How To Remove Creative Blocks By Talking Directly To The Thing You’re Creating

in #writing8 years ago

can-of-inspiration9e38b.jpg

Ever been stuck on a creative endeavor? Did you wish for a can of high-performance inspiration, so you could just get your flow on?

You can.

By talking directly to The Thing you’re creating.

Ask It a few questions in a friendly way. You’ll be fascinated by Its answers. Pretend that your Creation is a really smart person. Why? Because asking It some of these questions will stimulate your inspiration-gland, that's why!

  • So, Creation-In-The-Making, what’s Your real name?
  • Why do You want to exist?
  • How do You want to make people feel?
  • Who do You want to help or serve?
  • How do You want to help or serve them?
  • What do You have to say, show or teach?
  • How do You want to make life more enjoyable for people?
  • How do You want to be remembered?

Only after you're absolutely enthused by what you learn from your Creation’s answers, then ask It:

  • Why did You pick me to bring You into the world?
  • What’s the best way for me to bring You into the world?
  • What’s the first step for me to take to bring You to life?
  • Who else would be interested in helping me bring You forth? (co-creators)
  • Who else would be interested in having You once You’re out-and-about? (market)
  • What’s Your biggest, wildest possibility?

This process creates both intimacy and clarity between you and your project. Like everything, it is relational. Talking with your current Creations… asking Them these questions can reposition you from the one DOING the work, to the one TRANSLATING/CONVEYING/IMPORTING the work. It can relieve the felt pressure to be creative, and allow you, instead, to merely bring through an idea that wants to be seen, heard and considered.

(I originally wrote + published this post on my LifeBlazing website.)

Sort:  

Very interesting concept. Communicating with your creative project like with a living being may inspire fresh ideas you never thought about. I'll check it out asking my commercial web site what it thinks about itself.

Hey @bitfish, feel free to come back and share your URL, along with what your Site told you ;-) I'd love to know!

Good technique! I do something similar when I'm working on a physical job, like mowing a lawn. In order to stop my mind wandering, I "talk" myself through the job - especially at the parts where I need to pay attention.

Great article... it is all about serving others so in turn they help you. Even the image is clarifying... thanks.

This may be the technique Tesla used!

Creative works do seem to have a life and personality, vitality, of their own. Why not have a conversation with them in words, as well as with the work itself? Very useful questions.

"Very useful questions." <--- Hooray, mission accomplished! :-) Thanks, @venusdehilo.

Very interesting, I will save the questions and give it a go. Thank you for sharing:)

It's good to step back and ask questions to gain perspective on a creative work. I had never considered talking to me work directly, but I think I'm gonna try it! These are great questions.

P.S. I found and followed your blog because of @dragonanarchist's "Eyes on the Minnows" post. Keep up the good work!

Hey, @sethlinson! Thanks for your thoughtful comment, and follow. I'm happily following you back :-) It was so awesome of @dragonanarchist to include me in her episode. I'm glad it helped our paths cross, and also that you found the questions helpful. Let me know how it goes, if you'd like. I'd be interested to know.

P.S. Today, I'm talking with roses! lol https://steemit.com/steempoetryslam/@erikaharris/peach-roses-an-original-poem-for-excited-entry-into-the-steem-poetry-slam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50