How Writing Can Help You Be Healthier

in #writing7 years ago

pexels-photo-541518.jpeg

Would you like to learn a way to more easily deal with stress and be healthier?

In this post, I'll share the secret to how writing and blogging can actually make you healthier.

Here's the truth: Leaders are some of the loneliest people around. Why? Because they usually carry heavy burdens they can’t easily share or process with others. The good news is writing has been shown to have healing properties that help us manage our emotions.

A study by Dr. Joshua Smith in the Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, suggests that writing helps process emotions, which can actually strengthen your immune system. Venting through writing does not bring about the intended benefits, though. Instead, the study suggests that people must use it to better understand and process their emotions, which brings about healing.(1)

I confess that, for myself, blogging is extremely cathartic. Sometimes I come home at the end of a long day feeling like I have not accomplished much. After writing a short blog post, all of that changes. I feel like I have done something. I have contributed. My day has not been a waste. There is something about putting pen to paper or fingers to keyboard that helps the mind deal with unprocessed emotions in a powerful way.

Guy Kawasaki, author of numerous books on business, summarizes the effect writing has on him in this way: “Writing is therapeutic. It helps you cope with issues that seem gargantuan at the time. The process of expressing yourself about a problem, editing your thoughts, and writing some more can help you control issues you face.”

Try this experiment:

What is a problem you are facing right now? Pull out a piece of paper or a note on your computer and right the word “problem.” Take a moment and, as clearly as you can, write out exactly what the problem is.

Then try to answer the following questions regarding that problem:

• What is the problem?

• Why is it a problem?

• How long has it been a problem?

• How have I contributed to this problem?

• What would be the consequence if this issue were not resolved?

• What would the ideal outcome look like if this issue were resolved?

On the other side of the paper write the word “solution.” As clearly as you can, delineate three possible solutions to the problem and then commit to an action. Now, I am not suggesting that you do all of this publicly on a blog. But you can hit upon some of these issues in a blog post.

This might not be a blog post where you have the answers. Perhaps you are writing this particular post for the sake of getting counsel from other peers. Or perhaps you’re just trying to identify and define a problem.

Writing a post like this every once in a while helps you learn about an issue, reveal a level of authenticity amongst those who follow you, and process your emotions.

So what about you? What benefits of writing have you noticed in your own life?

By the way, did you find this post useful? If so, thank you for Upvoting, Resteeming, and following me, @leaderinsights, to receive every future post.

Sort:  

This is a fantastic and insightful post. I really enjoyed reading it. Having been in management, and owning business as well as several other roles i really understand and can appreciate the information you have put fourth, Thank you and I totally agree writing is good for us. I recently damaged my dominant arm and my whole life changed. I have been raising my daughter on my own for 12 years, and thankfully things went smooth until now. I have went back to school in an effort to help me find a new profession and at forty three it definitely presented a challenge. I never let my daughter see how taxing it really is. I always tell her every challenge is put in front of us for a reason. I also have used this to show her it is never to late to learn new things. I have taken out loans etc trying to keep everything as normal as possible for her and to help with school costs and bills. Through it all my sanity has been kept by writing. It has allowed me to get things off my chest that I may not tell others. Thank you for this post.

Thank you. My pleasure. Wow. You are a hero. You've faced some really significant challenges and are holding it together for you and your daughter. Bless you. What new profession are you working on? What kind of writing have you been doing? Mostly on Steemit or another platform?

Sorry for the late reply. Thank you for the kind words but hero I am not I have made many mistakes along the way I just try to keep moving forward. My daughter is my inspiration I keep in mind that I am here to help her achieve her goals to direct and hopefully influence for the better. I have been taking business courses mainly that is where I did well years ago.
I am only on steemit right now I am trying to find my voice. I feel as if I have things to convey to others. Im not sure exactly what but I feel a need to share the thoughts I have with others. I have mostly written to lighten my personal load it was a way to get things off my chest but lately i have been writing things for enjoyment and I have had a overwhelming desire to share its odd and scary. Im not sure if anyone will care or like what I write but I'm going to do it anyway .. I actually just shared one today on here it felt good not one of my best but it was from a time that I needed to be positive. So i thought it was hard to reread so if I can share it than anything is possible.

Thanks for sharing. Just seeing this. Sorry for my late reply :) Keep on writing, brother. There is something powerful about creating something through writing. You will find your voice. Bless you.

@leaderinsights, I really appreciate this article. It very much describes what Steemit has been for me over the last few months. Life has been challenging, and writing my thoughts has therapeutic.

So glad the article was helpful and that @steemit writing has been therapeutic. How often are you writing?

I try to post 3-5 times a week, usually about family, thoughts I need to vent, and what I am learning on Steemit.

Nice. By the way, seems you've lived in Sumatra? I live in the U.S, but I did my last two years of High School in Singapore. My dad was a chaplain in the U.S Navy and I got the chance to visit Sumatra one time.

I lived on the island of Sumatra for 12 years. I had several opportunities to visit Singapore. It is an incredible country.

Tell your Dad thanks for serving his country and ministering to the spirits and minds of the women and men who serve our country.

I like this. It kinda reminds me of that story on the Navy Seal commander who explains why you should make your bed every single day. It's like, every post gives you that sense of an accomplishment...it's something you "got done" and you can feel proud you got at least one task done that day.

Make Your Bed
Source

Exactly. By the way, very cool. I didn't know he wrote a book! Will need to get it.

This is a great post!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No. 10 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Congratulations and Steem On!

Sounds great, thanks!

Congratulations @leaderinsights! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

An excellent post! Not only was it well written and supported by empirical evidenced-based research but I just happen to completely agree with you @leaderinsights on how therapeutic and cathartic writing can be! Writing has been such a big part of my life for so many reasons. I personally prefer actually "writing" with a pen and paper, how about you?

Oops! Just seeing this comment. You know, for me, I feel very at home with my fingertip to keyboard. I have horrible handwritting, really bad, so it takes more work to write things out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53