Dimension I, the world on a brink, a short story of fiction

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I looked at the smashed window, he had escaped once again, the leader of the gang, the leader of the rebellion. It was a three storey drop, so jumping was not a good idea. There was blood on one of the shards on the ground, he had cut himself. My pup could sniff him out. He was already there, looking at me, expectedly.

21443188_1576793279047869_741229350_n.jpg

I looked back at my people, no free hands, they all had someone to arrest, I was alone in this one. There was a sea of people from here to the door, so I looked at the window again, I leaned out and saw a pipe running right on my left, not until the ground, but far enough. I guess it was the adrenaline from the bust, maybe just my general attitude, but I grabbed it and jumped out, not to touch the shards left in the window.

When I landed on the ground, me and Kamo made eye contact, he knew what I wanted and we both knew it was dangerous. An animal may seem beneath humans, but deep down they are smarter than some of us. I nodded and he knew there was no stopping, we were going for it.

The city was dying, the whole world was doing just that. We had almost lost all the greens from the leaves, the nature was rebelling as much as the people, if not more. We were dealing with a lot of abandoned buildings, there were potential hiding places everywhere. But my partner could sniff out anything and so he did. We didn't stop once, not for any of the quiet streets or damaged infrastructure. We didn't stop once until the deserted carousel park.

I knew before Kamo stopped, because there were two kids in front, hiding behind a corner, with their backs towards me. There was blood spilled on the ground again. I made an eye contact with my pup. One of the children, the boy, noticed me, he looked scared and excited at the same time.

21442030_1576792782381252_1785573041_n1.jpg

-- Don't go in there, the huge man is angry!- Just a whisper, full of wonder. They saw my uniform, they knew I would go, they knew there was going to be a fight. So they picked up their ball and their teddy bear and ran past me just to disappear in a dark alley. I still felt their eyes watching me, just hiding to not get in the harms way.

I had only one of my short knifes, I had lost the other in the heat of the bust, during the apprehension of the gang.

-- I need a long knife, Kamo.- he turned to his left, revealing a pouch strapped to his side, I reached out, opened it and took out a plastic bag. I unwrapped it and took out a handle, a dark blue wooden thing, of which a pitch black blade jumped out immediately after contact. Now I had two knifes again, two knifes of metal unbreakable.

I left my pup behind, it was a fight I had to make on my own. I pushed against the wall and moved slowly towards an open door, the one that hushed sounds came from. I stopped and peaked inside, he was searching for something to tie his wound with. He was a huge man, bigger than any person I had met. I had heard he had a bit of the blood of my people running through his veins.

He noticed me unexpectedly and grabbed a blade I hadn't noticed before. A gray thing that reminded me of a reapers scythe, not as big, but deadly enough. I would lie if I said I wasn't scared, I was terrified. He was three times my size and by laws of nature should be stronger, too. I had one card up my sleeve, though, the one nobody knew about.

I went in and he greeted me with his blade, my two knifes blocked it the first time. I saw the surprise in his eyes, when my arms were stronger than his. He didn't realize it the first couple of thrusts, of who I was, but when he struck the fifth time, leaning over me with his blade almost touching my eye, I saw the realization dawn on his face. It was my chance now, so I pushed back with my two blades, his weapon broke and he fell back.

I wasn't for killing, so I knew, my secret was out and the world would find out, I was the rightful owner of the throne of thorns and leadership. My attacker hesitated just for a second, before grabbing a nearby crowbar and making his last attack, he was huge and only making one move, his policy was to hit until dead. But I was fast and I was stronger, still I had to beat him up pretty badly for him to stop fighting back.

My pup turned up behind, right after the man had given up. I looked in his pouches, but couldn't find any cuffs, they all were used on the other gang members. I knew for a fact that the gang code didn't let you attack when you had been defeated, you had to be thankful that you were still alive, with your head still on your shoulders. This huge man didn't say a thing at the moment, but I knew for sure he would tell who I was to others.

21397450_1576793122381218_971741294_n1.jpg

It was time for me to drop the act anyways, I was tired of hiding and angry of how the things were run. I had to bring a change or we all would die, we already had almost run out of air to breathe. I left out a sigh and looked at Kamo. He put his head down, kneeling for me. I had gifts of this earth, I understood the life of all forms.

I knew the time would come when you took your rightful place, you are the last one of the blood from this world, the last one that can bring life back to this earth.


So this is a story of a young woman being the last ascendant from the only people who come from the planet the action is happening on (the others are immigrants from another dead planet) and this planet has a very deep connection with the people of it's kind. Because there were almost no ''locals'' left the world started dying and there were various gangs starting to pop up, that didn't agree with the government and thought they could run the world better. They were dealt with, but one stayed strong. It is the one our heroine won the last fight against. Fighting all the gangs opened her eyes, that the people running what was left, were as bad as the gangs and even worse, just working for their gains and letting the world die. She realizes with this fight that she has the responsibility to do whatever she can, to save her and everybody else's home.

I hope you enjoyed the story!

21741599_1580989378628259_603836833_n.jpg

Have the best day, week and life!
Linda

Sort:  

Upvoted. Following.
Nice story, but confusing at times. Not the action, but the universe you build behind it. You did need that last paragraph to explain what had just happened. I never would have figured it out on my own.
Having said that, keep writing. I really enjoyed it.
I also have writing on my blog @joe.nobel
Erotica, science fiction, urban fantasy. Read a few of my pieces. No obligation to upvote or follow, although wouldn't turn down either one.

Yeah, universes tend to b confusing when they are built on fantasy, I explained a little, but the rest is for the imagination :)
Thank you!

Very nice sci-fi story. I enjoyed it. Are you planning to develop more on the story? Are the knives only weapons they use? No guns? Not that I want to see the guns, just curious if that is part of the story.

I have a second part of it in mind, yes, I want to create 6 or seven dimensions of the same person in different environments.
And yes, in this case, there are no guns, just blades, no long range weapons, not even bows and arrows :)

Upvoted and Resteemed by the Minnows Accelerator Project (MAP).

This article was created by a MAP Member. You can request to join the Minnows Accelerator Project too.

Read all the articles posted by MAP members.

Please upvote this comment so that MAP can continue to support Quality Content Creators.

You are a brave one. If it was not a fiction, I would suggest you not to fight with someone 3 times bigger than you. Say hello to your little helper pup :)

Haha, that is the secret, the person I write about is stronger than the man, because she is from a different race, she can also communicate with animals and has some other things up her sleeve :D

Dangerous :D

WOOOW are you single
?

No, I am not

Good luck with your companion ♥

Congratulations @lindahas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94