Writing everyday or losing opportunities?

in #writing7 years ago

If you're not convinced that you should consistently produce content, here's a launchpad to motivate your instincts to pen things down.

 

Should you write every day when you have absolutely nothing else to write or should you just wait out until inspiration knocks at your door?

 
Well, some people don't agree on waiting for opportunities. Which makes sense to me, because I'm one of those who "find another door of opportunity, instead of waiting out for one."

That doesn't make you a total opportunistic jerk as long as you don't go hurting people to get to where you want. It only strengthens you as a hustler, should you ask.

While I've already covered ways to tackle the block and formats, to answer the question- keep creating content every day.

Word of caution though. Some Steemians do better with only one long post/ a week but it works for them. While others are building a good habit of daily posting, so they might choose to create shorter content for consumption. The main point is, regardless of the length, what truly matters is the quality of content. And how do you know if your content is a quality one? Read the rest and decide for yourself.

 

But what if the content is not a quality one since I have no substance for my content?

 
It's a good question actually, because how can you create quality content if you have nothing to offer right?

The truth is, quality content is based on your resourcefulness and efforts you put into creating the content. Whether it's a short or long form of multidisciplinary content, both are quality content if it helps your readers clarify their thoughts.

When your content helps others, and the community appreciates you reaching out— you're actually on good tracks.

 

Then how do I know if my content has truly helped or educated others?

 
The best way to identify their appreciation is through the comments you received. Sure, sometimes you'll be getting all praises and no feedbacks so cut yourself some slack and pat on your back.

One way of gauging if your content is doing the community a justice is by looking at the rate of your engagement with the community and their feedbacks. If your content strikes an accord with their values, they'll be more than supportive and generous to give you an upvote. However, the value of upvote, of course, depends on their voting power as well. So even though you might have more votes, you could still earn less and vice versa.

On another note, if you're not receiving enough of feedbacks, it's either you 1) reach out and ask for it, or 2) communicate your concerns of improving the content. I've seen how some Steemians have done this and it's providing them a great platform to improve their work tremendously. Bear in mind though, it takes time to build a following and run a community.

 

Will you lose opportunities if you don't?

 
Depending on what you're looking for and still a yes. But if you're not looking to achieve anything on this platform, it won't be a big deal to you right? Since you've read this far into the post, I'm sure you're looking to improve your profile.

Say you're building a portfolio in your specific industry, writing every day about the subject of your passion allows your prospects to gauge your work more effectively. At the same time, I'm sure they're able to sense your diligence when creating the content on a consistent basis as well.

But if you're looking to earn more STEEM, writing everyday itself will earn you a consistent income and power up your profile. The results won't be immediate but with gradual effort, you'll get there. Whether it's enough for you to cash out or not, that's another discussion.

 

Posting (or writing) everyday or losing opportunities?

 

That's for you to decide

Image credit: All public domain images are taken from Pexels, unless stated otherwise.
 
 

These days I mostly write on Steemit.
I still have my portfolio and personal sites— virtuallydebbie.com and debbieang.com.
But these sites will eventually redirect you to my Steemit blog.
Well, what can I say. If it’s good stuff, you can’t get enough of it :)
Follow me and I'll take you through my unpredictable journey— filled with wilderness, curiosity and randomness.
PS: Check out #steemitbloggers and click here to join the other bloggers. Also, check out @kristyglas 's amazing divider below.

Support her work by sharing as she puts in tremendous effort into creating pretty dividers for Steemians.

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @deborism to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

An interesting and easy read :)
Personally I usually spend a lot of time per post, because of drawing part (8+ hours). So it's impossible for me to post daily. I'm actually considering making a schedule and announcing it, I wonder if that would help :D
Thank you for the mention! ^^

Yeah totally understandable. I guess this method is more feasible for writing. Thanks for bringing light into this matter @kristyglas :)

I do have this thing where I always write long content (I'm just terrible at explaining and summarizing) and it takes up huge amount of my time.. @deborism Any tips on how to improve in explaining ideas/concept?

hmm i'll probably look into that haha i do actually. Just need to organize them into words...thanks for suggesting @aaronmcheong

Good reminder to all why we are doing we do daily. Just like how beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder, I think so is the reception of the writing.

positive smile back at you

@deborism thanks for the good post. This triggered me of something.. haha

haha thanks @kokuryo ... i hope triggered in a good way. I was down last night with flu anyway, so I didn't manage to upkeep with what I preach here... I'm back ! haha

I try to post everyday here. But yet to reach the people so my earnings are low. I hope to find the community around my content hopefully. This is a great platform as it is :)

I was kinda stressed out at first but I understand that Steemit is all about community. Keep building your following and the rest will follow:)

This post has received a 28.74 % upvote from thanks to: @deborism.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.100 SBD to bid for votes.

Before sending a transfer to @minnowhelper, verify that your publication meets these conditions (http://www.minnowhelper.com/conditions.php). After the transfer is made, no claims will be received.


The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Thank you @deborism for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 3.79% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80