Hair Salon Thoughts: Physical Insecurities

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180726_145427_436.jpg

I have anxiety. When I was younger, entering a salon or any unfamiliar places for the first time kills me. Sometimes I prolong the agony by thinking for hours before entering or I just cancel the plan altogether and postpone it the next time with a friend. It's one of the reasons why I cut and color my hair by myself.

When I got older though, I learned the art of not giving a fuck, so whether I am alone or with a friend and anxiety hits me, I can still confidently go inside and casually ask for their services and prices. (But I still avoid high-end stores because I look so plain for such luxury. Of course I know it's wrong to think so.)

Today, I am with my cousin in a salon to have her hair rebonded for the first time. I believe this is her first time entering a salon as well, so I suggested that I'd come with her. Surrounded by confident ladies, I can't help but remember my own insecurities. Physical ones.

I am insecure with how my extra weight rolls and folds which accentuates my small stature. I am vertically challenged. Almost a 5 footer, I've been told again and again that nobody would like me because I look too fat for my own good; as if it takes away the fact that I have something else to offer like being a great listener and empathiser.

I am insecure of my nose that looks like a tomato. That's what my family said. It's funny that sometimes you get those degrading comments from people who should be making you a bit more confident in this world with crazy standards and ideals.

I am insecure of my dark nipples. My friends would tell me, "Does it makes sense that you're quite fair yet your nips are dark chocolates?" Did I do something wrong? Does it make me filthy and unattractive? I am very aware that people are different, but that doesn't get into their brains because I am fair-skinned with dark nipples. How come.

I am insecure of my hair that's very impossible to tame. It's always unpredictable and it doesn't frame my face correctly. Not to mention that I got dandruff from being so stressed all the time. Very not feminine, they said. My hair is nothing but hair. I can shave all I want and I would still be the same person. Right? Right.

It's funny.

Growing up, I've had a number of guys liking me. Apparently, I lost that attractiveness when I gained so much weight. From 50 kg to almost 70 kg, they said I no longer look pretty. Said by guys who used to really like me a lot but didn't make it! 🤷‍♀️

One, I don't want to be called pretty. Pretty is not pretty. I'd rather be called compassionate, kind, etcetera; something that doesn't revolve around physical attributes alone. Don't get me wrong though, I like getting compliments from time to time, but I no longer crave for it. I am passed that stage where getting praises boosts your ego. Nope. Not anymore.

What makes me happy is having great conversations about ideas and dreams and vulnerabilities of humans. What makes me kilig is hearing people talk about my art and writings and photographs, that it inspires and motivates them. Physical beauty can wait. I'd like to know I have gained wisdom over the years, and that my flaws are beautiful, too.

How about you? What are your insecurities? Does it make you anxious as well? Does it hurt you? Let's talk. I am very willing to listen.

You are beautiful inside and out!

Cheers,
@olaivart

Sort:  

Hello, dear! I've always been amazed by how much in common we have. I feel you because I also have my insecurities. I don't know about your insecurities, but what I know is that you are very beautiful and talented girl. I'm not saying it just like that, because I do think so. Every time I see a picture of you or read about what you do, I'm impressed by your personality and I feel a close connection to you! And I wanted to share this with you. :)

I wish we could be friends irl. 💛 Do you have Instagram and/or Facebook? I think that feeling of connectedness is special, and the feeling is mutual. Thanks for the kind words, @isabellemonisse! You know I love your works in all honesty. Hugs!

Posted using Partiko Android

The anxiety problems breaks my heart😞 because I too have experienced most of your insecurities BUT despite everything cherish the people that loves you for who you are. Stay beautiful always @olaivart !! God bless 😘

Thank you so much, @tmsz! 💛🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

I've always been insecure with how Morena I am. When I was young, I was told countless times how dark my skin is but I didn't mind. Going to college, everyone's perception of beauty was having a fair complexion so I've decided to fit in and tried different products to change my skin into fair. I avoided the sun and stopped going to the beach. It was very frustrating because I stopped the things I loved to do.

Some worked, some didn't. And for those that did work, people started to notice and tell me how I looked good. I felt down because I didn't want them to like me not for who I really am so I embraced my skin and loved me for who I am. Best choice I ever made!

Morenas are beautifuuuullll 💛 So happy you're embracing your skin now, @reewritesthings! There's nothing more liberating than being confident with your own skin, right? Too bad I always struggle.

If you remember in Steemsummit, I might have looked very aloof, but I was just very socially anxious. I dreaded going near the stage, so accepting the certificate caused palpitation. I was the only one without a picture together with Terry although I was there surprised just like everyone else. Lol. 🙏

I am trying to be more confident though. Hehe. See you again soon, Ree!

Posted using Partiko Android

Same!!! I don't know I was going to accept a certificate for judging a contest, I was really awkward in the photos, that's one thing for sure. See you soon! <3

When we change our thoughts, we change our world.

This is sooooo true. Thanks for this, @cryptoindex! Writing it on my journal. 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

What everyone said will never matter as long as you have your Family and those people who know you better supports you. I know indeed that you are a true beauty. Not only from the outside but from what I also felt and seen from deep within your heart. Never forget that God has made all things bright and beautiful.

Love yourself because you are beautiful. Not only from your features but also you have a very beautiful heart. Plus you have the talentssssss that only a few have it. Be proud of yourself because we are all proud of you.

I love you bebeloves! 😘😘😘

Ate Melanie, huhu, thank you so much gyud!!! 💛✨ I am happy that mao na imong first impression sa akoa. Hehe. I love and miss you!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63148.13
ETH 3109.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51