You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The not a Book Club

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking on this since I first came to the site a couple months ago.

You've said it all very well, and I think you've covered close to every point that could be made. I feel the exact same way and it's the reason blogs like your own have become my favorite, and the reason I seek out your posts to read over the sea of others.

My favorite part of many posts is the comments section. The post seems to be merely a prompt to begin conversation there. Those are the kind of posts I seek out. And I've seen more than a few times where conversation has sparked further writing by the author and new connections between users.

It takes all kinds and there definitely are all kinds here. I feel like it'll all balance itself out in time. And users like ourselves will just ignore that other side of things that doesn't interest or benefit us. It's fine that it exists, but it's just not relevant to what we've come here for. I kind of have that live and let live perspective on things.

I also, at least so far, have tended to comment more than I've posted. But my reason for that is that I've seen a lot of content generated seemingly simply to do so to the point that it comes off redundant and uninspired, unoriginal...and I want to avoid being another one of those type contributors. As a newer user, it's seemed to benefit me more, and be more enjoyable, to simply engage with others and the meaningful posts they've already written. Doing so has given me plenty of ideas of my own that I might expound upon, eventually. Regardless, I value the genuine interaction the most.

I think for every writer who feels the way you do there's likely a commenter who feels the same and will engage with you. We all just need to take on the unspoken purpose of recognizing each other and then work together to creative a supportive environment, in spite anything else.

Sort:  

The post seems to be merely a prompt to begin conversation there.

I think this is what makes content valuable. If it doesn't create decent discussion/thought, it is not worth reading.

Doing so has given me plenty of ideas of my own that I might expound upon, eventually. Regardless, I value the genuine interaction the most.

I think this is valuable too as it builds upon the thoughts of others and develops the conversation further. Too many here tell people 'facts' yet expand nothing personally. Much of the science based content is that way. I find it useless. I can already read textbooks and studies from a million other places, I want to hear new thoughts.

We all just need to take on the unspoken purpose of recognizing each other and then work together to creative a supportive environment, in spite anything else.

Responsibility of action of the individual is what creates strong communities.

Yeah, you've highlighted good points. Especially the last one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58083.18
ETH 2578.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42