philipkavan, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Superm keep writing...

We Steem Tuners are Happy to find this post as our Random Upvote Quest. A few upvotes from the community have done already. Hope, this content will encourage/impress/motivate/learn a lot to the Steemians...
There is more to Steem Tuner. check here for some more tips on being a community member. You can also join our discord here to get to know the rest of the community! We Steemtuner Community Supports good posts. We believe being in a community helps to grow. You can join Us.
Feel free to join the SteemTuner community and participate contests to win the exciting prize. Check out the discord server of SteemTuner for more details.

Please note that SteemTuner welcomes delegation from the supporters of this community in voluntary basis. Check out following links to show your support towards the community: 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 300, 500, 1000.

SteemTuner-shine-animationwhite.gif

Omg sorry for the war you must have went through in your mind to write this. thanks for sharing this reality twisting story..
Stay positive and constructive even during tough times and keep working towards something better.

be well


Twitter / Instagram / Facebook / Soundcloud / YouTube / Goggle / Krazypoet.com

Congratulations @philipkavan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 500 replies. Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice writing! You really showed the war from a perspective of a victim. People like to be blind to reality. I wish for this world that we could end war. It seems impossible from where I stand.

Thank for you reading this story.I tried to write something but I think the writing isn't very good.I could do better.It is possible to end war if we all come forward to stop this.

You are doing great! Keep going! Me too. I missed a couple days but will be back on track soon.

You got voted by @votefun thanks to philipkavan. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to philipkavan! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hello @philipkavan, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62648.12
ETH 2562.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74