MAKING PANCAKES (A STORY)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

When The Girl hugged me goodbye, I didn’t think she was actually leaving.
We have had our ups and downs, and I knew she'd been feeling a little lost lately, but for three years, she'd been the one constant in my life that actually made me happy.

image
Photo Credit

So, when she would come up behind me while I was making pancakes and hugged me, saying she was leaving, I didn’t think anything of it. She'd been acting weird for the past couple of days, and I just assumed this was part of whatever the hell it was that was bothering her.

Then, two days later, her family told me she had gone to Europe.


Emeka stared at me, confused.

“What the hell are you talking about?” he asked. “Why the hell did she go to Europe?”

“I don't know. One minute, I'm making pancakes and the next thing, she's leaving me and heading for Europe.”

“Because of your pancakes?” he asked.

I shook my head.

“Pretty sure that wasn’t it.”

“What the hell are you going to do, then?”

“Nothing I can do,” I told him. “The Girl’s gone, you know? I guess the only thing to do is just forget her.”

image
PHOTO CREDIT


"Of all the things I thought my hands could do, waving goodbye was the least of them. But then I met you, and I couldn't wait to say goodbye.

It wasn't because you grated on me or I found you disagreeable, especially not in the looks department. It was just the opposite. I thought you were a knockout right from the get-go. There's no room in my life for entanglements, not in my line of work anyway.

You came in right, but I had nothing left to give or to share with you. Time was, i would gladly have made room in my heart - nay, the room would have of itself been made- for you. Well Furnished, warm, cozy and inviting. All You could ever want - ever dream to be - would be granted.

But they came inside without a warning - the Others - and took it all away. They stripped me naked and left me empty. It came to me naturally, the bitterness, to fill the void they left. Even though I found solace in my loneliness, I have nothing left for Us. So we part ways."

Of course, the thing about forgetting someone like The Girl is that it isn’t easy.

She’d always been the one there for me, always been by my side. When things got shitty, she’d help me get through it.

We were good together.

At least, I thought we were. But, it looked like I was wrong about that.

“Part of it was that she didn’t think you had a plan,” my sister said, when I told her what happened.

We were in her apartment and I was smoking. The Girl always got onto me about smoking and I tried to cut back — but right now, I figured I had a really good reason to smoke my fu*king brains out.

The Girl was gone.

It had been a week, and every day, I figured things would get easier and that I'd miss her less and less.

Every day, I realized I'd just been lying to myself.

“I had a plan, I was going to figure out what I wanted out of life and I was going to go after it and I was going to marry her.”

“She probably got tired of waiting, you know. After three years, you should have been a little better prepared.”says Ijeoma

I stared at her.

“You know what happens when you prepare, Ijeoma ? You make all these plans and you get everything lined up and then before you can do a goddamned thing, it all blows up in your face.
“I wanted to just let something happen, you know? If it just happens and you don't plan for it, you don't get fu*ked by the universe.”

“Yeah,” she said, softly, “and while you were waiting for something to happen, something sure as hell did — and she's gone, brother. She's gone.”

image
PHOTO CREDIT


Well this is a fictional story and I pray it doesn't happen to me.
You know what? It's @michaelcj and I'm just keeping it real.


TOP POST FROM @MICHAELCJ

STEEMIT UNTALENTED CONTEST Yesterday

THE DEEP END - 2 days Ago(Trending)

MY CONTRIBUTION FOR THE EVENT "STEEMIT IN NIGERIA" VIDEO SKIT PROMOTION - 4 days Ago


SHARED TO MY FACEBOOK FAN PAGES

MICHAELCJ 4812k LIKES
NAIJATVBASE 2,620 likes


KINDLY RESTEEM IF YOU ENJOYED THIS POST
Sort:  
Loading...

Nice work sir. Steem on

This post has received a 0.21 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @michaelcj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has been verified as a quality post and received a 10.00 % upvote from @binkley thanks to: @binkley. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow . Please Upvote My Comment To Help Me Verify More Posts.

Your Welcome. I Don't Have Much Upvote Power But A Few Friends Add Up. Best Of Luck.

Perfecto! More People Should Upvote This post which has recieved 7.14 % upvote from @cbcheek Be Sure To Say Thank You To @binkley. Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

Wow. Thanks to @binkley and thank you @cbcheek for the information

This post has received a 7.14 % upvote from @binkgirl thanks to: @binkley. Your Comment Upvotes Help Us Both Grow. Thank you!

You Are An Excellent Steemian. This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @steemthat Return the favor and SteemThat Person Back: @binkley. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow .


Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by michaelcj from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

this is really nice from you i like it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77