Class of 1959|Creative Writing Challenge #5 Lost Memories

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

We were the class of 1959 graduating from Penn State. It was mainly men then, but we were the first class graduating 6 or 7 women. We were the best and the brightest in our field. Mechanical Engineers. It was a time of great industrial growth in the United States. All of us were so excited about our futures in design.

IMG_1389.JPG

It wasn't easy getting into this program which has been and continues to be dominated by men. Women are thought to be less mathematically inclined. However, this is just a fallacy created by society. Easily proven statistically, few would take the time to measure society and the norms to support bogus theories.

IMG_1388.JPG

As you can see from the pictures above we gals did enjoy a day at the beach. That's me in the middle. The other 2 Pauline (left) and Lois (right) were extremely intelligent women, but chose husbands and families over careers. Sae la vie!

IMG_1387.JPG

Now 20 years later our class is reuniting for the first time since 1959. I normally detest such frivialities, however this may provide an opportunity for me to find a co-author for a project that I am currently immersed in. My field of knowledge is medical devices. Brain stimulation has interested me since my brother came home from Vietnam with a traumatic brain injury that left him partially paralyzed.

IMG_1390.JPG

My husband who was also in this graduating class went on to get his medical degree. We often try to imagine what life would be like if only we had a greater understanding of the human brain.

Once we are able to test our device on humans we will be better able to determine the range of function in certain areas of the brain. By using mild electronic sensors we can remotely influence these sensors to stimulate physical movement.

In closing dedication to my work and reuniting with old classmates may help to produce the answers to one of my most ambitious projects.

IMG_1041.JPG
Photos courtesy of https://www.pexels.com/ and text is owned by @mother2chicks

Sort:  

Wow, good luck with your project! I have a math degree(became a computer programmer)and my closest friends(all women) in college became a chemical engineer, physician, journalist, geophysicist, and a pharmacist! These days, I'm tutoring children in math trying to get them to enjoy it and see how useful it is! :)

Oh My violetmed! That really isn't who I am, though If you thought so then perhaps the contest I entered may be convincing. I just messed up entering the title and it posted as is. Begging forgiveness. Your friend 🐓🐓

Haha, my husband and I were really impressed that someone of that age group was starting a project like that! I was really confused when I saw the graduation date was 1959 and 20 years later was supposed to be 2017. Yes, hopefully you will do well in the contest! Haha, maybe the joke should be on me! ... and you are forgiven!

Thanks for letting me off the hook. Glad you 2 had a good laugh about that! Thanks. 🐓🐓

Wow, did not realize that you were all that and a bag of chips! Beauty and brains, you've got the full package!

I hate to hear the story about your brother, but hopefully much success will come from your reunion. Best of luck, it sounds very interesting!

So glad you think I have brains and beauty! Thank you for a good laugh! That was an entry to a story I wrote. A total work of fiction. Maybe it was convincing enough that I will win. Forgive me my friend! Lol🐓🐓

I feel like a total idiot now lol! The women in the photo are beautiful and the red headed lady in your avatar (assuming that's you) is really beautiful also! And I can tell how you write that you are an intelligent lady. So even though my comment was off, it is still true :)

Haha! You are such a sweetie. Thanks for the compliment. You are no idiot. I finally got the title fixed so others would see that it is a writing challenge. Be well my friend. 🐓🐓

This is so well written it took me some time to realize you were writing a GREAT work of fiction! If life would have gone a different route for me I would have been a surgeon although I had a scholarship for engineering. Le sigh.... I hope you have a part two in the near future for us!

Thanks friend, I wanted to be in medicine as well, somehow I got sidetracked.

There is more passion in scooping up chicken turds I tell myself lol

I loved your treatment @mother2chicks, and yes, it sort of plays with the edges of reality a lot, the first person voice you have used.

You sound like someone obsessed with the medical breakthrough that you are talking about, to the point that I was thinking it must be half real.

But I have assumed it's completely invented

good one, I would love to hear your memories of the beach and those twin girls

you must of had some wild times.

lol

it continues
good one

Thank you so much for reading🐓

I fell for it too, it's really hard to notice it's a fiction work from the way you wrote it, and I find that to be really charming and easy to read. I loved it.

Thanks so much for the compliment. 🐓

Youuu're welcome /o/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38