Gods, Consciousness and Free Will...

in #writing6 years ago

Last week I wrote a post entitled "Does God know what you're going to have for breakfast?" which spoke about the question of, if a god exists, just how much does he know about the future, and what would it mean for our notion of free will if a god knew ALL of the future. Please do go read that post before continuing here.
 
I invited people to comment on what they thought about it all, and the post only got one comment, by a Steemit friend of mine @falseyedols - He is quite the artist with sound, and does visual stuff too - I highly recommend following him (and doing a better job than I at frequenting his blog! - sorry @falseyedols! sheepish face)
 
He is also quite philosophical, as you'll see in his comment. I'd like to reply to him in this post, by breaking what he said down into chunks and replying to each part.





Here is his complete comment:

First, I'd like to say that it is refreshing having someone to talk to about this that isn't a religious believer. I am surprised at just how many people these days still take Christianity/Islam seriously, though polls do show that the number of non-believers are slowly starting to grow.

Now to break it down...

I have quite a different view of reality than most. I believe we are all essentially "god," experiencing itself an infinite number of times in an infinite number of realities forever.

I used to think in a very similar vein... I used to think of us, that is, consciousness, as manifestations of "god" ... Multiple facets of a single complex diamond, experiencing ourselves... A kind of pantheism (god is everything... The matter of the universe being god's body and consciousness, wherever it may be in the universe, as god's mind).

Now, however, I feel that this way of thinking of a god is just... superfluous. What does it actually mean to say "we are god, experiencing itself in an infinite number of ways..."...? (There are those, in fact, that say that actually, the term 'god' is completely meaningless. Google "theological non-cognitivism" and also "ignosticism").

It's much more efficient to simply remove the term 'god' altogether and just think about the universe and consciousness themselves. A kind of collective consciousness might exist, but there is no evidence whatsoever of this.

Coming down to the smaller scale of only human consciousness, I do fantasise of a future where we as a species might indeed develop, through technological means, a way of becoming a kind of collective consciousness, where our minds are all connected to each other through something like what our internet is today (Elon Musk's company "Neuralink" might very well be the seed for this very future). But what such a thing would feel like and what it would mean for our future is anyone's guess.

I question the notion of free will for more of a deterministic chaotic reality. I truly believe if I was you, with your exact genetics, experiences and geographical location, I'd do essentially every single thing you have done. This doesn't justify immoral actions, however.

I agree 100% as far as how much I've studied on the subject of free will, which unfortunately isn't much. I've been meaning to read Daniel Dennett's and Sam Harris's work on the subject for some time. But my very rough idea of things when I think about it as an amateur, is that free will most likely doesn't exist.

I think we as humans, with our limited senses with which we perceive the reality we've found ourselves in, have the illusion of free will, because for us, time seems linear. We remember, so there's a "past", and we dream and anticipate, so there is a "future", but really, there is only now. The present.

Time is nothing but the relation between changes in the present, relative to where we are. A "day" feels like a certain amount of time for us, whereas to a butterfly, a day feels much, much longer. And to some other hypothetical being, a million years might "feel like" a day.

Though now that I read that, I'm not sure how the relativity of time supports the idea of free will being an illusion... ;P I must do more reading on this! ... It's lunch time here. I'll continue soon. (And for you, it will of course be instant! ;P)

I also don't believe that there is an omnipotent being that knows the results of all actions. If there is some type of intelligent creator (I feel like believing in the presence is just as assuming as believing in the absence of such a being, therefore I tend towards the agnostic side of things), it would probably be more like a scientific researcher, testing out literally every variable possible throughout all realities.

I agree with the first sentence, but I disagree completely with the notion that not-believing in a god of some sort is just as good as believing in one. I used to think this, and thus called myself agnostic for many years, but then I realised...: Burden of Proof. I wrote about this in this post a few weeks ago.

Basically, it is the responsibility of the one claiming something to show that it is true. Not the other way around. I don't have to prove that there isn't a god. There's no evidence to suggest that such a being exists. If you believe it, it's up to you to defend your belief, especially if you want others to adopt the same belief. Why would (and should) I or anyone believe something without evidence??

Then there's the possibility this whole thing is a simulation, so......... Who knows brother! lol

=) - Who knows, indeed! ^^ To me, this is the best attitude. To be aware of one's uncertainty. As I get older, I fear getting fixed in my paradigms, as I've seen happen with many people, so I'm trying to be aware of this, always questioning myself any time I feel myself too sure about something.

With the simulation theory... Again, it could very well be! But just like god, it might just be an unfalsifiable concept (that is, there is no way to test it) and therefore not worth being taken seriously. Still, it's fun to muse upon the idea! And Elon Musk reckons it is very, very likely that we are in a simulation.

Even if we are living in one... Even if we ourselves are simulated... So what? If I'm this complex as a simulation, I count as real, no matter how I've come to exist ;P




Thank you for your upvote 💖
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
"Dreamspunk" - Gallery: Fine Art | "Cell" - Gallery: Motifs | "Shiny MagicBox" - dIFS Pong with @welshpixie 007
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook
 
My Bitcoin wallet address:

1DPGX72eQj5TNVpSG1grRMxVAaDuqGG2RL

Sort:  

What a thoughtful response as always! As far as the term "god," I use that very loosely as most people are comfortable with that term. You could also say "the creator," or even "physics," if you wanted.

From what I can tell is that we are a culmination of basically our own universe that has gained it's own sense of consciousness, so I can't say that this doesn't translate macroscopically forever (fractal levels of consciousness, if you will). I'd like to think that there are hyper conscious beings out there, and I'd also like to think that our experiences and consciousness is somehow "recorded," or "combined" somewhere. With the uprising of VR technology and neuro-synthetic links, I can't help but think that the universe devised this ability on it's own a long time ago, and we are somehow the product of that. But again, who knows! Basically none of that is testable, but given where human consciousness is, I can't help but acknowledge the possibility of greater levels of consciousness.

A lot of this existential stuff is ultimately untestable, but still intriguing to converse about. Thanks for taking a trip down the rabbit hole with me, @mandelsage ;)

Nah... I still don't think using 'god' or 'creator' is a good idea... Firstly, these terms imply some sort of agency behind them. Secondly, this fact combined with the religious connotations make me using them a passive supporter of belief in things without evidence. I truly think such ways of thinking about the world are dangerous, or at the very least, inhibit further progress of our species towards a more complete understanding the nature of reality.

As for levels of consciousness... shrugs shoulders ... Something way beyond us could exist... But we have as much chance of noticing them/it as an a bacteria has of noticing us humans. And actually... With this way of thinking, you'd expect there to be intermediate stages... Like, say, cats to humans... Who are we cats to? And surely we'd have noticed such beings, if not understood them...

But yes, as you say, it is intriguing to hypothesise over the untestable! Thank you, too. May we have many more trips like this ;P

I can see that for sure. I'm all about communicating more efficiently, and tend to use terms that almost all people are comfortable with, especially when referring to things of this nature. I find "god" to be a friendly term that allows me to meet someone with a different belief than mine in some type of common ground. I guess I define the term "god" and "creator" a little differently than most, and don't have a problem with friendly terms, even if we define them differently. How people want to define "god" is their own problem, but we all agree we are referring to forces beyond our comprehension.

My theory of levels of consciousness is fun to think about. We would obviously have no way of knowing this is true, or being aware of these other levels. In my mind it makes sense. I've been thinking a lot more about quantum entanglement, particle wave duality, and the possibility that infinite universes exist. There's probably some really funky realities out there lol. Things start to get pretty weird when going to the quantum level of reality.

I am also drafting a philosophical post for you to check out. I'd like to see what you think about my topic, and it can sort of bleed into our talk here, too. It'll take me a couple days to finalize :)

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @GuyFawkes4-20

Thank you very much for such esteemed recognition. Most appreciated!

Just because God knows the future, doesn't mean He automatically controls your each decision about your "next move". Where is the connection? And why would God have a Judgement Day based upon Him running you into a sewer or cesspool?

Do you play chess? Are you playing or is God playing on your behalf? We KNOW it's not Him, because you would NEVER lose a game. (since there is no luck involved in it).

Thanks for the reply =)
Well, don't you see? If a god exists, and knows every moment of the future, then that future is bound to happen, because it is a supposedly infallible god we are talking about. I'm not saying it controls us/our decisions... I'm saying that if it were true, our decisions are actually all predetermined (and so not really decisions at all).

Still, there is no evidence for the existence of a god of any sort, so I don't take the idea seriously. The only reason I write about it at all is first, because gods and religions have played a big part in history, and in our growth as a species (both artistically and scientifically), and second, because so many people still believe one exists.

again, I brought up a chess game for a microcosm example. Couldn't "that future" contain the contemplation of a bunch of variables before a decision is made? And NO. They are NOT pre-determined. God allows the chess game to be played. He is NAP all the way. ...the reason He has Prophets not lightning bolts to your head! LOL

Now if you don't take the idea of a Supreme Deity seriously, what is the point of this discussion? You might as well stick with the random accident theories, combined with Darwinism.

Now, there is evidence of God all over the place... or at least some sort of "intercession from ETBeings"... or Angels.
eg:


And all you need to do is turn to the back of the New Testament into the Book of Revelation and ask anyone, including yourself, how the frig' did St. John know this stuff which is taking place now, just under 2,000 years ago? FYI we are somewhere along in Ch. 9 or 10 right now... Pay specific attention to Rev. 14:9-11.

I'm replying to you and will post it soon. Thank you for your engaging comment!

I replied to your comment in this post =)

Boys and girls: You either believe the Apostles were telling the Truth in the New Testament, or you don't. You either trust that His Word was preserved properly with the original Greek translation, or you don't.

No debate. You go ahead and call them all liars if you like. It's all about Free Will................

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51