You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poetry Editing 101: Session Four – Avoid Cliches Like the Plague or I Shall Smite Thee with the Poxe

in #writing6 years ago

Quite useful advice! Clichés are indeed bad. Whenever I pick up a poetry collection and see a cliché, I lose hope not just in the poem but in the main collection. Other rules that we tend to think we need to follow are rhyming - which is from it.

One of the biggest praises I have received regarding my poetry is by people saying that they do not usually read poetry, but they understood mine. Especially on platforms like steemit, you do not want a small cult to read your work, but preferably, anyone that reads it will understand.

As for the question for next post:

I have seen some people experiment with indentation in pretty unique ways. Do you have a general opinion on indentations - if they are helpful, distracting, or depends on a case-to-case bases?

Sort:  

Thanks for reading. Yes, I think the audience on Steemit seem quite open to poetry; best to make it as polished as we can.

Thanks for the question. It's an important one!

And it's also great to see a lot of steemians who never wrote poetry, doing so for the first time! These sessions are definitely crucial to learn from.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67284.54
ETH 3306.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71