FINALLY! I HIT GOLD! THE REAL WORTH OF STEEMIT IS HERE!

in #writing7 years ago

Hello everyone, today would definitely pass as one of the happiest days of
my life. Not for lack of joy in previous days but for the revealing insights
that have followed me. So I am sure you want to know the real worth of steemit,
follow me.

MY STEEMIT STORY!

For a graduate of Mechanical Engineering from Nigeria in his early twenties my
annoyance towards seeing developing countries especially Africa able to quench
the fiery flames of poverty, corruption, injustice and most importantly bridging the
gap between the upper class and the lower class has led me to be a part of
many forums whose sole intent was to make citizens of my country better in all areas of their
life.
IMG_20180131_080620.jpg

On STEEMIT, I joined #DOLPHINSCHOOL. You can too by the way its an awesome experience. Just click on the tag. At #dolphinschool I saw @chieppa1 and I enjoyed his post on humor politics, it reminded me of President's Trump allegedly calling African countries, 'shit-hole'. It was indeed embarrassing but a sad reflection of Africa's perception in the diaspora. Now I know I can let my voice speak on posts here to make it heard. By the way @chieppa1 introduced Peterson to me after reading my post on TIME. You can read it here. https://steemit.com/dolphinschool/@donjyde/how-time-flies-just-that-you-are-the-pilot.

Now to the real worth of STEEMIT!

MY OBJECTIVE OF STEEMIT

I heard of Steemit through my friend and colleague, @Vikbajomo. Writing has been and still is my passion. It is the perfect mansion I run to express my innate desires either joyful emotions or sad ones. To hear of a platform
akin to Facebook but better in its rewards system was indeed awesome. In my country we say Crypto-currency is the new oil boom. Smiles.
I have been here for approximately 7 days and on the seventh day I hit gold coinciding with my schooling in #dolphinschool and my reading of this wonderful article by @damarth (https://steemit.com/society/@damarth/share-your-toughts-global-inegality#).

IMG-20180129-WA0004.jpg

My main objective of coming to STEEMIT was to make money. It was the perfect opportunity to get a reward on my articles, poems and stories that have all been lost in the rivers of 'thanks' and 'I love it.' I needed real reward, monetary reward.

I AM SURE YOU DO TOO. READ ON.

I FOUND WORTH!

My first day assignment in #dolphinschool was to find an ideal follower, in my search I met @damarth. @markrmorrisjr words of wisdom started this. My main lesson on 'day 1' was never to pretend to be interested in people, be interested in them indeed.
worth.png
Image source: buzzfeed.com

@damarth has invested his time and resources into making sure newbies on Steemit feel loved. He shares amazing stories of new individuals who have found safety and love in this community and that wowed me. Interestingly he seems to be more interested in newbies from developing countries and the economic impact Steemit could have on them. Using his UPVOTES, COMMENTS and RESTEEM to encourage new STEEMIANS is indeed wonderful.

NOW TO THE REAL WORTH OF STEEMIT

I am sure you wanted to know from the beginning what can @donjyde with a reputation score of 27, barely a week at STEEMIT and a minnow know about the real worth of STEEMIT.

Let me shock you!
love.jpg
Image source: phobia.wiki

The real worth of this community is not just monetary it is value oriented. Its not in how prolific a writer you are or how
wonderful a photographer but in what you can share with love. Adding value to this community is the greatest worth we can give to it. It is a community to spread love and sweetness. And like @damarth this might not be a UN initiative but indeed it can create wealth, joy and love to people and nations who hitherto would not have dreamt it.

So you can join @markrmorrisjr and @steemgoblin at the #dolphinschool. Come, lets spread this love together!

The real worth of STEEMIT is here: its in love sharing.

Sort:  

Indeed a lovely post. Best of luck on your journey through steemit ;)

Gosh @donjyde I really loved your post - so well put and inspiring!

@andysantics, I really am grateful

I am glad you found #dolphinschool, its a great thing to stumble onto in your first week. It will give you a huge head start on steemit! Power up and steem on! Also check out @thesteemengine they have a post promotion place on their discord channel that you share your post after reading and engaging on two other posts within the channel

Thank you. I appreciate your kind heart

Inspiring post @donjyde. Nice to meet you and hope we all continue to learn lots @dolphinschool.

I am sure our learning continues... thank you @redheadpei

I'll try to use a metaphor I'm sure you'll appreciate GOOOOOAAAAALLLLLL! you nailed it! Like a forward bending it in from the outside corner! Nice. You got the bucket brigade perfectly. Your story is very inspiring. BTW, I've been following the efforts toward a free trade Afrrica, and let me just say, the rest of the world better wake up, because if your people band together, they are so hard working, tough and ingenious, they will be running this big ball of mud in no time!

Now, for the critique. Slow down. You have added so much value here, but where is the beauty of your piece from yesterday? the clean feel and neat formatting? If you want to be an artist, in a content market, take the time to set a standard and let each piece rise to it, but you already know that, don't you. Thanks for this great and inspiring piece. It's my honor to be helping steemers like you!

Now you got me thinking. I have a lot of improving to do I know. But it can only get better. Thanks @markrmorrisjr for your words. I am going from confused to enlightened. I think you mean I should stick to my style. Thank you.

Honestly, u kept me glued till the end #dolphinshool teachings in action, keep up.

This is perfect... Sadly too few people will heed your wise words:

Get involved with other people, spread the love, share yourself... Do all this, and the rewards will follow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54421.42
ETH 2277.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32