You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thought Bubble Thursdays #3 - The One Where We Talk About Legacy

in #writing7 years ago

I really wanted to get to that point from the very beginning. I feel like we were syncing again in terms of the profanities when I was writing the whole piece. Haha! I couldn't keep it straight, I just wanted to get to the point quickly. I feel like this is the weakest TBT so far though, especially when I re-read my previous piece. I don't know why it is, but I always feel the ones I've written before are far superior than the newer ones haha!

What pop culture are you and JJ showing the children then? Many of the movies do feel formulaic, and I'm not talking about the purported Marvel Formula. Just the movies in general, I feel like they're playing it safe and just rehashing whatever worked for the more succesful movies. It sucks because it stalls growth and it feels like they're just milking people's money by presenting the same thing wrapped in different packages. Which is ironic, because this feels like a rehash of your sentiment wrapped in different wordings hahahaha!!

I do get bored, even though I still mostly consume it. The thing is, I keep saying that I'm doing research as an excuse, because I really am. While most people are rehashing stuff, I'm listing down stuff that hasn't been done and try to incorporate those in my stories. I guess that's why they aren't as popular as others haha!

There are a lot of pretty standard stuff nowadays, but there are still gems that are worth a look. I feel like we're pretty much in agreement in terms of what stories we like, yeah? Matt Fraction's work comes into mind when I think of character-driven stuff. His recent Hawkeye run is by far one of my favorite comic runs ever. He also has this graphic novel called "Sex Criminals" which is super R Rated, but at its core is a deep character study.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71