Dying on a Beautifully Sublime Sunday

in #writing6 years ago
I thought this flower was kind of cool from my walk this morning!

20180722_083556.jpg

Hey Everybody

Welcome To

My Beautifully Sublime Sunday

Where
I Am Working Myself To Death

So last night the Old Guy nearly was a goner. Ok maybe that is a stretcher, but it was pretty sketchy nonetheless. I will fill in with this quick story because quite honestly my Sunday while being very beautiful and quite sublime, was a bit monotonous as you will see shortly lol.

20180721_192400.jpg

So as you can see the weather was not the best last night. However, my son and daughter and I felt like a nice paddle. Now it turned out to be one of those evenings on the lake where a few small lapses of good judgement started to add up and compound!

20180721_192403.jpg

Mistake #1 going out in threatening weather. (DUH) Mistake #2 deciding we wanted to go far because there was no problem from bright sun/sunburn, plus the temps had really cooled, so it was pleasant. So as we are going along, the storm is advancing and the seas are building. So much so that Ben is not having much fun on the paddleboard and decides to go home. Ok fair enough, daughter and I will go further as the seas are about 2 feet and we enjoy paddling in the chop usually.

20180721_192407.jpg

Now after a hour or so the Old Guy likes to jump out and stretch his legs in the shallows. I remember a hard sand bottom being near a tiny island with a hunting blind. Problem is the lake had reclaimed the island and the blind, but I felt it was around here. Of course its too dark and choppy to see the bottom. Mistake #3, I slid off the kayak, and land into sucking muck over my knees. I could not get my Crocs out of the muck to save my life. Mistake #4, I didn't want to lose a pair, so I struggled with that for 20 minutes, literally, and used a lot of energy too. I finally got them, but the kayak is chest high and I am in sucking much up to my knees. I cannot get back in. No way, no how, I am not even going to try. I start trying to "walk" in the much to find shallow water or a hard bottom. Mistake #5, walking in that stuff is like wet cement or snow. It wears you out fast!. All of a sudden I stumble on what I can only describe as a wood box like 1 foot by 1 foot. I think I will only have one chance to get in because I will instantly be blown off of the box and never find it again. So I swallowed my pride and called Ben to bring the jet ski and then hold my kayak lol. I am proud to say I managed to paddle back on my own!

20180722_090328.jpg

I was able to go for a nice walk today. My rose is still putting out blooms even after being gnawed on by some vicious insect!

20180722_090319.jpg


Yep that was the state of my kitchen this morning!

20180722_093111.jpg

I literally wasted spent the entire day working to clean and reorder the area!

BEFORE!

20180722_131307.jpg

AFTER!

20180722_132123.jpg

Oh plus I made meatballs!

20180722_164632.jpg

I should only eat about this much lol.

20180722_164933.jpg

Hey I even cleaned out the trash container!

20180722_185337.jpg

It is finally getting better!

20180722_212143.jpg


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

Wow... far out. literally. Then back with the diet planpan? skeptic here.

@old-guy-photos,

An incident sufficiently perilous to make you appreciate life ... your house put in order ... and a celebration with one of the simplest, yet most pleasurable, things in life ... sharing good food with your friends and family.

If one were so inclined, one could find a bit of poetry in your weekend.

Quill.

The favorite themes of poets often seem to be pleasure and dying lol.

@old-guy-photos,

Pleasure ... good.

Dying ... arrgh, you're right. I've tried to nag them into writing about something a bit sunnier. I even wrote a poem and article about it (pointing out the rather astonishing historical rate of suicide amongst poets).

Alas ... no one listened. I appear to be one of only a handful of half-way cheery poets on the planet.

Quill.

Very scary being caught out in a storm, especially one with lightning on the water. I should find other people to kayak with for safety.

Wow! I know how hard you goofed off worked to make that place look spic and span and sparkle too. It looks great, Paul! What a transformation!

Meatballs and spaghetti? I hope it doesn't taste like that biscuits and gravy stuff you are always trying to peddle! Looks yummy! I found some vegetable-based pasta today and they are awesome! I got them off Amazon, but I am sure they have some other places. I was excited to eat pasta again!

Wow, just one little corner left to clean and then moving on to where?

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

It's very interesting article. I have subscribed to you, I hope for mutual subscription

daily clean the kitchen and surrounding areas and thus you can throw your eating diet bowl.download (6).jpg

You are a good cleaner, kitchen is so shiny now :-))

I read with fear about the incident on the lake. How well it's over well! I would clean the kitchen every day so as not to have such an experience. I think your Sunday was beautiful and sublime first because you are alive! I hope I understood correctly.

For a survivor, you have great cleaning skills! I wish I had some ;). Your #mistakes turned out to a great and fun story! Have a wonderful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66