Creative Writing Challenge In Response to @kubbyelizabethsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

@kubbyelizabeth posted yesterday: Creative Writing Challenge Day 1: Triple 7

It sounded like fun. The Seventh book on my particular shelf was, ironically enough, "Writing Poetry" by Shelley Tucker.

The book, of course, has it's own back story. One time, a long time ago, we helped school-teaching friends of ours pack and move. During one of the breaks from packing, I started browsing through this particular book, her book. Long long long story shortened: Someone put it in my bag, thinking it was my book. We were also in the process of moving ... multiple times, in NY. I think the poor thing never saw the light of day.

When we moved to Kentucky, we moved into a lane called "on the way to somewhere else" for everyone. Our friends called to say they were cutting through town on the way to somewhere else, how about lunching together. Sure!

I, shamefully, didn't think of the book packed away out of sight out of mind.

We moved more. I finally unpacked here where we live now. While I was cooking up a plan to get it to the post office, they called saying they were going to be coming back through town on their way to somewhere else. Last week. But then they didn't get to :(

At this point, I can't even remember if I've ever told her I have her book and it keeps surfacing and submerging. So. Let's just say that this serves as a reminder that I should give up on returning the book when I see my friend, and just mail it off. ... I'll have to get her address ... .... friends become acquaintances. Sigh.

It's been like 4 years? She probably thinks it's still packed in one of her boxes. Trust me. We helped them pack boxes that had been packed for 3 previous moves over many decades. Does she even miss it? ;-) Still it's an awesome book that she'll enjoy having back.


Writing Poetry by Shelley Tucker

SOooooo anyyy wayyy

The seventh sentence on the 7th page ... well it has two 7th pages. The intro and the study section.

The seventh sentence of the 7th study section was create a metaphor starting with "hands are" then add a noun, then answer the question "who, what, when, where, why or how"

So: Hands are paws when traveling on all fours.

meh

The seventh sentence of the intro was much more interesting.

In 1855, Walt Whitman published his first version of Leaves of Grass, and his collection of non-rhyming poetry became a masterpiece about the American experience.

But I of course just keep reading. I've been in trouble for that ever since 3rd grade.

In the next paragraph it says,

If the main definition of a poem is not a series of lines that rhyme, what, then, is a poem? A poem is a compact piece of writing that contains one or more poetic elements.

Poetic elements? Then I do this thing I learned from a book named, "How to Read a Book", I checked the Table of Contents. A quick skim refreshed my memory. The last one on the bottom of the first page is "Repetition."

In the mean time, I went out to start an old ford pickup truck we have (1979) just to keep it's sprockets happy. It's suppose to be mine to drive. I don't have my license yet. I know how to drive. I drive. I just only have a learners permit. Ok. saving that story. If you read this far; in the comments, you can leave a link to one of your current favorite posts. Just mention shoe laces.

So while I'm out there .... this ditty below evolved ... and it's the end of story time. Enjoy !
Oops I was suppose to photograph the inspiring line of text. Sigh. Somehow we will all just have to live through this goof up. ok well Enjoy, Have fun :)

My Truck

Step on the pedal
Step on the pedal
Make it roar

Step on the pedal
Make it roll
Make it roll

Stop
Stop
Stop

Out
Out
Out

My Truck has fleas !!

If you want to know about How I Happily Journal (or maybe journal) click that link.
If you're a steemit dev know it all, you can join this conversation, as long as you stay mostly nice. Riddle Me This: Where are Vests Born? And, When do Vests become Valuable to the Community?

Sort:  

Congratulations @marillaanne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53