Adventures in Crackland 8

in #writing7 years ago

Sorry it took so long for me to get back to you guys but here is installment 8.

I watched Gina sleep. She was my best friend. The age difference might be a little weird but we grew up in the same neighborhood. It was our shitty parents that brought us together. We would find each other in the hallway. She was trying to fight off hunger because her parents were too high to feed her and I was sitting in the hall eating dinner because my parents were screaming at each other. So, I would share my dinner and we would comfort each other. She found drugs after I left with my boyfriend and I found drugs when my boyfriend left me and we found each other after.
Her parents continued to be addicts and now zombie vessels. My father beat my mom to death and made me his wife which is why I ran off with my boyfriend in the first place. I found it strange that Gina and I never talked about my leaving. She did tell me my father was different but there was too much unforgiveness. I do not think I can look at him without freaking out. Now, here we are faced with another parent crisis.
“Hey wake up we have to do something.” I said pushing her. She moaned and pushed me away. I sighed and jostled her violently.
“Damn! I have always hated when you did that.” She yelled.
“I know but you always get up we gotta leave this room. We are running out of money and we have a hit a piece left. Let’s smoke and be about our business.”
We both took the last one to the head and as the smoke billowed around our heads the hot dead eyed chicks accosted us again. I watched as I made a beeline for more money and more drugs. We hustled for three days straight before they left. We woke up at another motel that happened to belong to some guy.
“Who are you and why are we here?” I asked.
Gina rubbed the sleep out of her eyes and said, “Yeah what she said.”
His face was completely calm and his light brown eyes twinkled as if they were laughing at us. He was about six foot something with short black hair. His hands seemed huge but they looked soft despite the callouses. In a calm voice that entered my ears like music he said, “I found you both and you seemed like you needed help. Those wraiths really did a number on you. You know, if you continue to let them do that they will lock you up in their realm and take over your lives.”
Gina and I looked at each other and we knew that that was what had happened to her parents. Gina shuddered visibly and my stomach turned.
“If you get trapped in their realm is there a way out?” Gina asked hopefully.
“No matter how dark a place you find yourself in there is always a way out.”
He laughed at the expression on our faces.
“To answer your question my name is Manu and I think I can help you two with your parent problem.”
Our mouths dropped open. It was as if Manu read our minds. There was a knock at the door and food came. Like a couple of animals Gina and I dug in never asking Manu if it was for us.
“I guess I chose exactly what you both liked.” Manu chuckled.
“Eat up” he said, “we have work to do”
To be continued….
ac pic.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @edwoodt1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41