You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poetry Editing 101 – Session Two: Resolving Emotional Abstractions

in #writing7 years ago

An interesting article and obviously you are more knowledgeable. I write a bit and was asked to join a group who help poets (especially newbies). I have already been spending time helping newbies whose language is not English nd I try to help them improve, without them losing the unique way they have of creating images, becuse of their language and or culture.

I did agree to help, but after reading your article, I can see how it might not be a good idea (for the sake of those I'll be trying to help). I write my poetry as it comes to me. I cannot sit down and 'force' a poem to come, but often, when I am about to sleep or as I wake up, the first lines come to me and I write (either in English or Greek). When I was in school (a very long time ago) I did very badly in English, but upped my marks by my love of writing essays.

This indicates that I should not agree to advise, when I am not good at grammar, how to set out a poem etc. Heck, I often don't even have the words for doing so.

Thanks for showing me what a mistake I was about to make. It is better I just stick to reading and writing for my enjoyment.

Sort:  

Ah, funnily enough, I can't force a poem either. For those initial drafts, I have to to feel some kind of urge or inspiration. As for editing, I can do that any time.

I think it's great you're helping people and I think you should continue to do so. I certainly don't know everything about poetry, I don't think that means I should stop helping those I'm able.

I do hope you keep going and keep reading. There's always something else to learn, for all of us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62686.30
ETH 2673.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56