You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writers’ Shelf (essential books for writers) #01 – Three Uses of the Knife by David Mamet

in #writing7 years ago

I know the name David Mamet, and am even familiar with some of those stories you mentioned, but I have yet to read this book. And it sounds exactly like the sort of thing I like to read.

I found your discussion on the 3 acts in writing interesting. I recently read a blurb in a book discussing why it is actually 4 and not 3, and i came away with the same conclusion - the author didn't get it. Sure split the 2nd act in two and name it 4 acts. Big deal, nothing has changed. The fundamental arc of the story still exists as it always did. But I didn't realise - until reading your post - that there are others out there with that view.

Thanks for the introduction to this book. I will look out for it.

Sort:  

Thanks for your thoughtful comment. There's no accident I've reviewed this book first. It really has helped me along with a deeper understanding of dramatisation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63