The Darkest Day of My Life

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

mental-1389919.png
Untitled (5).png

We have all been there, one morning you wake up and the world doesn't feel the same as when you went to sleep the night before. Your desires to do anything and keep going on with your life and activities are all but gone, the sun doesn't bright as shiny, your appetite is gone, you feel like giving up everything you have been doing, you start to try and find excuses to just quit, abandon, its not worth it, life is not worth it, why am i throwing all this effort into insignificant things that will be meaningless after i die? Does it matter if I find success? does it matter if I fail? why do i keep going when its easier to give up? Why do i keep struggling if I am going to die anyways?

Some people experience it once a year, some people experience it every few months and there's some people that have to live with it everyday of their life, we often call that depression, a few years ago i was in that place, i wanted to quit, i didn't want to go to study, work, eat, i just wanted to end it and be done with it, the reasons? I don't really know, i felt lost, i felt dread and emptiness, when i was a kid i couldn't picture myself as an adult, i thought i would die before reaching 20 but here I am, still going.....

I was in such a dark place by 2014 that on December 4th i decided it was time to call it quits, i was going to kill myself, i had arranged the place, the time and i just had to do it. I wrote a letter to my mom, i wrote an email to my dad and left the house in the early morning and wandered the city for hours until i decided i was ready to go, i went to the 9th floor of a building and stared down to the street, i took a deep breath and before jumping i decided to look around, to watch the people walk, to see the cars drive around one last time, i spent a good 30 minutes just watching everything, people come and go, cars driving, birds flying, the noise of the city.

After spending a good while watching people, a thought came into my head, how do these people do it? How do they live their lives without having these worries, why do they make it look so easy when it is so hard for me? by the time i was done with that train of thought, for some reason i had changed my mind, something changed in my in that time i spent on that balcony getting ready to die, watching people live their lives for one last time.

A thought came into my head at that time, maybe i don't have to worry about anything anymore and today it may seem obvious to me, but at the time, for some reason i was so stuck, i was so entrenched in my view that everything was bad, that i was a piece of shit, that life was not worth while living. I couldn't really see the simplicity behind of it.

That day my view on life changed completely, i gave my living my life another shot, with a fresh mindset, i was going to live my life for myself, i would do what i desired to do not what my family or others "imposed" or "expected" of me, but now that i see to those days with more maturity, it was always myself, it was me restraining myself, i had some sort of distorted sense of life, that i had to do these things this way or else i was a complete failure and a piece of shit.

Now, 4 years later reflecting on that day, i can see how my life has improved in a positive way, is it all perfect? hell no, but at least I am at peace with me and can focus more on what i want to do with my life, from time to time i still get the dark thoughts but now i'm a stronger person and can differentiate passing thoughts to real feelings, now I can survive the dark thoughts of my mind and for once I can say that I am happy that i did not kill myself that 4th of December.
Untitled (5).png

Thanks for reading this far down, i wrote this because i felt like sharing my story with the people here on steem and if you guys are going trough the same thing or have gone trough the same thing and want someone to talk to, i'll be here for you guys, its hard, i've been there but together we can get trough life!
Untitled (5).png

Sort:  

Other day I was reading a post on Quora. There was a technique or you can call it rule 5-5-5.

If you are sad or something bad happens to you but you want to get rid of that.Just think about it does it matter to you for the next five seconds. Then think about it does it matter for the next five minutes and then for the next five years. I am sure all of us will get all the answers.

Condition is that after that you will not think about it anymore. I have started trying it and it is quite effective.

I will try to remember this for the future :-D

Lots of people suffer from depression. Hats off to you to have triumphed over that period of darkness. It's your life you are the one to decide how to live it. Cheers! We are here if you need to share. Thanks
gie.jpg

Thanks for the encouragement, that image you shared literally defines the decision i made that day.

Jump off the darkness and into the light!

Yeah, that doesn't sound that good for a suicidal person.

I wonder what the bravest thing I've ever done is. Probably talking back to a policeman once. He refuted me and I thought "hmm yeah that's actually pretty smart and philosophical. Unexpected for a cop" and walked away. C: I don't do many brave things.

It's really disturbing to know so many people actually are going through such phases in life. Luna, you were strong to have come back from the brink. Unfortunately, many are not. I have known a number of people who took their own lives. Makes me speechless, how do we help these people??

I guess by spreading education, sharing our stories and being there for the person in their times of need is a great way of helping them out, the problem is in those that don't reach out like me and many others, i managed to get out of it, but a lot of people don't.

Hey Luna thank you for sharing this I have gone through a similar situation and coincidentally it was Dec 4 as well on a different year.

Then you get yourself to think of a different perspective and you try to get better.

Thanks for an insight of you.

That is an interesting coincidence, you going trough a similar situation on a Dec 4th.

I decided to share my story because i know there are many out there going trough the same and believing they are alone when they are not.

Yeah Luna I even made a curation post every two weeks before to help people to show that they are not alone.

Thanks for sharing. I like with your story, many benefits and there is motivation in it. I've also experienced dark things in my life. Maybe everyone has experienced it, because the problem in life must exits. It is a challenge for us so that we can think better and can determine what is best for us. Always open with people we love so that we feel not live alone in the world. The family is the person who most understand the hearts and problems in our lives, especially the mother. For me, the mother is the best friend in my life😄

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Love to see new post from you @lunaticpandora ◕ ‿ ◕✿

Love to see new comment from you, @kissyou! ◕ ‿ ◕✿

This post has received a 30.30% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @lunaticpandora.

Thank you for sharing a very honest story. It is not easy recounting past experiences. As someone who often wonders the world and spends hours wondering trying to make my time worthwhile and not wasting I sort of get how you feel.

I hope you stay in a positive mindset and keep going forward, after all we can all be in gutter but as long as your staring at the stars there is hope = D

You made a brave choice when you chose life and I hope that life in its many ways fills your cells with lasting joy and happiness.

The Dalai Lama books helped me put things to perspective in the past when I have been down. Worth a read

Thanks for sharing this luna. Couldn't have been easy to write. I've had a few thwarted attempts and know the feelings you've described well. I'm happy to be alive now though ♡ I hope you are too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55