Somebody in your life, somebody at your side

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I am a hopeless romantic into all that quirky stuff they show on TV. And then again, I feel uncomfortable when being presented with big gifts. The funny thing is, I am a person that will always offer to pay half of the bill and if you say no I will feel guilty for letting you to cover the costs, but if you say yes there will be a small part in me dreaming about a prince in shining armor who pays for diner, talk about indecision! This is true only in the beginning of a relationship, though.

18161514_297870170669320_268636030972723200_n.jpg

I was never into bad boys, I like stable, I like the charm of a gentleman, the guy who opens doors for others and brings you flowers once in the while. I think my dreams of a guy from the movies were based on the fact that my mom never got any flowers from her husband, nor they really went out. I always saw this as something that made my mom sad, when there was a special date, but no celebrations, so I grew up dreaming of romance, roses and beautiful dresses out on dates.

I must say, I have been lucky in a sense that I am with a man who would do anything for me, he is the most thoughtful and understanding person I have ever met and I love him deeply. It has been a journey so far and the road in front of us is hopefully longer than the one already taken.

20916072_1555533374507193_1362102739_n.jpg

Of course, there were struggles in the beginning, the times when I was uncertain if things will work for us, the times I didn't know if we click, the times I pulled my hair, because sometimes things just don't work. I am a control freak, so I obviously had an image in my head of what I wanted. What I got was different and as I am also stubborn, it didn't sit well with me when the relationship started.

But as things usually turn out, reality doesn't always reach expectations, and sometimes we don't even know what is better for us. We dream about one thing, but what we need is something completely different. And in my case there were some things that didn't level with what I had dreamed of. I later realized that that was exactly what I needed.

I still get my flowers and my diners, but the really important thing that a person needs to realize is that the other half needs the same, so sometimes I am bring flowers for my man even though he finds it funny, I take him out for diners and as he begs me so very often, I give him massages. He deserves all of it, because he makes me feel safe and loved. And most important part is, he understands me, so the smallest thing I can do is give back.

It is not about gentlemen or bad boys, it is about mutual trust, about taking care of each other, about finding somebody who accepts the person you are. Somebody you can be equal with and don't have to wear a mask around. Because we are all human and we all have need for basic human contact, for love and acceptance.

20862382_844480682367482_931293731_o.jpg

Have the best of day, today, tomorrow and every day,
Linda

Sort:  

Charming, as always!

Hi, upvoted and resteemed by the Minnows Accelerator Project.

Lovely post. That paradox that you just stated in the first paragraph about the bill (If you pay the half or not) is actually very realistically put, and I think it is both brave and healthy to have these thoughts.

Haha, yeah, it is funny how a persons mind can be unsatisfied either way, as long as I am honest about it to myself I am not going to get unnecessarily annoyed with myself. :D

That's the spirit! :P

My husband never give me any flowers. But he takes care of me on everything which make me feel safe. I think it's more important than flower, although I won't reject flowers if he give me sometimes. Haha!

Of course, the important stuff is the relationship and interactions, the flowers are just the little extra that I love :)

The post sent me deep of philosophy or where I don't know. My mom also never went with dad anywhere without necessity. Never took her in market or any park. But it is common here. For there it is not, and I feel sad for it.

She must be happy for your new upcoming life and he seems very interesting man. Understantding and trust are most important words in relationship. :)

Yes, you can only be with somebody if you trust them, otherwise it only leads to fights.

I got a soft heart from somewhere i don't know, while reading this post and it makes think of learning how to be a good boyfriend/husband to whoever i ended up dating.

Many ladies like you deserve true love, appreciation and dedication. I will give all that to my lady

I hope you do, and in return she should do the same for you :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 7.75 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @lindahas. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thats a nice post Is the dog Yours??

Its so cute.

No, it is a puppy me and my boyfriend saw on our first date, there were a couple of those in the back of a truck in a gas station. :)

Ayyyyyyyy this post was curated by @buildawhale for Issue #4 of Curation Digest. Here it is for your convenience, congrats again :)

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@buildawhale/curation-digest-issue-4

Here is Part II for more analysis and 24 hour exposure for nominated authors:

https://steemit.com/buildawhale/@chiefmappster/curation-digest-issue-4-part-ii

Congrats again :)

Namaste :)

Thank you so much :)

You're welcome :)

Thank you so much for touching and inspiring us with your work.

Holy smokes you are doing great things.

Which great things? :D

Ayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69345.27
ETH 3816.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67