Dusty and the Seven Shudder Sisters - Part 3

in #writing7 years ago

This is the seventh in Dusty's stories - as you may have noticed, I came up with a numerical theme for the stories and this is number 7.

What else but the Seven Deadly Sins - and the opposing Seven Heavenly Graces - for this story.

As before, I hope you enjoy the story.

pictures from Google free to use search


Dusty could hear the women muttering and she concentrated to hear their words. When she recognised the language, her eyes narrowed and she smiled, nodding at them as if to say, ‘I understand’.

The muttering slowed and stopped as they noticed her smile. Then Dusty said, “I know who you are.”

“You think you do; demon-child.” The voice emerged from what Dusty assumed was the elder and she nodded at her, still smiling.

“Oh yes, you are not Valkyrja,” Dusty said and her grin widened as they gasped at the word. “I believe you to be Norns and as such, I give you my respectful greeting which I hope you would pass on to Wyrd, Verdandi and Skuld, and I bid you a good day.”

Dusty bowed to each woman in turn, the eldest first; and then she backed out of the circle a few steps so that she didn’t disrespect the women by turning her back on them too soon. Then she walked away, in the same direction that Ange had gone.

She could hear a frantic muttering behind her and she smiled again. Norns were in town and life would become very interesting for a little while, she guessed.

Dusty strolled into town, thinking about who she had just encountered.

Norns, as she had been taught by her grandparents, were sisters, the most famous three of which were Wyrd which translated to ‘Was’. Verdandi’s more recognised name was ‘Being’ and Skuld who was known as ‘Shall be’.

Past, Present and Future.

They held sway over the fate of every man, woman and child and Dusty was thankful that those three powerful and influential Norn sisters had not decided to grace her with their presence.

The three sisters who presided over the past, present and future fates were far more significant than the seven she had left behind at the park. The three would be too busy dealing with the fates of mankind to bother with her, a half demon of little or no consequence.

As with humans though, the devil makes work for idle thumbs.

Inactivity and boredom or just dissatisfaction with their lot in life can lead to mischief even in the supernatural world.

Those less-important Norns seemed to be influenced by a need to go a-meddling where they were not wanted - just as spats and disputes can fester and grow to conflict in the mortal world, so it is with otherworldly beings. It would appear that the lesser Norns had turned their attention to Dusty for the time-being – who knew what would happen next.

“What happened? What did they say? Did they do anything? Did they...” Ange’s questions fell over themselves as she tried to blurt them all out at once.

Dusty hadn’t had time to sit down before the onslaught began. She put her coffee mug on the table in front of her and held her hands up in surrender.

“One question at a time!” Dusty said. “I know who they are; I just don’t know why they’re here.”

“They’re here for you,” Ange said in an ominous tone.

“Well, yes, I’d figured that out for myself, but why?”

“You just attract trouble. That should be your middle name.”

Dusty grinned at that but the grin didn’t last long. She was wondering why the Norns had come.

“So, who are they?” Ange asked; exasperated at the time Dusty was taking to tell her.

Before Dusty could answer, Ange’s eyes grew wide and she jerked upright in her seat. One of the Shudder Sisters shuffled into the cafe. She was alone and somehow seemed more frail because of that but Ange was still terrified.

The burble of conversation died as the customers watched the lone Shudder Sister make her way across the cafe to the serving counter.

Ange moved her focus from Dusty to the old woman and back in an attempt to get Dusty to look around without having to say anything.

Dusty frowned and leaned forward, curious at Ange’s weird behaviour.

Then she understood and turned around without making it obvious that she was looking for anything in particular.

The old woman was watching Dusty. Her attention was not on the layout of the cafe table arrangements yet she dodged chairs and shopping bags with ease.

She looked at Dusty and Dusty returned the stare. Ange gave a tiny gulp as the old woman’s gaze flicked to her and then back to Dusty but nothing was said and Dusty turned back to Ange before the Shudder Sister had reached the counter.

“She’s still looking at you,” Ange stage-whispered in a panicked little voice.

Dusty grinned at Ange’s obvious fear and said, “So?”

Ange’s mouth dropped open in astonishment at the blasé reaction. Her mouth closed but opened again.

Sort:  

I have a question, and it mean it in the most respectful way possible-

A lot of your stories involve archetypal monsters/creatures. Is this something that you’ve always been into -

I know you have other works but these themes continue to pop up in good portion of your writings..

I’m just curious what has drawn you to these ideas over the years...

Oh good question!

Yes, I've always been fascinated by mythological creatures. Ancient Greek monsters, Norse mythology - pretty-much everything interests me.

I'm only just branching out into more realistic writing - such as Ash's story a few months ago, and Zack's story right now.

I suppose, putting these monsters and legends into my stories is enjoyable for me. I'm writing stories I want to read (but no one has written them for me, so I have to do it myself).

That totally makes sense. Writing gives you the ability to create a world with living breathing people- or werewolves or witches etc. I can definitely relate to having the desire to take your favorites and create your own versions and adaptations.

I have always had a desire to write but never really known what to do with it- I have started short stories here on Steemit and never published a single one. The have all been deleted because I didn’t like the ending or thought it was too convoluted —-

Fiction is hard for me for that exact reason.

Speaking of, I would love to get your feedback on my latest post for the supernatural writing competition. I posted it a couple hours ago. This isn’t a fiction piece but a writing piece nontheless..

This is the second attempt at a submission. My first attempt ended up being rejected because I used it for that picture contest. I should have known better but anyways- I spent at least 4-8 hours on this latest post and I value your opinion a lot. Your one of my favorite people here on Steemit- for many reasons and it’s an added bonus that you are a writer.

If you have time to check it out great..if not that’s okay too. It’s rather long and will take quite a bit of time to read in its entirety.

Thanks @michelle.gent

I read your story and if anything, I feel I wanted it to be a longer, more descriptive piece. It seemed rushed, like you wanted it over and done with - I totally understand that because you did.

I think I'm going to start a writing class - it's been bubbling at the back of my mind for a while. If I do, please join in :)

Thank you for taking the time to read it.. yeah I actually felt like it was too long and WAS rushing to get it done. I just felt like no body was going to read something that would take that amount of time to finish- considering that people find it difficult to read even short posts in their entirety.

Also, I typed it out mostly on my phone. This made things difficult as I was battling autocorrect and the like.

I think maybe your advice might not only be accurate to this post but to all my posts. I find myself rushing to get them done because I have a tendency to go on and on and on- making it longer but not necessarily better. I would have liked to make it this particular story into several parts- but of course, I couldn’t considering it was a a contest.

I will also admit that I sometimes feel like at my current stage here on Steemit- my content gets overlooked because I’m so new and still haven’t found my following. This makes me feel like I should save my best ideas for later. Anyways, thanks again- I’d love to participate in your writing class.. I’d be your first student!

And I’d help promote it as well. I’ll be paying attention to your posts!

I just felt like no body was going to read something that would take that amount of time to finish-

I understand that, but you need to get out of that train of thought. Write for yourself, not for others. Make it a story YOU would read and you'll please at least one reader - even if it's only yourself :)

I would have liked to make it this particular story into several parts- but of course, I couldn’t considering it was a a contest.

There's nothing to stop you from making it a longer piece now you've put it into the competition :)

Don't save your best ideas for later. Use them now, one may be the very thing that gets the attention of your potential audience and they follow you because of it.

I consider you signed-up!

You’re absolutely right @michelle.gent. I didn’t join Steemit because I wanted to become rich, I joined because I wanted an outlet for my writing and a place to share my hobbies.

Now I wouldn’t go as far to say that I didn’t put my heart into that piece. I may have rushed it for the sake of the content- and wanting to publish it now rather than later.

But with that being said, I will admit but ideally I would have liked to make it into almost a short book length. 50 pages or so.

I’m thankful that I’ve had the pleasure of connecting with you a bit here on Steemit. All the upvotes and comment replies have really helped support and encourage me.

And your candor I highly respect. Cannot wait to learn more from you!

It's a talent that very rarely people have it, that's what is called a person's strength

an interesting part with an unexpected turn for me. Norns is a new concept for me :) I like how you play on the fantasies of your readers. And most importantly - I like the mystical style.
Thank you, I'm waiting for the continuation

I like mythology, and when I'm reading, sometimes a plot appears that seems like it will work.

I had to jiggle some of the 'facts' and make em fit - for example, 7 sisters, not 3 - but I think that's the fun of it.

I read it twice I like, I'm going to read part 1 and 2 , Because I just followed you And I like what are writting 👌

Thank you. I appreciate your comment.

nice story your are really good at writing

A very interesting story, you are very talented in writing @michelle.gent . I wait for the next article :)
Let me share this story 😊

@michelle.gent it's a good story.... i want to be a writer too but can't find words, or even if i am writing something i feel lost in middle of the writing.... i love myths and this piece satisfied me a bit.... cheers.... it's going good/ thumbs up. :)

I like to read, because it's a hobby saya.setiap article that I, your article so beautiful in every writing, I want as you a, you will be my role model.

Rolemodel? You mean you'll try to do exactly as I do?

Try upvoting things you think are worth commenting on. That's what I do.

have been sharing the story of heavenly, I really enjoy the story so that I am afraid to do dausa for fear of hell

Thanks

Why does that stop you upvoting my work?

Lovely @michelle.gent please tell me how many parts are remaining, because I am not always on steemit and some time I especially visit to your blog to read the story, some time i forget to read.
If you tell me how many parts are remaining its good for me I will read all remaining parts in a day when you will finish it whole
yor story is very interesting and very joyfull
so please tell me how many parts remaining

I'm a little puzzled. I checked your info here: https://steemd.com/@travellingwomen

I then went on to check how many times you've upvoted all these stories you enjoy so much.

You know what I found? Two votes, 7 and 8 days ago.

Now, for all that support you want me to tell you how many more episodes there are of my work so you can skip coming to my page and bothering to upvote any more of my work?

No thanks.

Plus, I've decided to MUTE you so I don't risk upvoting YOUR comments again.

amazing story i like it
all the best dear

It seems like Ange's gets panick in fraction of second as she seems damn frightened while one of shudder sister just showed up & gives an intense stare at Dusty while Dusting looking like one amused girl who might find some bizzarre trouble as Ange told her the trouble make.i would be excited to see how far Ange's prediction goes by,

Yes, but I'd prefer you to tell me what you thought about the story, not just a recap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30