Mirror’s reflections #1 – Chapter III: Choices ( fool)

in #writing6 years ago

I will be doing a serial titled: Mirror’s reflections. My plan is to post at least a chapter every 24 hours, should my other schedules permit. The story will follow from the #freewrite daily prompts, but not always.
This is chapter III, and it follows from Chapters I and II


Previously

Traveled into the past conundrum, Sofia’s mind was only drawn back into the present by her papa’s voice.

“You slept till late. Won’t you be late for the interview?”


“Not today,” she finally spoke, “tomorrow.”

Speaking of the interview, Sofia wasn’t exactly excited. She had lost count of the interviews she had already attended, each time to naught.

How different would this be? And then, what if she was again asked to do the same thing as the last time?

“You should be able to pass this one,” her father, encouraged, alluding to her obvious apprehension.

Sofia sighed, “Hopefully.”

“Your papers are good,” her father added, “You said that yourself.”

And say that she had. But that was in the beginning. She had just graduated and come home carrying her first class degree. Sofia still remembered the excitement, the expectations.

Finally school was over. The hard toil was behind. And it was time to start life. It was time to work. And with her first class degree, a job wouldn’t be hard coming. And she would earn just enough to fund papa’s medical procedure. He had just been diagnosed.

How wrong!

The experience of the last few weeks had made that clear, as interview after interview came to naught. Good papers alone didn't get you a job. It was that simple. And for a woman, well, that was a different thing altogether.

She still remembered the last time, and its events. Apparently she had to do just one last thing, and the job was hers, the boss told her. She only had to sleep with him.

Other employers had previously disappointed her by demanding for ‘motivation’, a polite way of alluding to a bribe, but this fool had raised the bar higher. She had walked out of his office without a word.

It was now months since that incident, and she still had no job. Was she right to walk out on him? It would have just been a one-off, and the job hers. And all this stress wouldn’t have been. And papa would have had the operation.

A part of Sofia was inclined to regretting that decision. Maybe Tracy was right. It is a go-getter world out there. And she needed to come to terms with it. But then again…well.

“Pfoooooo”, she sighed, suppressing the anger, or was it the regret?

Papa of course didn’t know of that incident. She had never really told him about it. Could she confide in him now? But to what end? She didn’t want to cause him more worry.

The papers are good, yes. But…”

“You don’t have the bribes to give”. Her father cut in, this time turning to look at her for the first time. Sofia conceded.

“Yes.”

And of course he understood. “I know, but you just have to keep trying.”

“But for how long?” She came in, this time unable to hold back her frustration. “May be I should try offering a bribe.

“I know it is wrong, papa, but I need a job. We need money. You need to get treatment, and I am tired of dirtying in the garden every day when I have a degree lying in the house” she spoke, releasing every weight she felt inside.

It is not as though Sofia expected her father to agree. Of the all the vices she could associate with him, dishonesty was not one of them. And true to himself, her father didn’t mince his words.

“Do not let your concern for me cause you to make wrong choices my daughter” he said, starting towards her.

“Your place - yes, is not in the farm,” he continued, and taking her hand, finished: “but whatever you do, whatever choices you make, remember this: dirt in the hands is better than dirt in the soul”

2. Chapter II: And if a house be divided against itself...(ash)

I. Chapter I: Yellow Horizons

Sort:  

Hi there @mirrors. I have been following you for about 2-3 weeks now. Not in a stalker kind of a way.. lol The reason I followed your post is that I work for Curie. I find great new authors and suggested them to Curie and if that post is approved by Curie it gets a great number of upvotes and rewards.

So I followed all 3 parts of your story and I loved it so much that I have put your posts for approval to get Curie votes and rewards. And, I woke up this morning to see you have gotten the rewards you deserve. I am happy for you. Keep writing amazing content and I hope in the future you get even more rewards for your great story writing skills. :)

Have an amazing day. :)

I have been following you for about 2-3 weeks now

You likely meant 2-3 days...be careful with that keyboard, lol. I am only 6 days old yet.

But thanks a lot @awakentolife ....for recommending my posts. I am not very familiar with @curie, but yes, i have its massive upvote, and a whole world of others in my first record number of upvotes' count...and then of course the rewards.

I plan to write as much and as good content as can possibly continue to interest you and the all steemians. quality content should be the defining trailer of this platform, and i am glad you think i am doing ok to that end. Rest assured i am very grateful for your support.

Happy Easter Monday.

Well it felt like 2-3 weeks to me.. hahaha sorry about that. I was just waiting for you to post more parts of your story because you have to persistent and post regularly to be considered. So I am very glad you kept posting because I was waiting for more parts so you can get the rewards. :)

Keep writing amazing posts like this and you will do great. Happy Easter Monday to you and your family as well. :)

I am honored. I hope i can keep it to my plan of posting at least every 24 hours. I should be able to. Thanks again, very and very.

Hey @awakentolife! I too spotted @mirrors and sent her to @newbieresteemday and @asapers; her writing is certainly very unique, isn't it?! :)

It sure is. I followed her 3 parts and loved the message at the end of this one. It is a great message for everyone to learn. :) @lynncoyle1

It is indeed!

Thank you for what you do here!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Cheers! Such a great cause. I am honored to be part of.

Hope she gets a job!!

We'll find out after the choice - Happy Easter Monday Marianne.

Oh, the boss would never let it go at just one if she slept with him. Men like that never do. I hope she can stay strong and find a good job.

I agree. But with the pressure mounting, how much longer can she resist? Chapter IV should bring us that answer! Thanks for reading.

@mirrors! I wanted to nominate you for @bashadows’ NewbieResteemDay, but found you to be at rep 46 already. Too grown up to join, then.
You’re growing superfast! :0)

Lol...@simplymike. But really thanks...It really is going on well for me.

I didn't know of @bashadow's newbieresteenday, let me quickly look up what it is all about. I am doing a lot of reading today. And should be able to stumble on some good content out there and nominate...jus not sure how, but should be in a jiffy.

Basically, some of us have a Newbieresteemday. There are no set rules. Some, like @mudcat36, if I’m not mistaking, just resteem posts by people with a rep score under 45 all day long, others, like @bashadow, put a limit to it - which I understand if you don’t want to clutter your own feed.
To nominate, you paste a link to a quality post of a newbie in the comments section of the Newbieresttemday post.

We never managed to set up a real schedule on who does his resteemday when, so it is kind of popping up everywhere or nowhere unexpectactly :0)

That reminds me, it has been 5 weeks since my Newbieresteemday-week... maybe it’s time to take action again :0)

it is an obviously good way to promote the new. Let me look to getting involved. No harm resteeming once in a while.

I saw your intro post 6 days ago, and you are still the only person from Uganda I have met on steemit, and if you need help with anything just let me know, those curie votes are nice but there can be a long time between them. I have been enjoying your story, I missed part two, but I get pretty busy voting and commenting, and sometimes forget to get back to people's pages, I am trying to get a bit better at that. When, if, you ever learn or start using discord chat you will have to drop your post in our post promotion box, I try to run through them once a day.

Oh, also like @simplymike, I do not mind questions at all and will never retaliate on someone just because they asked a question on a post of mine that was off topic. If I know I will answer, or try to point you to someone that might have a better answer than me.

I am at the discord. And doing just that. Thanks for the selfless work @bashadow.

The curie vote was a great lift, but i agree. Need to keep working. I wil just stick to your advice.

good interesting writing have nice day

You too. Happy Easter Monday

dirt in the hands is better than dirt in the soul

The number of people that ignore this is to me just unbelievable. And it is not just about gardening, it is about hard work, there is no simple shortcut to life, life happens every day, every day choices are made, are the easy choice the right ones, or the ones that involve a little bit of work the important ones.

Very nice story.

I agree.

The preacher, Joel Osteen, speaking of the need to make the right life choices, observed, if i remember correctly, that

In the end, our choices make us!

How true!

Hey @mirrors ;) Nice job here...again! And congratulations on being noticed by @curie!! Being so new, you might not realize it, but that's a huge deal :) Congratulations!!!

Thanks @lynncoyle1. The curie vote was a high lift. You know it came on the wake of support from you'all.

It probably would never have come, if it weren't for the high promotion you all gave me.

I am in your in debt.

Your only "debt" my friend is to pay it all forward :)

And pay it all forward i will. Thanks @lynncoyle1

I have absolutely no doubt about that! You are welcome :)

Well done!
Here's today's prompt, hope you can work it into your story:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-165-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-record

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for the link, and for reading. I wrote some on that!

Hi Mirrors! Thank you for your writing! I wish you much success and happiness in life!

And i wish you the same @fxtrader. I hope you had a great weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29