Internet ≠ World

in #writing5 years ago

www.jpg

If something isn’t on the internet, it doesn’t mean it didn’t happen or doesn’t exist. A lot of us are tangled in this social media life where every meal you eat has to be pictured and uploaded, every trip you take need to be documented and every person you spend your time with, needs to show up on your facebook feed. We search for travel information, research data and try and find a person we lost contact with years ago, and if a simple google search doesn’t yield results, the thing might as well not exist at all. It’s a flawed mentality.

What inspired me to ponder about this issue was one Finnish word: kirnahanki.



There is no translation to English for it, not to my knowledge, but it means springtime snow that has melted and then hardened so much that it can carry your weight if you walk or ski on it. We have a lot of words related to snow and ice here in Finland, and not many of them can be translated to English, so that really isn’t surprising, but what surprised me was that google didn’t know the word either. I’m not sure why I even tried, but when I googled the word, there were no results. None. That is odd. Kirnahanki is very familiar to me but I started to wonder if I had made it up because it didn’t show up on a google search at all. I went to my mom for confirmation, and then to my great aunt, and they both knew the word, so it must exist. We speak a certain dialect here in the northern parts of central Finland, and I would be interested to know if anyone in other regions of Finland know the word kirnahanki, or what is your word for it.

It was a good reminder for myself that not everything is, or even needs to be online. There is life outside the internet and it’s all real. There is a lot going on and not everything needs to be put up on social media or on a blog post, not ever if you are a blogger (ahem…)

People have connections outside of facebook friends, there are important life events that don’t all need to be documented online in real time and there is a lot of information out there that you will not find out with a google search. You will actually have to go outside, live and find out about life while you are at it.

WWW, World Wide Web ≠ The Whole World

Sort:  

Kantohanki on se juttu

Kirnahanki täytyy olla todella pienen alueen tiedossa koska etkös sä oo Etelä-Pohjanmaalta?

Joo ja en ole ikinä kuullut

Hmm... pakko myöntää, että en ole ennen kuullut – tai sitten en vain muista – kirnahangesta puhuttavan idässä tai etelässä, saatika vastaavasta sanasta, joka kuvaisi sulanutta ja kovettunutta lunta, mutta voin hyvin kuvitella, että se ihan oikea sana olisi. Aina oppii uutta :D

Kantohangesta kyllä puhutaan, tai hankikannosta, mutta nehän on ihan tylsiä sanoja :D

Aivan – kantohanki! Sehän käy hyvin järkeen. Mut ihan totta, et kirnahanki kuulostaa kivemmalta :D

The Internet world is a virtual world. This world has no boundaries and boundaries, it is a boundless world. But it is an undeniable truth. The Internet has a great deal of impact on human life, maybe it's either negative or positive. Because it depends on how people use the Internet. How They Say: Water is a very subtle and delicate thing, but if you drink too much, you have the body.
The Internet is also a medium of self-contained information. You can get a lot of information about what you want. But naturally, those who use the Internet are less likely than those who abuse it. This is not a new discovery, but a new type of mischief. Many families collapse, the son becomes father to the father, the girl screams her mother, her husband talks to other boys in secret social networks, and husband does not stay behind, but speaks at work.

lol

I googled it before reading the next paragraph. Nothing!

I know that type of snow though, and I call it bullshit snow. Can't even make a snowball with it, and it's not good for cars or old ladies.

And yeah, some things should not be blogged. Like breakfast.

Hahahaha, I think you call all snow bullshit, I reckon you don't like the cold at all :P

Depends on the breakfast but if you want to make someone really hate you first thing in the morning, you send a picture of your amazing breakfast :P

Hahahaha, I think you call all snow bullshit, I reckon you don't like the cold at all :P

I'm pretty sure this is only because people outside of Northern countries don't know how to dress for cold, lol.

You are correct. It's not a nice feeling being cold!

ha! Interesting tactic. How about if I sent a photo of me at breakfast time swimming in a warm pool? :D

I believe I have more ammo in the picture department so be careful :D

We have a lot of words related to snow and ice here in Finland

Ofc you have, it's only thing you guys have overthere... that and redhaired hotties :P

People have connections outside of facebook friends

If you tried to know info about me through my main facebook account you wouldn't know anything at all about me... I'm 24 and my last picture was uploaded when I was 18, it's actually my profile picture, I think I have more info about me on Steem then I do on other types of social networks... and people don't even know how I look like xD

kirnahanki

Tried researching it and nothing at all... Maybe next time you do the research your blog will be the first thing that is shown!

so now you should rank #1 for kirnahanki
Call yourself goddess of seo (well, after google indexes this page) :D

Hahaha, that would be awesome :D Now people at least will know it is an actual word :D

Funny, this. I was just pondering our digitla lives and 'real' lives this morning in the construct of Time. Are we all living our OWN parallel lives?

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Maybe because it's "kantohanki" lol

Wait what? Where did you pick that up?

The interwebz.

And since when do you know Finnish well enough to understand that it means the same?

I don't. As I said, the interwebz. Why? It's not the same thing?

It is, and that is why I am surprised, Finnish is not easy! :D

We live in the Matrix, everything is an illusion 😳😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49