Writing #15: Steady EffortsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

steemwriting15.png

The very heart of yoga practice is ‘abyhasa’ – steady effort in the direction you want to go. - Sally Kempton

My pal Wendy gave this quote when I was talking about my yoga journey and when I was in a writing slump. I had to do a little self-analysis and it was revealing. But isn't it always?

On Tuesday past, after we got the internet hooked up and my PC updated itself and I got back to writing after a couple of weeks offline, I sat down and did a lot of writing for a client. That day I turned out 8,000 good words. And on Wednesday I was whining about not writing.

Wake up, Joanne. Just wake up.

Writing is writing. If I choose to fund my life with writing for hire, then that is writing. And I love this client and the topic. I had been scolding myself about my episodic novel and making it all so mysterious and troublesome.

Writing is Writing

I should needlepoint that message. Then Wendy, referring to my yoga endeavour, gave me the quote. And I got it. "...steady effort in the direction you want to go" It doesn't matter what enterprise it is, steady effort in the direction I want to go.

So I am back where I started -- doing it all slowly and surely. But doing it.

divide.png
Meanwhile, I got this Follow Me Gif from @oendertuerk

Sort:  

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts, reply with STOP.

Wow, 8,000 words in one day is phenomenal! I finally got back to some fiction writing last night. Felt so good!

Oh that is such good news!!! Isn't it odd how we resist doing things we like? And then when we take the big step, we think "Isn't this fun?"

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57690.80
ETH 2449.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33