SILVER LINING #4

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the latest chapter before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #3

SILVER LINING

Cloud Image Source

Hey Cloudheads! I hope you're enjoying the journey so far. As you may have noticed, I've uploaded the posts 2 days later than usual. I love experimenting, so I did it as a means to try and draw in more votes. So far it has worked, so expect a more fluid schedule in the coming weeks. For the sake of some consistency, they will be constrained to Mondays, Wednesdays or Fridays (GMT+8).

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but our hero doesn't think so. My mother would definitely laugh at me when she reads this chapter, because when I was a kid, I was the hardest person to feed in the entire world! I would always be off exploring after every bite, forcing them to chase after me until they got tired. Everyone would be finished, yet I still haven't reached the halfway mark. I'm amazed that my mother didn't have a period when she was bald.

appa

Noticed any pop culture references yet? :D (Image Source)

How about Eddie, huh? It's unfortunate that he won't feature much in the story, because he was still a wee baby at the time. I made Eddie an amalgam of Zepp's younger brother Vedder and my own little sister. It was hard growing up next to someone cuter and more easily liked. I wasn't my sister's biggest fan back then is what I'm trying to say. Suffice to say, Ledd's thoughts of Eddie are also an amalgam of my thoughts toward my sister and what I perceive Zepp's thoughts are based on his hostile actions toward Vedder. It's not all bad though, they have since mellowed out, and are getting along quite nicely nowadays.

The other new characters introduced here are my aunt (Lowla), uncle (Lowlow), cousin (Ari) and his girlfriend (Doma). Lola and Lolo are honorifics for grandparents in Tagalog. They literally translate to "grandmother" and "grandfather", respectively. Their real names are Ella and Tito (which is an honorific for "uncle" as well haha but his real name is Aristotle), that's why my cousin's name is Thiella, an amalgan (yet again) of their names. Ariel (yet another amalgam!) is Thiella's younger brother and my older cousin, and Donna is his live-in girlfriend.

I hope you're enjoying the story so far, and I thank you all for your continued support. Now that my Curie qualification has passed and I did not make the cut for Steem Guild, Zepp and I are going to need all the help we could get in filling up our viento! :D

The Purpose

While they haven't posted an introduction or verification, I can assure you that @zeppelin is the official account you can send money or well wishes to. I have no control over that account, and I'm not running a scam on it, if that ever crossed your minds. I'm just a simple storyteller hoping to use my craft to help other people -- in this case my nephew who has Global Developmental Delay. I'd like to think of him as not having a delay, but trying to gain momentum for when he eventually launches forward!


Thanks for reading! Follow me @jedau for stories, solutions and other stuff that begin with 'S'!

divider

Sort:  

Background and hints of the future are groovy things. I'll see you at chapter 5.

Woohoo! Always exciting to have a returning customer! The next chapter awaits, and I am eternally grateful :D

Tried replying but the thread is at its limit but yeah thank you bro, we are slowly improving in health and I'll be on the lookout for more of your posts for sure. Also, yeah I hope you enjoy my open mic entry, let me know what your think. Appreciate it bro.

I'm going to listen to it now, will be commenting on the post to help out with its visibility! :D

Appreciate that brooo, thanks so much

As expected, I enjoyed it immensely! And.. I see that you've seen my comment already, so I'll reply there.

Hey there, my bro!!

I've been away for a while so many apologises not being more supportive during the last week. But it seems you've taken the bull by the horns and are really making a name for yourself on Steemit. Not surprising, since I know how talented you are! Need to do some serious catching up here with yourself and the brilliant @dreemit. Will get back into the swing of things soon.

You just keep going from strength to strength and climbing to those higher echelons! Great format what with the intriguing insights you give us with "Silver Lining" and then the book itself. Perfection!

Hey there, my brother! Man, you are definitely missed! If you would've been gone for longer, I would've sent a virtual search party for you haha! Seriously though, no apologies necessary. I know you and @dreemit's support are automatic, and even though your comments were missed, I know that real life takes precedence above all else for sure. I hope you're doing great, and I've missed reading The Symbiotic Protocol even more than your amazing comments! Chapter 20 couldn't come any sooner :D

I like that mindset, gaining momentum until he launches forward! I believe in the power of positive thinking...I believe that the mind is far more powerful than we give it credit for, in fact. Also if you view it this way, it will cause you to interact with him differently than if you view him with a handicap, so that will help as well!
I'm loving the story, and this complimentary post that gives us the inside scoop, or takes us backstage. All my love to you and your family, beautiful people i can tell ;)

We've only unlocked a small percentage of our mind, imagine the possibilities once we're at 100% capacity! That's exactly how I view him, and that's the reason I've been writing this series--so that other people would approach differently abled people in a whole new way. Thanks for your continued support :D

Yo , i got here from the chat, a bit mid story :D , so i have to catch up with your writings, I'm following you now, even if i'm a bit confused what the story is , nice background on the characters and I'm interested to see how it will progress , thanks for sharing

Hey, j3dy! Wow, someone who I share a first syllable with. Fun fact: my father's name is Jedy. Anyway, thanks for stopping by, and just for that, I'm following you back :D Also, thanks for taking the time to read. It's alright even if you take time to catch up, even reading a chapter and leaving your thoughts already means so much.

The story is about a day in the life of a differently abled boy (in real life), as you may note from the titles. Each chapter comprises one hour of his day, kinda like that series 24 starring Kiefer Sutherland. Since he's not able to talk, I decided to craft a tale imagining what the world would be like from his point of view. He always seems like he's floating on clouds, so I decided to pepper in elements of Fantasy in there to somehow blur the line between reality and fiction. So, yeah, confusion is a normal reaction :)

This Silver Lining series is meant to explain things that aren't that clear, so it's a great avenue to ask these kinds of questions. All earnings go to his therapies and to charities that deal with mental disabilities. Since I'm converting the SP I get into real cash to be given to charities I am taking nothing from this except the sense of fulfillment from helping others out.

My thoughts are the same as @j3dy, and @ezzy, there are so many wonderful novels to read, and I gotta get back to my steemit audiobooks as well now that my sickness is finally dying down with me and the family. I liked learning of the characters in depth as well with the background on the names, however I have yet to read your book although I read this entire post because I enjoyed the title connection Silver Lining to your novel's. Nice way to connect. I wish you the best of success bro and write on! Upvoted

Thanks, bro! I'm glad to hear the you and the family have all recovered! Definitely praying that sickness wouldn't return for a long time, if at all. This Silver Lining series definitely caught me by surprise as well. I like to explain things (sometimes, I tend to over-explain, like I'm doing now lol) so this is definitely a good conduit to try and lighten the content of the main story. I have your open mic night entry on queue, and I'll listen to it once I'm done with work. Already upvoted it because I know it's going to be all kinds of awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45