PEACH ROSES: (An Original Poem For Excited Entry Into The Steem Poetry Slam)

in #steempoetryslam8 years ago (edited)

Can you believe these roses cost just 20 pesos?

That's like, USD$1.06.

I got them from an Acapulqueño street vendor.

So, he had no overhead.

But still, $1.06?... for a half-dozen roses?

The same long-stemmed, big blooms

cost at least 15 times more in Chicago.

So, I thought this poem was going to be about

the economic relativity of roses. But don't worry...

I WAS WRONG ABOUT THAT.

It's actually about their marbled Peach-Red-Yellow.

Petaled suns, with smiling lips that curl.

It's about their promise to open, from the center,

and give fragranced love, that you inhale. (How easy is that?)

It's about their tall, elegant stature. Not uptight. Upright.

"I admire you, " I think with every glance at them.

I decide to bio-mimic.

The first thing I notice is that there is not an ounce

of convincing or persuasion in them,

because it isn't necessary.

That's how FULL + COMPLETE a rose is.

And now that they see they've got an observer checking them out,

my goodness, they are spilling all their secrets...


postimage

Hey! I'm Erika, and I'm curious about using language as a catalytic + restorative liberation technology (using words to make universal keys, instead of invisible chains). I call it word alchemy, and am experimenting with that here on Steemit. If you like this sort of oddly flavored thing, add me to your feed: @erikaharris. Your time and attention is precious, so thanks for sharing a lil' of it with me. And if YOU feel in need of some attention, consider my LAVISH LISTENING service. 💚 Oh, creator? Lots of folks have found this helpful: "How To Remove Creative Blocks By Talking Directly To The Thing You're Creating".

Sort:  

This deep travel into the life of a rose is a beautiful entry, thank you for sharing

Thank YOU, @prufarchy, for organizing such a fun and creative event! I'm excited to become familiar with and supportive of the poetry community here at Steemit.

deep, funny and wise thanks @erikaharris

what kind feedback! thanks, @elissahawke. that means a lot coming from you. i love your free, wild, bold, truth-declaring voice. <--- have been wanting to tell you that for awhile :-)

!! Thats cool! I love it when someone likes me who I havent met : ))) thanks angel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51