Looking back, and looking forward, progress

in #writing6 years ago

roads 2.jpg

Does anyone else get tired of thinking about the past?

I know I sure have. I've been here on Steemit for something like 3 months now...maybe 4, I kind of lost count...or, rather, never kept. I've been too busy writing. My minds been on the past. Been in my heart. Been pouring it out shit that's been damned up for a long time. Memories, feelings, random thoughts, beginnings of a personal philosophy... It's been crazy-awesome. It's like when you play with Legos...things start to slowly form out of the countless random shapes as you play. From a bunch of chaos, order begins to form. I'm sure a number of people who are reading this have gone through, are going through, will go through this process.

But, I've hit this weird point. I sat on my computer for the last couple hours, distracting myself from writing by going through my old travel photos. Searching for something that would spark a story, a memory, words that I wanted to share. Picture after picture after picture...nothing came. I learned a lot more about retouching...but...nothing...

roads 3.jpg

Strange...I know.

With so many crazy awesome stories just waiting to be told. I've lived a blessed life, and I really hate to use that word. My travels have taken me all around the world, into nooks and crannies you can't even imagine. Through luck of birth, determination, and a desire to be different, was how I got to where I got.

The last years have been something of a setback in some ways. My blessings had turned into curses. Memories of great adventure were now compared to the bare existence I was eaking out. My burning passions slowly ebbed into desperate grasping. Each day became a monotony of disappointment. Many would find that hard to believe by the words and images I produced, but, it was true. Appearance vs reality.

Here I found a place to regain my footing. Sort some stuff out, so to speak.

But, like I said...no words.

roads.jpg

And so, I wondered, why?

Putting them together is never a problem, when there's something I want to say, it's like, bam! None of the pictures I was retouching really got my attention. They were pretty, told stories, made me want to look at more.

Then, it hit me. For 7 years I had never really talked about all this. Suddenly I had an outlet. A legit place to be about what I needed and wanted to be about. People came and listened. Let me know what they thought, mixed, mingled, showed compassion. Thousands, tens of thousands, I'd even venture to say I've hit over a hundred thousand words came tumbling over and over and out onto these pages. Every day was this field of fresh blooms in my head waiting to be picked.

I was bloody excited.

It felt like it would never end. The new techniques, how to slide the right parts next to each other, fell into place one after the other and I was cruising on easy. Then, less and less flowers began to bloom. The field turned into a couple pots, then...hours of editing after hours of editing searching for something that I found less and less of.

And, the more I think about it the more I realize it's a good thing. I know some of you have gotten to this point as well. It's not that you're losing your skill/ability/whatnot, it just means you're progressing to the next level. I'm progressing to the next level. And what I did by accident, I now have to do by willful action. The honeymoon period is over, and the real work is about to begin...if I want it to.

roads 4.jpg

That chaos that was a bunch of shapeless Legos scattered on the floor is coming together into something.

It's no longer two pieces randomly together, but, chunks of pieces that are beginning to slide into place. As the pieces come together, so does their level of complexity, and, to continue to put pieces together I must rise in complexity as well. That means greater thought, greater purpose, and a greater will.

Or, maybe I'm just having an off night, lol. But, it's something to think about. When you feel like you've run out of words, is it that you're out, or that your mind really want's to write something and you have to elevate?

And I guess that's why I'm tired of talking about the past.

Memories are great, but, so is the future. Maybe my lack of inspiration about the past means it's time to focus more on the future. Taking those bits and pieces lying about and assembling them into something bigger, more pointed. Talking about the past will never stop, but my focus has to shift from what I did to what I want to do, need to do... I can see the outline in the shapes, the question is, will I be able to elevate in order to put them together...

I'm curious to hear from anyone else who's going through or gone through this. Thanks for reading and looking at some of my pics! I figured roads from travels long gone would be appropriate for an article talking about both the past, and moving into the future.

roads 5.jpg



Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 04:39:17
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1068.60/1600.00
Total Photos: 71
Total comments: 74
Total contest wins: 14
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Amazing photography sir..... your post is golden . I think post might have its advantes as well as thanks for sharing...

The story of an extraordinary experience,thank's

I think it's why I started doing the songs/speakwrites.........I love the freewrites but now there is an expectation that was never there before....... and ........I find I read lot's of post but don't comment much......

which is weird for me but I keep thinking I will write about this prompt or something and don't want to cloud my head with reading others "just yet" but then I never write mine and the others sit uncommented on...

so the words didn't come on paper so I tried the speaking off the top of my head but then now, to me they all start to sound the same.....not as different anymore........

so what do you do next? like you said is more work needed? in my case maybe.......but I'm not here to work I'm here to relax......

so at what point did it become work and how? can? you go back to it not being work? for me.......

You have more words in you .........but think some of the feelings are still the same.....

IDK.....just rambling on your post now LOLL but this is the 2nd post like this i have read tonight and you are the 4th person that has told me about , kind of , the same feelings....

so is it the time of year? or are we all at the same place at the same time? or none of the above?

You know, that's a good question. It might be the time of year. Spring, a renewal, a time for change...lot's of stuff coming to a head. A lot of what I write does seem to be the same thing nowadays...and it's like, is it worth saying again, or writing differently, or what? Like, I thrive on variety and like you said, lot's feels the same (for many of us). What's next? ...ugh, and no answer to that. And, for me with my limited life, work is pleasure, so, it's not a question of delineating between the two, it's more figuring out direction...my direction. Just need to gather energy so that can happen. Instead of getting my legs kicked out from under me all the time by the universe, hehe. :)

I tagged you in a post I resteemed on my page.....it talks just about this!! take a read if you have time!!

hi @mikesthoughts. I found this picture here on google. I think this fits in well with your story. I have read them very carefully and find your words also apply to me. Out of sheer traveling around the world, you do not even get to own your own life. And if you have time then it is usually already too late and you should focus better on the future.

images.jpg

Greetings from the carribean. mikeCee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68