ADVICE - A STORY - An inspirational writing for the new weeksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

We’re better at giving advice to others (obviously when we are asked to, I have to underline this) than to follow it ourselves. Why is this so? Theoretically, our advice, considering the knowledge we have of the situations and the people involved, should result better if applied to ourselves. And, by comparing the situations, we give advice to others thinking it will suit their interests better. And why, then, does this often result with others rather than to ourselves?

Wat Phra Singh  83.jpg

It’s weird. I have a friend who asked me advice about a relationship. And I did. A classic situation usually called a love triangle, in which one of the involved stubbornly would want to keep the situation forever. She kept complaining about that and asking for a decision, a deadline. Hopelessly, for an eternity. Then, one day she asked me, out of the blue, what to do about that. And I suggested doing nothing. Take the risk. Be quiet, recoil herself.

Wat Phra Singh  100.jpg

And she did it. And the guy, shortly after, returned to her, chose her. Today they are together and happy. And she keeps thanking me and telling that my wise advice was the one that led to her happiness. That I would be her maid of honor if one day they decide to get married. How about this?
Why, then, are we so wise with others and barely with ourselves?
Why don’t we follow our own advice often in life?
And why don’t they have any effect on us, over and over again?
Who knows the answer?
I don’t!

Isabel
www.isabelnolasco.com

Photos: wat Phra Singh Temple, Chiang Mai, Thailand.
Taken with my Canon EOS 5D MKIII.

Have a great week ahead, my friends!

If you liked this post you may like these also:

https://steemit.com/writing/@nolasco/i-am-the-eternal-seeker-of-the-infinite-an-inspirational-post-for-the-new-week

https://steemit.com/photography/@nolasco/your-inner-voice-my-inspirational-text-and-photos-for-the-midweek

https://steemit.com/blog/@nolasco/my-inspirational-text-for-the-new-week-humanity

Sort:  

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @pixresteemer. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nolasco to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60