Audition Piece

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is an audition piece I wrote for this year's drama festival. I tried to capture the feeling of being backstage, after the audience is seated and the anticipation of the curtain opening.

stage-lighting-500x500.jpg

AUDITION PIECE

BACKSTAGE dimly lit. ACTOR warming up on stage behind the front curtain as the sounds of the audience can faintly be heard.

ACTOR: There is nothing like the smell of backstage. In the air, traces of every actor, every play, every performance. The air holds notes sung by the most beautiful voices, words spoken to and caught by the heart and dreams of young actors of their moment in the spotlight. The memories are thick and unforgettable and the feeling is beautiful. It is the only place I feel alive.

The way the dust from the curtains pass through the soft light as I tilt my head upward to the fly loft and take one long last deep and filling breath before exhaling all my nerves and worries like glass marbles rolling downstage centre, gently whispering under the front curtain across the apron and each of them jumping to their death, living just long enough to give the audience a taste of what I am feeling - behind the curtain.

I am in love with this moment because I hold a secret the audience has yet to see. I know the lines that will break their heart, I know the scenes that will make them laugh and I know the end that will launch them from their seat in a sea of whistles and thunderous applause. Right now they are taking their seats and looking at the stage with bated breath awaiting their own escape, the magic of the theatre…just seconds away from two friends meeting for the very first time from opposite sides of the curtain.

I am ready, it is time. Open the curtains, and let the lights burn away the shadows of doubt.

CURTAINS OPEN.

If you enjoy this post please RESTEEM - UPVOTE - COMMENT - FOLLOW @doghaus

© Doghaus
9 February 2018

I own all rights to the text in this post.

Image https://goo.gl/images/7SUTpo

Honestly,
Doghaus

Sort:  

I think you have captured the essence of what happens backstage. The excitement. The nerves. The smell of costumes and stage makeup.

exhaling all my nerves and worries like glass marbles rolling downstage centre, gently whispering under the front curtain across the apron and each of them jumping to their death, living just long enough to give the audience a taste of what I am feeling - behind the curtain.

Beautifully written. Kudos to you!

Thank you @cecicastor, we have a five hour rehearsal today but most of the play is still in my head! Wish me luck!

Good luck or in the theatre world, "break a leg"!

Woww love it.
do let us know what happened to the audition?

Thanks @hirazaryaab, I've picked the cast and we are rehearsing now. The festival is in four weeks.

Excelent! I like it...
Look my new poetry: Sus colores al volar

Thank you @mpfiguera, have a great weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43