Sort:  

I feel like I just unwrapped a Christmas present! Now if I can only figure out how to work this thing.... Just kidding. I do dabble in poetry writing from time to time. I am much more comfortable in the realm of fiction.

I'm going to study your poetry workshop articles. This may just be the starter course I need to summon the bravery to begin to commence to think about writing some poetry for real.

Good to have you along. I will make poets out of you all lol

Be afraid. Be very vey afraid. 😄

Awesome work again man. You keep making this place better. Thank you for helping all those poets and writers. Keep up the good work. God Bless. Peace and Love. :)

Thanks for that :) And thanks for reading.

Hi @damianjayclay, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Thanks Shadows. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Lots more to come!

Thank you for sharing your poetry knowledge with us again! I love how "show vs tell" covers not just fiction writing, but poetry as well :)

It really is such an important law of writing for shaping your work into the most dramatic form it can take. Thanks for reading, Rose. :)

An interesting article and obviously you are more knowledgeable. I write a bit and was asked to join a group who help poets (especially newbies). I have already been spending time helping newbies whose language is not English nd I try to help them improve, without them losing the unique way they have of creating images, becuse of their language and or culture.

I did agree to help, but after reading your article, I can see how it might not be a good idea (for the sake of those I'll be trying to help). I write my poetry as it comes to me. I cannot sit down and 'force' a poem to come, but often, when I am about to sleep or as I wake up, the first lines come to me and I write (either in English or Greek). When I was in school (a very long time ago) I did very badly in English, but upped my marks by my love of writing essays.

This indicates that I should not agree to advise, when I am not good at grammar, how to set out a poem etc. Heck, I often don't even have the words for doing so.

Thanks for showing me what a mistake I was about to make. It is better I just stick to reading and writing for my enjoyment.

Ah, funnily enough, I can't force a poem either. For those initial drafts, I have to to feel some kind of urge or inspiration. As for editing, I can do that any time.

I think it's great you're helping people and I think you should continue to do so. I certainly don't know everything about poetry, I don't think that means I should stop helping those I'm able.

I do hope you keep going and keep reading. There's always something else to learn, for all of us.

I was waiting for your next lesson in Poetry Editing 101 so impatiently. This has been really helpful. I always try to bring more imagery into my poems and to 'show' rather than 'tell', but that has never been deliberate.
But awareness of these abstractions and their impact on the reader's experience allows me to go back to all my poems to re-check and re-edit.
Thank you for sharing your knowledge of the craft.

I'm glad you're finding it so useful. There's a lot more to come.

Looking forward to it.

This would be great reading for fiction writers also, as it explains show not tell so thoroughly.

Thanks Bex. I think a lot of what I write about in this series will be applicable to fiction.

Thank you, Damian. This leasson was pretty good to read. I will write more.

Bless.

Thanks for reading!

Holy Mother! Where were you when I was in school trying to stay awake through the sleep inducing English literature classes? I love your writing and am totally in A.W.E.
Fine it's decided! When I grow up, I want to be able to write as well as you. You've being followed! Kindly keep churning out more of your excellent work. Thank you very much and I shall be following all your posts from now on!xoxo niki

BTW- Where is the RESTEEM arrow? I need to share this on my feed!

Ah, this post is past payout so I'm not sure you can resteem it. Don't worry though. There will be another editing post soon :)

Your post was really interesting. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85