Compassion for lonely people

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

The world is gray and days are bleak, and sometimes I just don't feel like doing a thing. Today is one of those days, you know the days that you feel lonely even though you are not alone, the days you feel like you want to be alone, everyone who talks to you, annoys you, too.

20526586_1539945669399297_1047237688_n.jpg

I am a little down, but I am going to get up and move on, nothing else to do. In the world of 7 billion people one would think that finding somebody to click with should be easy, but because of the complexity of how our mind works, sometimes it is hard to actually want to have somebody. People are double edged swords, we just barely balance our happiness, and chains of events can offset which side we are going to land on very easily.

It is not that we are easily influence-able, it is about the world we build around us, it is about circumstances that we create for ourselves. I know very well that I am what made myself feel the way I feel. Still, I like to blame the world around me for what mood I am in. It is hard to admit ones flaws and it is harder to admit that we are the only reason for how we feel.

Yes, there are ass-holes in the world that take pleasure in hurting you, but they can only do that if you let them. Yes, there is money that we never seem to have enough, but how we earned not enough coin is our own circumstances created. I admire the people who had nothing and managed to raise higher than others, but for each person like that, there is one that didn't succeed, that didn't try or gave up.

20496317_1539946506065880_708922828_n.jpg

So yeah, I am feeling lonely right now, I want to be alone and in this case it is loneliness by choice. But others don't consciously choose to be lonely. Because of our human complexity we choose to see problems and obstacles where there are none. Well, there are, but they are figments of our imagination. I know, it is hard to find somebody who understands you, God I know how hard that is. But if you are going to be confined in your room, there is not really a chance to find somebody.

And then there is the fact that most people looking are doing it in the wrong place. If you go to a bar, you are going to find drunk people, the ones who love partying and if you are one of those people, that is your crowd, but if you are a person who would rather have a tea and good nights sleep, what are you doing with people who are sometimes sleeping all day?

20496530_1539946382732559_1275512976_n.jpg

It is always about us, I didn't understand it for a while. I was looking for somebody in nightclubs and leaving disappointed. I love dancing, I hate alcohol, I just don't like the taste. I love reading, but I never tried libraries for meeting others. I know it is hard and awkward to start conversations, especially for introverts. But one day there is going to be a person who feels like you and one day there might be a real friendship coming out of it.

Not one person succeeded with the first try and only the ones who didn't give up, truly and amazingly reached their dreams.

21039508_1561130457280818_38422208_n.jpg

Have a good, amazing and wonderful day, week and whole life,
Linda

Sort:  

I need to be alone, from time to time. I must even say that I love to be alone and that it gives me time to refuel, think and just relax.
But sometimes I prefer company of course. Like you say it's hard to find the "right" persons to spend time with and I think you have a point when you say that we might be looking in the wrong places.
Interesting thoughts and great writing.

Yes, sometimes we all need some alone time to recharge our batteries!
And it is funny that people look for others in places that don't really fit, because we sometimes don't even know what is best for ourselves, so there comes confusion. :)

Haha, thanks for bringing me up when I am down, next time you can make me a video of you singing :D

how'd you guess that one's in my "repertoire"?! (it really is, btw)! lol

Oh! I have a sixth sense :D

You're right when you say it's always about us.
A person makes time for their priorities. Comfort is usually one of them.

I am alone most times because I prefer it that way.
I find myself doing the same things with company as I enjoy doing alone, but sometimes having another person with me makes all the difference.

Being in a stimulating social environment is always enjoyable and isn't particularly difficult for me, but it's exhausting and frustrating once I've reached my limit.
Like standing in the checkout line while juggling a handful of groceries.

But sharing that experience with a friend is always more enjoyable.

Yes, it is the matter of figuring out ourselves, learning about our own limits and dealing accordingly, sometimes it is not so easy to actually know what is the best for me, but I am learning more every day.

Life is a learning experience.
Let's make the best of it :-)

Interesting and thought provoking piece. Sometimes we don't understand our-self and we feel we need to be alone to understand what's going on in our life.

I have been in this position so many times in my life and yeah been alone works most times

Yes, thinking alone is usually more productive than being around someone else.

Hi @lindahas, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Oh, thank you :)

Well said... To be alone is not necessarily because no one else is around...

Exactly, sometimes we are lonely even when there are a lot of people around

If we're in the forest are you truly alone, or are we more connected than usual?

I feel amazing in forests, they are so beautiful and it feels like I am protected

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Beautiful publication

wow...just match with my recent reflextion about sadness...thanks for sharing

I love this.. I love been alone.. I prefer to be with my phone..

I sometimes love to be alone, but other times I need people around me

One cannot be alone forever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52