What can we do?

in #writing6 years ago


That was the final question on the bottom of a beautifully written post by @vanessahampton. I had opened her link from the day before, but could not give the post the attention it deserved until this morning. After leaving a portion of my thoughts in a comment for her, I told her I thought her question was an important one that deserved a fuller answer.


I encourage you to go read her post "Beggars can be choosers",  where she explores the heavy topic of "forgotten" children - those who are left to provide for their own needs, by any means necessary. When faced with the overwhelming burden of tackling a seemingly insurmountable problem as this, what can we do?


I recognized that her story was a fictional tale, but the tenderness I was experiencing in my chest was due to a heart rubbed raw by the actual children whose lives were represented in her story. As I read through the story, before she prompted, I was continually asking the question: what can we do?


I'm sure many have heard another story, but for those who haven't - allow me tell you one of my favorites. A little boy was walking along a shoreline littered with starfish that had been stranded on the beach after a storm. Unable to return to the safety of the water, they would dry and die under the heat of the sun. A man watched as the little boy walked along the shore, rescuing each star-shaped creature and flinging it back into the safety of the waves. As the man passed the boy, he shook his head and said, "Why are you bothering? Look at all of these starfish! It's impossible for you to save them all. You can't possibly think that what you're makes a difference!"


Undeterred, the little boy picked up the next starfish and tossed it as far as he could into the sea. Continuing to walk towards the next starfish, the boy simply replied, "It made a difference to that one."

A gift from my daughter


On a trip to Fiji, (No, not the resort side.  The side where we played on the filthy floor with children who were in hiding from their abusive fathers.) we had been faced with a similar burden that @vanessahampton described. There were so many. And we were so few. The hurt was so large; how could we make a difference? We were feeling very hopeless, and were on the verge of surrendering to defeat. An extremely wise native man was touched by our hearts and our willingness to serve. He was not a pastor by profession, but the village called him Pastor out of respect for his service to the Lord. I'll never forget his words of comfort and encouragement to us, "Start with one. Let God multiply."



We don't need to take on the world. We can't. But we can make a difference to one, and then...

Sort:  

This was beautiful and inspiring. The starfish story is one I never get tired of hearing. And Pastor’s words, how wise. We are not God. We’re His hands and feet. We’re called to the one. He’s responsible for the multiplying. Love it!

I used to work at a non-profit in East St. Louis. One of the most dangerous and poorest cities in the US. It was HARD to feel like what little we were doing mattered. But, when you looked in the eyes of the one—it kept you going.

My friend!!!!! You're here!!!! ♥️ I've been missing you!!!!!!
I love your comment...it's so true on every level. And "looking in the eyes of the one" ..... Yes!

When you know there is a real person... And you can't deny the effect ... because you're LOOKING at it, how sweet those moments can be! I wish there were more of those! But in reality, sometimes we are just called to serve without ever getting to see the effect. It's not about us though, right? ♥️ Thank you for your encouragement and I'm so glad to see you!!! 😊

This is so touching.
Especially the starfish example. It lovingly depicts how much our little effort can be so great. You've definitely answered the question of how we can help these kids.
There are so many starfish on the shore, let's go make a difference.

Agree :) I did send something to you in your post.... but i think it's delayed. I'll keep checking to make sure it arrives. :)

Oh, thank you. Though you don't have to. You encouraged me to keep writing and thinking. I appreciate that even more.

It's already done! :) Now, I can help a "starfish" through you!!! :) If you find yourself in an opportunity to help, you can share a little bit from me. It's how we all come together. Every little bit helps - right? :)

True. Thank you so much.

I got to talk about your post one final time today in PYPT :) It's too late for upvotes i think.... but you might be able to touch a few more souls and connect in comments :)

Most certainly...If you don't do what you can, nothing would be helped, solved, bettered.

We cannot let complacency take over or become the norm, because this only results in desolation. It seems that desolation is the path humanity is walking, but as long as their are people that will not become complacent because the issue seems too burdensome, then there will always be other paths to follow.

I'll never look the other way, when I see a wrong and can tell you are the same way.

Maybe you should blog about your Fiji experience. I am interested in hearing more about it, my friend.

I am just now seeing a handful of comments on here that I somehow missed. I think GINA was overloaded this week because she had a few days where she was slow. I'm so sorry that I didn't get a chance to comment until now!

the Fiji experience was pretty amazing.... but i'm not sure if I would do it justice by blogging about it. Do you know what i mean? Sometimes those experiences are so rich - that when you try to confine it to words... it just dampens the impact.

But if I can come up with a few small impactful lessons - (like the one in this post) I will certainly try to share that!!!

I so appreciate you. You know that, right?? :)

👌😀
It's not about you doing it justice. It's about sharing your experience and mixing up the topics in your blog.

That gives you a chance to be viewed by a wider audience. You could also add it to the steemitworldmap to make a mark there and get an even wider audience yet.

maybe ;) i'll see if something stirs me to write about it

People would be interested in a review for the Cruise Line you were on as well.

yes - i actually have a few more cruise posts that are already written... i just need to format them and post it :)

Its true.. if you dont start anywhere..you will save none. Same as with the environment or helping your neighbor. If you dont initiate for change, it wont come by itself!

I agree (and I apologize that I'm just now seeing this comment!!!) We can start in one small area - and make a real effect. and we don't have to wait until tomorrow. it begins today! :)

....where's my kleenex when I need it???

We have to be the one to the one, we just have to.

Going to places like you did in Fiji always breaks my heart, I mean whose heart could it NOT break?

I've watch documentaries about awful things done to people, especially children and felt that same helplessness and hopelessness because I couldn't fix it or help them. I can only imagine how the photographer who filmed this one story felt.

We don't have to travel to places of obvious poverty stricken conditions. People around us are spiritually poverty stricken and have needs too.
Be the one for that one - take the step and God will add more steps.

Happy Easter.

so so true. i have chills reading your comment. I love hearts that are connected . It's so important!!

"Be the one for that one." I love how you put that. oh my gosh - i just got chills on top of my chills hahahahaha

gotta let that really sink in :) be the one for that one.

love you friend - we had a beautiful Easter and I hope you did too!

LOVE! And please stop making me tear up! The world needs a whole lot more of YOU! XXXOOO

we don't get to talk enough in buddyup!!!! hahahaha everytime that you're on - i'm not!!! and vice versa!!

i'm so glad that you were touched by this :) her story really touched me too and i felt that writing a comment on her post wasn't quite enough. i needed to try to answer that question that she left :)

Yeah, that's a really overwhelming question. I want to help everyone and I can't. But that doesn't mean I don't do what I can.

you're so right... just do what you can :) and then... the next day - see if you CAN do a little more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90