Travelling into the world of a song — Featuring "Pozo" by Lisandro Aristimuño

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Whenever I listen to music, I imagine it as the description of a world (like a novel). Each piece has its own plot and theme, its own divisions and events. I like to travel these worlds and compare them to real concrete things as if music were a narration and not just a sequence of harmonious sounds. I will attempt to do that today in writing instead of leaving it in my mind.

Pozo by Lisandro Aristimuño


Press play, this is the song I'm describing.

0:00

Intermittent ha's, like a corrupted audio file, are followed by a higher "doo", creating a disharmony right before the normal music starts. This again is a dissonance, a narration resource that brings me further inside. Then, happy music starts. The initial phrase repeats itself while the music makes me travel to green and yellow prairies with happy African tribes dancing and finding purpose in community life.

Young and old women and men walk by, carrying baskets with fruits, playing and talking, singing with their musical instruments. A soft musical thread ties time together, unlike the disorderly reality where we live, when we forget about the past and we worry that our lives are without purpose. Here, everything is the purpose in itself. Every moment is chained together with a strange excitement.

0:37

The lyrics of the song are sad, filled with melancholy while beautiful guitar bits jump to sight, as if beauty wanted to be noticed among the dark thoughts that make up the song's sequence. The joyous theme continues like a merry repetition that will never end, the way we sometimes see life before we remember...

2:37

...that everything must come to a sad end. The music stops like the fall of the meteor that blew away the dinosaurs. A soft orchestral piece starts with a soft beatbox rhythm. It's a soft walk through a boulevard at night.

3:17

The previous music comes back in a last repetition, like a memory, a melancholic remembrance of the joyous past, which can at least find a resting place in the back of our minds.

3:50

The train stops and the doors open. It's time to keep going.


I found this image on Pixabay and thought it was fitting for the end






I've been wanting to do this for a while.
Not with this particular song, but with any. I quite enjoy it.

Do you enjoy it too? Or maybe not?
Leave me a comment and a vote.




Come chat with me. Join our Crypto Empire community on Discord.

CryptoEmpire Banner




Other recent posts that might interest you:


By me:

Free horizontal rulers/text dividers for everyone to use
Witches in Literature: The victims of ignorance and prejudice

By others:

More free text dividers by @byn
A cool writing contest also by @byn
A review of Starry Night by Van Gogh by @alejandromata
What kind of followers do you want? by @svkrulze

PS: I'll start doing some featured posts at the bottom because I feel like everything should be more interconnected. Don't you think so too? I felt like my posts were too isolated.



Remember to leave me a vote <3
I also enjoy reading your comments!


Sort:  

I think its hard to express what I imagine in my mind when I listen to a song. But you did it. I think it's great. I don't understand the language but with your description I was still able to follow along and be part of it. With that, you are pretty awesome to bring me there. Good job!

:D Awesome!

I didn't know if I'd succeed, but it seems I did. I didn't actually listen much to the lyrics. I mean, I understood every word, but I didn't link the words together into sentences with meaning. I was more into a "feeling it" mood. Then, I read the lyrics and it was just the same as without them. This is sometimes good, since the 'music' is what's important and the voice can be interpreted as only accompaniment.

Thank you for the field report! <3


These are the lyrics, anyway:

Source

That's an interesting song. I look forward to more of theses. Sometimes I struggle with interpreting lyrics so the way I imagine it turns out its not even the way the singer meant for the story to be. But music and lyrics can reflect upon how we are feeling thus changes the meaning to the song. Buck 65 is big on poetry and sometimes I still don't know some of the meanings behind his words. His album, Secret House Against The World is my favorite one. It's got very deep meanings in his songs.

I like it, it's a beautiful song. I did get the feeling of a thoughtful lull at 2:37 as well. I picked out random words I recognized. Like the moon. And days of the week. Mysterious.

That is pretty cool that you got a feel roughly matching the lyrics. I agree with the music itself being the most important with lyrics that augment the feel.

You got a 1.69% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptosharon!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Oh, I didn't remember your comment was 5 lines. I thought it was just one. I still needed the vote, though. :P So don't be discouraged, little bot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.52
ETH 3747.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66