A suspect - original short suspence story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I woke up when a car door was shut with a loud thud somewhere outside. It seems like my neighbors are in a bad mood again, I thought to myself. The same thing went for me as I could barely move my fingers.
Slowly I opened my eyes and it took a lot of effort since my head was in so much pain. It was throbbing like it was about to burst.
As soon as I managed to crack them open, my eyes were pierced with sharp pain inflicted by bright sunrays that were trying so hard to enter the room through the window glass and rest on my face. My hand shot impetuously up to shield my sensitive eyes from the light but it still could partially penetrate through my fingers making me squint.
“What hour is it if the street is already so full of sun light? Have I slept over? And what is it on my hand?” I was thinking to myself.

I couldn’t get what my hand was covered in and when I looked more closely under the morning light all I saw was a shadow contour. However there was a certain sense of something oily and sticky on it. Suddenly I’ve become sick with a thought of what it may be!
I tried to get up and when I sat after a round of ordeal I realized that I was on the floor!
I slept on the floor in the clothes I wore yesterday!
What the hell is going on here? Why can’t I remember how I ended up sleeping on the floor?
I looked around with blurry vision. Rubbing my eyes didn’t help much; the vision remained vague. One thing was undeniable though. This floor wasn’t the one in my house.
I slept on someone else’s floor! In some other house!
Once I managed to get on my feet I felt weakness in my knees and limbs, so before I could fall again I leaned on some chest of drawers, the first thing I reached.
And that’s when I took a clear look of my hands… What I saw made me jump back in terror.
Blood! Where did this blood come from?
Horrified of what may have taken place I stepped back yet again and was stopped by the wall. Unexpected connection made me recover a little bit from initial shock and try to understand my circumstances. The blood isn’t mine.
I have to do something. I need to get the hell out of here!
I didn’t waste any more minutes and found the stairs that led to the ground floor.
Come on, Jamie. Find the exit!
The door! That’s good!
Sloppily I went for the front door, but before I let myself out it suddenly registered with me that it was oddly silent in here. Nobody’s around. Even the master of the house was absent. I should have gotten here somehow, shouldn’t I? Why am I in an empty house with my hands in blood?!
Not particularly grasping what I was doing I put my hand from the door knob down and made several steps towards the living room. My breathing seized and I could hear the loud and desperate beating of my heart. Prior to entering the room I tried to take a deep breath but all I got was vain interrupted inhaling. I was trembling. I couldn’t wait any longer under the pressure of every wasted second. I went in.
I won’t ever be able to forget what I saw. This picture is still in front of me as clear as day.
Tracey’s body was lying on the table in the center of the room, surrounded by the puddle of caked blood. It was everywhere!
I felt nauseous and fell on my knees. I was about to either retch or vomit.


“And that’s when you called the police?” asked the officer for the millionth time when I finished the recounting of my story.
I slightly nodded still remembering the dead body of my dearest friend.
My mother was sitting next to me and tenderly held my hand, understanding how awfully bad I felt.
“We’ve found that Tracey’s parents were in another state visiting friends. We reached them by the phone. They’re already on their way”, sympathizingly said the officer, ”Are you sure you don’t have any idea of who could have gone for such a barbarian murder?”
“No”, I answered wishing for the glass of water as my throat was as dry as the desert, “She doesn’t… I mean, she didn’t… have any enemies. Everyone loved her so much! Everyone!”
Doesn’t he get that there was no reason for anyone to do this?
“How is it that you don’t remember anything? How could you not remember the house of your best friend?”
I didn’t know the answer to that.
“I think I may have been eliminated first”, medical workers have examined me by that time and confirmed that I was hit in the head by some dull object.
“Still the culprit didn’t kill you as he did Tracey,” stated the man in uniform, “I wonder why”
“Officer!”, cried my mother indignantly, “What an insensitive thing to say! My girl went through a nightmare! We need to praise the Lord for sparing her life!”
She stroked my head and looked lovingly at me. Tracey would never know how it feels to be loved ever again. I’ll miss her very much.
I think I won’t be able to smile anymore.
“Of course, of course”, he faltered, “I believe you may be gone. Have some rest, Jamie. If we need you we’ll call. But honestly, we weren’t able to collect any substantial evidence. The knife that was used wasn’t found. And apparently the only witness doesn’t remember anything.”

I could tell he didn’t believe me. Moreover I considered my untimely amnesia disturbing myself.
My mother shot him one final despising glance and we left the police station.


That evening mother was tucking me in bed as if I was a five-year old. Did it have to come to this for her love to awaken? I didn’t mind her attention.
“Sleep now, sweetie. I disconnected the phone, so you won’t be bothered. Everything is going to work out”, she smiled and left the room.
I know that everything is going to work out.
For me!
Everything is perfect already!
I could relax now. That police man suspected me all along but he can never prove that I was the one to do it without the murder weapon. I told him that when I found Tracey killed I touched her while being in shock and then dropped down unconscious just near her dead body. That’s how I assumed I had blood on me. I called the police much later right after I came to senses.
My story proved plausible and believable because I really had to hit my head at the wall so as to back up my plan.
So this means that now everything is going to be well!
With me!
Tracey, you, on the other hand, won’t get as much attention anymore. Don’t worry. I fixed everything that needed to be fixed.


Thank you for reading my short story. Hope you enjoyed it!
The picture isn't mine so I don't claim any rights.

If you liked the story you're welcome to follow the link below for another one)))





Sort:  

Great short story!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No.7 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Congratulations! Upvoted and resteemed.

You're welcome! Keep writing!

That was a wonderful suspense tale. I didn't suspect Jamie at all!

Thank you very much!

Welcome! Truly my pleasure

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @zazazum. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nameislv to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

I knew it was she! She's a murderer))))) Nice story! Thank you, @nameislv

Thank you! glad, you liked it!

nice sort and story

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20