CHILDHOOD IMAGINARY - My inspirational writing for the new weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

There are smells, colors, flavors and a whole universe of sensations that we carry with us from childhood and are forever engraved in our memory.
I still remember the flavor of the vanilla ice cream I used to eat on Sundays (yes, because at that time we were only entitled to get treats on special days!) at “Pimar” pastry shop, unfortunately, closed long ago. The taste and, especially, the smell of the roasted green corncobs, whose ears we used to pick when I was on summer vacations at the holidays home we rented at the beach. Always the same beach and the same house, year after year.

SCHOOL KID.jpg

The scent of my younger brothers' baby cologne. Flavors and smells I try to recreate whenever I can, without succeeding most of the times.
When we feel them again - and they are never, truly, the same - it's an immense joy. It's like we go back in time and remember the wonderful things we've lived. Because, hopefully, and fortunately, most of us have more positive experiences than negative.
And the children's tales, the movies, the books, the fairies, the princesses (I am "girl"!), who have inhabited our childhood's imagination and that, today, we remember as our childhood friends. I love to watch those movies over and over again, and I enjoyed doing it with my children while they were kids.

GIRLS FROM OSSU.jpg

I've got a special feeling when I think that I've also helped to grow their imagination and, when they grow up as adults, they will remember the smells, the colors, the flavors and the characters of their childhood too, cherishing them with as much as I do.
Maybe this is how we keep our memory alive, in our dear ones, when we finally leave this Earth.

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: Kids from East Timor.
Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII.

Have a great week ahead, my friends!

If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/inspiring-people-my-inspirational-writing-in-the-midweek

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/unconditional-love-an-inspirational-writing-for-the-weekend

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/the-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-my-inspirational-writing-for-the-weekend

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Have you read the latest breaking news yet?

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nolasco to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thanks,my friend human!

wow these are so nice! i love it. the second one the most! did you take these? their expressions are so nice, its draw worthy :)

Aw, thanks, and yes, all pics are mine!

i like this
"remember the smells, the colors, the flavors and the characters of their childhood"
nostalgic

Yes, it´s a nostalgic post, but in a positive way :))

i love it! its inspiring probably i could make art with that theme ... difficult but worth it :)

Give it a try, I'd be happy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70588.78
ETH 3814.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51