Sort:  

Nice tips.

I know one recommendation I've heard is to tweak and contort the cliche to fit your own experience with your own detail, similar to your inky bruise example.

The cliche still has power, it just has to be made unique again.

That's a great article. Yes, I love rewriting cliches.

Quite useful advice! Clichés are indeed bad. Whenever I pick up a poetry collection and see a cliché, I lose hope not just in the poem but in the main collection. Other rules that we tend to think we need to follow are rhyming - which is from it.

One of the biggest praises I have received regarding my poetry is by people saying that they do not usually read poetry, but they understood mine. Especially on platforms like steemit, you do not want a small cult to read your work, but preferably, anyone that reads it will understand.

As for the question for next post:

I have seen some people experiment with indentation in pretty unique ways. Do you have a general opinion on indentations - if they are helpful, distracting, or depends on a case-to-case bases?

Thanks for reading. Yes, I think the audience on Steemit seem quite open to poetry; best to make it as polished as we can.

Thanks for the question. It's an important one!

And it's also great to see a lot of steemians who never wrote poetry, doing so for the first time! These sessions are definitely crucial to learn from.

This is exceptional, @damianjayclay. There's such a wealth of great information. I love your thoughts on clichés and how to spot them. That is true with all creative writing.

Thanks, Jayna, and thanks for reading. Yes, this one especially is as important for prose as it is for poetry.

This is a great great read...ill start using these tips... Im also a poet but i hate writing long poems & i rarely read long poems, i only read it if it grips my attention... I like writing 3...5lines of words with great depth... Any advice on that?

Yeah -- tips for short form poems. I'll cover that in the Q&A. Thanks for reading :)

I really enjoy reading your series, as I learn some new things from your expertise. I do my best to steer away from cliches because they take the power out of a poem. What I do instead is adding new layers of meaning to the words.

Thanks for reading. Glad you're finding it useful!

HI there! May I know something? Is poetry that sounds like it's prose chopped up actually poetry?

I know this person who wants to improve on their poetry but refuses to change any cliches and old English in her work. What advice should I give her?

Nice work as always. It seema like TWB wants to transform me into a poet.

One question. How would you define poetry?

Yes, reading helps identify cliches; it's the only sure way.

I agree fully.

Thanks for reading. :)

Following your series... Very good information in the one I read from seven days ago on *imagery, I appreciate the time that you take to break the concepts down for the reader them and show better examples. My poetry is a work-in-progress, and I enjoy reading good poetry so I aspire to write better work. Nice work!

Very glad you're finding it useful. If there's something specific you'd like to ask, I'll attempt to answer it in the Q&A session.

Thanks for reading :)

I will definitely keep that in mind. You're a wealth of good information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57962.42
ETH 3050.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25