Sort:  

Congratulations @damianjayclay! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hmm, why didn't I reply yet? Weird... perhaps because I replied only in the chat...?
Well. just to confirm, this is an awesome idea, and great execution as well, and I'm looking forward to adding my own two cents to this very inspiring initiative.

Thanks for that. Honoured to be kicking off what I know will be a great series from The Writers' Block.

Thank you for taking the time to introduce us to this book! I'm definitely going to take a look at it one day.

Totally worth it when you can lay your hands on a copy. Thank you.

This is fantastic, 3B. What an asset you are to all the writers here on Steemit and in the Block! This is going to be a great series. scurries off to buy this book

Thanks Rhonda. Hope you like it.

Great review! Now I just have to get the page made on the website for these.....

I think it's going to be a great series. Looking forward to writing the next one and seeing what books other people are writing about.

I know the name David Mamet, and am even familiar with some of those stories you mentioned, but I have yet to read this book. And it sounds exactly like the sort of thing I like to read.

I found your discussion on the 3 acts in writing interesting. I recently read a blurb in a book discussing why it is actually 4 and not 3, and i came away with the same conclusion - the author didn't get it. Sure split the 2nd act in two and name it 4 acts. Big deal, nothing has changed. The fundamental arc of the story still exists as it always did. But I didn't realise - until reading your post - that there are others out there with that view.

Thanks for the introduction to this book. I will look out for it.

Thanks for your thoughtful comment. There's no accident I've reviewed this book first. It really has helped me along with a deeper understanding of dramatisation.

Writing has always fascinated me, yet at the same time always alluded me. In elementary school Inwould write quirky short stories, they were not bad. Wish Inwould have saved them. But as I got older and became more critical of myself, I would find it hard to transfer the ideas in my head to paper. Thus becoming discouraged. While you said that this book is in know way a manual, I am going to find it and give it a read. Maybe this old dog can learn some new tricks! I look forward to following this series but also checking out your other content. Have a good day!

Thanks for your thought out reply. There's lots more good stuff on the way. Coming very soon will be a bi-weekly, step by step course on writing poetry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44