The Stories Behind The News

in #writing5 years ago

Could they be the ones behind this? Or could it be those benefitting from fraudulent pension payments or even judgment deh scammers whom I had blocked? Could it be politic who were displeased with fiscal reforms or could it even be trying to block emerging reforms in the ports and customs areas? Everywhere I looked, I seemed to have tread on toes that it could be any of these groups out for revenge so many. When my father heard the demand for my resignation, he said it was utter nonsense and I should not contemplate resigning. In to show these people that I would not be blackmailed into leaving government, I should return to work the could not concentrate when my mother's life was at stake that next day. But I secretly felt that I. The third morning, Tuesday, unbeknownst to my father, I decided to act as if I was going to work but instead plan to travel to my home town of Ogwashi-Ukwu to join my brother in the negotiations. Perhaps if I talked directly to these people, I could persuade them to release my mother. I drove to the airport and then realized that I should tell the President where I was going, given the circumstances. Following our rules of engagement as ministers, I phoned "Control," the central telephone system for the presidency, and they put me through to the President immediately.

I told the President about the demand for my resignation. He said he was already aware of that and he was being fully briefed on the situation by the State Security Service. When I told him that I did not think I should resign but wanted to join my brother to negotiate with the kidnappers because I thought it might make a difference, he said. No!" He said that I should not go to Ogwashi-Ukwu because it would be playing into the hands of the kidnappers. Instead, I should turn back from the airport and return home. Negotiations were better left in my brother's hands, ably supported in the background by the State Security Service. I was torn, but the President had issued a direct order, so I decided to turn back and go to my office. It was difficult to concentrate, be immersed myself in the work. Meanwhile, the news had spread. My mother's kidnapping was on radio and television everywhere. I was shocked to turn on CNN and see it being reported there, as well. It was now worldwide news.

The third day turned into the fourth, Wednesday, and the kidnappers did not waver. They wanted my resignation. Although the news media knew that my mother had been kidnapped, only the State Security service, the President, and my family were privy to the details of the ongoing negotiations. Wednesdays were cabinet days, and I had memos for presentation to the cabinet. I did not believe I off the presentation, but my father insisted this was indeed I had to do. Given that the start of most cabinet sessions was televised felt that the kidnappers would be watching, and I needed to them I was not daunted and could not be blackmailed. My father to the upbringing he had given us: "Keep your nose clean, hold head high, and never allow anyone to intimidate or blackmail you With this reminder, I held my head high, participated actively and even presented my memos. It was one of cost difficult acts of my life, but subsequent calls by friends and colleagues indicated that the decision had been a good one. They said it showed strength under pressure, which amazed me, because I did in the cabinet meeting.

While this was going on, tremendous pressure was being applied on the kidnappers. The security forces, the police, and the State Security.Service, working with the state governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta state, were searching the areas around my hometown. The then Chief of Army Staff, General Azubuike Ihejirika, tasked a contingent from the army to join in the search. This enabled searchers to comb an area of several miles around Ogwashi-Ukwu. The news broadcasts announced that the search for the kidnappers was widening and intensifying. The intent was to put maximum pressure on the kidnappers to release their captive or face dire consequences if caught. The search went on for a fifth day, Thursday, as did the negotiations. When the kidnappers realized that I was not going to resign, they suddenly changed tack and demanded a ransom of N100 million (about $625,000). My brother negotiated this down to N10 million and received instructions to deposit it at a certain venue near Benin City. A State Security Service driver and my brother's assistant, Sylvanus, drove the money to the venue on the outskirts of Benin City. The sixth day-Friday, December 14-arrived with lots of anxiety about whether the kidnappers had picked up the money and my mother would be released. Then came the greatest joy! Early Friday afternoon, my brother Onyema called me to say my mother had just been brought into the compound by a motorcycle taxi. She was free and home-a disheveled, very frightened old woman. My father left Abuja for Ogwashi-Ukwu immediately, with a promise to bring my mothcr back to Abuja to recuperate. Two days later, they were back.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I left Aisha in the other room to check on you

Congratulations @gbenga! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48