Scarlet Screams the Night

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I've decided this poem should be the opening prologue for my upcoming short story...

Scarlet in the Night of Terrors.

It's about a creature that takes form during the time of Jack the Ripper.

Radiantly her soft skin shines
Scarf down reveals blue skies

Late at night in alleys pitch
The terror in red eyes.

Skipping now through stone pathways
Old money in her hand

The creature's ravenous tonight
She does not understand

He comes not from this land

And he is not a man

Her blood is on his hand

Her life a scarlet strand

Sort:  

I like it, I hope to read soon your short story.

I will release chapter one very soon.

Very nice lines! It leaves a sinister feeling.

I'm glad you liked it...... the idea for a poem as a prologue came to me last night.

Poetry makes a great prologue. Nice work.

It's a great idea to use poetry as a prologue, especially for this genre. Nicely done!

Jeezzle, upvoted, resteemed and following

Much appreciated.

great read

I like the idea for the plot of the story. It's very original sounding. I like the poem. It makes me want to read the story and would be a good intro for it.

I'm not sure if you read the thread in which Eric Vance Walton sent me the book about being an indie writer. Super nice guy. I plan to release chapter one very soon.

I didn't get to comment on it but I did see that. It's really awesome he sent you an autographed copy of his book. If you have an amazon subscription it is free to read which is cool so I bookmarked it. Is this story part of what you are publishing to Amazon? I hope your book is successful.

Yes. I doubt it will be financially successful right off the bat, but it will be a good experience getting a book out there. It's hard writing fiction, and it pays less than blog pieces on here for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44