SLEEP (An Original Short Story)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Untitled-1.jpg

Hannah woke up to the scraping noise coming from her basement. It's past midnight and she just dozed off a couple of hours ago. She's quite sure she locked all the doors before she retired for the night -- especially the door to her basement. She waited for a few minutes for the noise to come back, and was relieved to be greeted by the comforting whisper of the night breeze coming from her window. "Maybe it was just the wind." , she thought to herself. She dismissed the incident and went back to sleep.

An hour afterwards, the sound came again and is now accompanied by a muffled and indistinct whimpers that could be of a woman. She listened intently until the noise faded back into the darkness. Now aggravated, Hannah closed her windows, still convinced that the noise is coming from the outside.

For the third time that night, Hannah was roused from her sleep. It was a loud thump on the floorboard this time, and it sure is from her basement. She had had enough of it. She yanked herself from her bed, grabbed the baseball bat beside her nightstand, and marched courageously to where the noise was coming from. She halted in front of the door to her basement, carefully unlatching every form of security she have installed earlier that day, and quietly stepped into the cold room. As she adjusted her eyes into the dark, a figure caught her attention. It was quietly staring at her from one corner of the room. It was a woman, an aged woman to be precise, probably in her late 70's. She looked so weak and fragile, and was bruised all over her body.

Hannah was taken aback by the sight, but regained her composure right away. She rushed towards the woman, her emotions a mix of confusion and excitement, a horrifying smile creeping across her face. She gripped her bat a little more tightly, forcefully swung it against the target, and smashed the old woman right in the head.

Now panting from exhaustion, she drew herself closer to the limped body to hear the old woman's ragged, painful breathing. The latter tried to open her bloodied mouth as if to speak, but Hannah hushed her.

"Shhhhh. It's okay. I told you to sleep, Mom."

~o~

Hi everyone! Please upvote and leave a comment. I'd like to know what you think. Thanks!

Sort:  

OMG, I was scared and did not expect the ending. I thought Hannah would be the victim not the old lady. Do you write only scary story? How about sharing one with a good ending.
@jackpot

you can follow me so that you can get updates when I write another one. I'll be working on it this week. :D

Upvoted and follow you. Please keep the article coming.
Thanks
@jackpot

Thanks a lot @jackpot. :D

Thanks for the feedback. This is my first time to write a short story. I'll try to write something else in the future. hahahaha!

OH MY!!!!! LOL! What a terrible ending...you would enjoy my stories too...goodness I think we are both twisted souls..ha ha ha!!!
I will resteem this for more exposure!

HAHAHA! thanks for resteeming! I wasn't expecting anyone to appreciate. Cheers to all twisted souls. :D

lmao! hahha loved it

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it. :)

O my!!! I did not expect this. Resteeming

hahaha! thank you so much! :)

Now that was a "brutally" short story. I liked it. Very tight telling, and surprising.

I am going to add you to my next steemmag issue. Blame @giantbear, she spilled the beans on you about being a writer.

Hahahaha! Thank you so much @bashadow. And @giantbear, of course. :) I owe you one.

@lyxng, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!

I appreciate as well. If you are going this path on steemit, you can learn from @jedau. He resides in Ph as well. Keep evolving. I wonder if you did an #introduceyourself post, i think it will help people to connect to you. It is optional though. Incase, you do an intro post, you may want to do some verification and this link will help: https://www.steemithelp.net/#/verification/

yep I did a verification yesterday.. but it was a very brief introduction.. :) Thanks for taking time to read my story. This is one of the reasons why I strive hard to do better. Thank you so much.

Great. i was able to visit your intro. It was awesome. Real

Thanks!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70