PALNet Privateers: MSP Minnow ~Tales From Deep Space

in #writing7 years ago

Good Ship MSP Minnow ~ A Space Adventure

Shuddering through the floor, suddenly flung into the railing, Boom, front bulkhead sealed. Behind me the door slides closed, ssshhhhhhffpppt. Trapped.
Alarms, shrill, urgent, a dozen gauges all demanding attention O2, Co2, gravity, hull pressure. Darkness, sinking, I dumbly tell myself I must have hit my head.
Eye's open. Fight the darkness how long was I out....Too long.


space-2578118_1280.jpg

source


How much clean air do we have? 15 Minutes? 30 max. Less than half an hour ago the universe was normal, life following along it's duly allotted path. Now every single breath could be weighted with the value of gold.
If we don't get these CO2 scrubbers back online all 85 souls on this vessel will perish. How? The forward bulkhead automatically sealed after whatever caused the explosive shudder and rapid de-pressurisation of the forward 3rd of the ship. Including closing off access to the rehydration facility the O2 plant and the scrubbers and all five crew on duty there. And trapping me in here.

“Sammosk, do you copy?”
“Come in, Sammosk...” Answer dammit.
“Bridge, This is Dingo. I'm trapped between the forward bulkhead and the main cargo compartment. I can't reach Sammosk, is there any coms from forward up there?”
“Dingo, CCO Cork on the Bridge. No response from forward at this time, five crew unaccounted, Stitchy, Gmuxx, Crimson, Sammosk and Swelker.”
“Bridge, I'm going to plasma cut the bulkhead should take 10 minutes to get through” Crap crap crap this is it we're screwed...
The flare and heat of the cutter surging to life like a micro thruster from an old 38-02 clunker, days like this I wish we still ran one of those old buckets...
“Sammosk! Muxxy! Come in dammit”


welding-1271103_1280.jpg

source


Cutting cutting, too slow everything is taking to long, what the hell happened to them up there? Sparks blackening the arm of my suit, molten metal seeping like treacle, breath, focus, cut. Don't waste movements, fuck why is it taking so long, feels like I've been cutting for years. They've got rebreathers up there just like the rest of us, built into the suits. What's happened to the comms why don't they answer. No point thinking about it, just keep cutting...
We've only run this ship a billion or so parsecs and about five jump gates and although she's fast even fully loaded, which all freelancer's like, and she packs a respectable payload of armaments as is required in the murky lawless backwoods galaxies we PALNet privateers do our trading in. The MSP Minnow is an engineers handful with bugs and weird glitches that are almost impossible to find.

“Shzxsttthh.. INGO...kzzzrrttsshh..... OME IN”
“Hello, This is Dingo, Repeat Repeat No Copy Say again”
“Dingo, Come in Shzxsttthh..SK here do you C.. kzzzrrttsshh”
“Sammo is that you? What is going on”

Another moment of mind numbing silence. Silence? The alarms. Stopped, the O2 and forward Grav normalising even the scrubbers looked like they were coming back online.

“Ah yeah, Crimson here.”
“Crimson, I'ts Dingo what's your status up there?”
“We're all shook up but no serious injuries, Over”
“What the hell happened? Thought we were toast there for a minute.”
“Ah Me and Muxxy were replacing the elements in the CO2 Scrubbers, while SammoSK sent Shane to put that half ton of old peaches into the airlock.”
“Sammo here, Looks like Shane must have hit the vent without pulling the second seal on the bay door and the override shattered the door and instantly vaporised two and a half thousand peaches. Which were then caught in the pressure wave are now coating...every....square inch....of the forward dock...AND Everyone in it.. OUT”
Bridge: “Shane....”
Crimson: “Swelker...”
Me: “Oh Man...”
Gmuxx: “Shane's fault...”
Shane: Uhhm, My Bad.”
~the end


Please take this story as my thanks to all you great and fun folks over at MSP, in the time I've been a part of the project I've made new friends, had many many laughs and seen some incredible acts of kindness and support, genuine human compassion too(thought that had died eons ago). You all inspire me and many other minnows who'd have stopped posting long ago, thank you.

Also this my entry for @sammosk 's creativecomp and I don't care where I place as long as you get a smile from it, it will have served it's purpose.

VOTE 1 for Swelker101 Witness


Thank You For Taking The Time To Enjoy My Post



Take a look at Yesterday's Awesome Steampunk Persona Story 🙆

Or Follow me to get all my content right on your feed!👌

And Remember To

“ UpVote It Like You Mean It!!!”

~Bryan
@overthewait
What are you waiting for?

Sort:  

Silver lining, more speed now!!

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sammosk from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

WOW!!!
I enjoyed reading every single word and you took me on a journey just long enough for me to get hooked. More more!

((The snake smiles wide while licking her razor sharp fangs with her forked pink tongue. She was wondering how much damage she could bring to the ship without them all noticing her presence. Her green scales glistering in the dim light of her hiding spot under the bed of Sammosk. Curled up between his socks she started to read the captains blog she stole just a few minutes ago after giving a upvote of 100% to make them all think she is a nice snakey))

I'm very happy you enjoyed it. I should write a story with 100% more snake? 🐍

(( Dreams about becoming a Famous snakey)) YESSSSSS!

It was bound to be @swelker101's fault.

Great story, much like, very upgoat.

Thanks very much, I don't get a chance to do much fiction but you all inspired me to have a crack at it. Have a fantastic day :-)

A truly peachy story! Nothing like a good "space opera" to start the day!

If you're going to start a day, might as well start out with a bang and done smooshed peaches. Thanks for reading my story. :-)

This post has received a 0.35 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

kinda reminded me of star trek :) good story

Thanks mate, hope all is well with you and yours.

If you feel the need for an Ogrish smuggler, I am more than eager to be a part of this story series. It is going to be a series right? It had better be lol.

That sounds like fun!

Obeast, the Ogrishian smuggler. :P

Entertaining and fun! I seen all these guys in the discord group:-)

G'day I'm glad you enjoyed it, it was fun to write. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62