You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SILVER LINING #20

in #writing7 years ago

Do you know, for the first time I'm actually glad that I missed this, because I would have been waiting for the personal post and it would have taken some of the fireworks out of it...maybe I was destined to miss this post hahaha!
Actually, the past several days have been tough to be on as much, first going to the hospital to be with dad (or mostly to keep mom company) then he came home so I've been there a lot. I did just finally figure out that there's a phone app I can use though! lol! Of course I share a phone with Howie so that might not always help.
Anyway, sorry, talking about myself here, jeeze. Glad I didn't do that on the Big News post!
I also go back and forth on the whole predestined thing. I think maybe some of the bigger things in life are predestined, but not all the small stuff? Maybe certain events are meant to happen, but the road to get there can differ?
I tend to believe in the power of will and intent, which might clash with the idea of predestiny. But I have noticed, particularly lately, that when I set my intent on something it seems to materialize. For instance, after the first week of being on steemit I set my intent on making dolphin status by spring, getting a book published by spring (I did tell you about that right? I'll discuss that more in chat if I haven't already) and having my own car by spring. (I'm always stuck driving the work trucks which are terrible on gas and I just prefer a smaller vehicle.) Well it could be argued that all of these things would come to pass because I worked for them to, however the car thing...seemed like it was going to be a bust. I hadn't managed to save the money I needed to buy it and summer for us is generally a less profitable time (and I'm not touching my steemit money because I want that to pay off my house if possible)
Then shortly before my birthday my brother shows up. He has this big grin on his face and says, "Come outside with me" I follow him, and there is his toyota corolla with a bright red bow on it! He just so happened to decide this was the time for a brand new car for himself, and instead of selling his he gave it to me. He knew I loved that car, it's compact and excellent on gas, plus it's a toyota which are notorious for being well made and not breaking down easily. It's also white which makes it inconspicious and not a cop magnet which I prefer. So, point being, while the first two things I set my intent on did come about because I worked at them, the odds were against the car and yet my intent came to pass anyway.

Sort:  

Woah! Then it's great that I didn't message you ahead about it! What are the odds!? hahaha! Funny you mentioned "fireworks", too. Let's just say the proposal ended with that haha!

Oh no, no, any manner of comments are welcome here, you know that. It's great to hear that your dad is doing much better, sister. Pretty soon he'll be back to 100% :D

Yeah, that's the thing though, if there is such things as intent, power of will and choice, and we're able to shape the future based on our choices, then there must be no destiny, right? Personally, I'm torn on this as well. I'm a huge believer of the Many Worlds Interpretation and the butterfly effect, but there's a certain level of comfort in believing that something is destined to happen, which is a paradox, because it's 1 or 0 regarding those topics. One cannot exist with the other.

I do remember that, you told me that a while back. The car is a new story for me though. Wow! That's awesome! These are the kinds of stories that I want littering the comments section of the SILVER LININGs that's why I tried to spread out the topics as much as I can :)

Going back to choice vs destiny though. Let's say someone's destined to have something, but then that something gets completely destroyed, what happened to destiny there? If let's say you're destined to get to point Z, but you take several routes to get there, would you be able to say that you're the one making the choices that led you to point Z? What if all those choices are just there to lead you to point Z and you were "free" to take any route to get there, were all those still your choices? Definitely an unending discussion hahaha!

Thanks for your continued support, my friend. I really appreciate the happiness you felt about my happiness. It really doubled it, which is all kinds of awesome! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51