A.N.Y. Questions... J-ust O-ver B-roke (Question #32)

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Does your job inspire you?

You're Kidding Right?

Just Over Broke
Jail of Boss
Justifying Officious Bonality (Compliments of my hubby)

J. O. B. Not a word that is usually associated with inspiration. The word is either said with a sneer or the air of resistance and defeat. When I looked at this question, I raised an eyebrow for my first response was to say no. Well that one word won't make an article so here we go.

Do what THEY want!

What is a job?

The reason you get up early
Why you dress a certain way
Fight traffic to get there during rush hour.
You spend more time there than anywhere else
Bathroom Breaks are not controlled by your body.
They never pay you what you are worth
Your time is spent doing something you don't want to do
Deal with people and their personalities

Make someone a whole bunch of money and they don't share
Leaving when you want is not an option
Breaks are decided for you and their duration.
Management doesn't know what they are doing
Nobody listens to you
Feeling unappreciated
Team members are often back stabbers
More month at the end of the money

The list goes on...

Money for Nothing

Feeling inspired? Typing that list made me throw up a little in my mouth yet most of us put ourselves through that on a daily basis. Why on earth do we do that? Two reasons jump out at me: money and lack of passion. Most of us do our 9 to 5 because money is the present convention for getting what we want; we need it to exchange for those goods. Some societies have survived on bartering services but it's a very limited system; my grocery store only wants money in exchange for my items. Since money is the chief currency, we are at the mercy of the business owners to exchange our time for their pennies. This puts us at a disadvantage for they know we need money and will do practically anything for it. Many of us will work for WAY less money than we are worth and stay there. This is a perfect segue for our next reason; lack of passion.

Chain Gang

Hundreds of motivational speakers occupy the shelves of new and old book stores preaching that passion is the key to changing our reality. Most of us cannot connect passion with our daily job. It barely inspires us so the word passion is quite a leap; if it did we would use the words business or career. So how do we inspire ourselves in our job? Sure we can strive to be the best that we can be but it can be easily deflated if there is no recognition from our boss. Somehow, someway we need to find something that motivates us and causes us to do whatever it takes to get it. That's the only way to create motivation and keep us going while our outside job sucks the life out of us. That's what I'm doing. While I am at work and watching the hours tick by, I focus on The Common Guru. I use every opportunity to use my job to focus on what I want. When a co-worker says something uncomely I stop, acknowledge the feeling, then focus on how awesome it would be to work with The Common Guru full time. This helps me focus on what I want while doing something I don't want to do. That's how my job inspires me for I know it's not the end but just the vehicle to get me where I'm going.

Journey Overcoming Boredom
Jax Owning Beliefs

Did this response resonate with you? I would love to hear your take on the question and how it impacted you. Please post your thoughts below.

On January first, I posted our first article in this series explaining a new way to approach New Year's resolutions. Each day we will explore a different question that challenges us to understand ourselves better. The format will be as follows: I will post the previous day's question with my answer followed by the next day's question for contemplation.

Tomorrow's question: Do you have spiritual forces powerful enough to keep you from fear?

Response posted tomorrow.

Who is the Common Guru? Here is our introductory article
Follow us on Twitter
Subscribe to our YouTube channel.
Like us on Facebook

Pictures courtesy of Pixaby

Sort:  

Yes i do and let me count the ways.
-i stayed even when i was bullied,i fought back and didnt let their incompetence won including the manager.
-the grass isnt always greener on the other side,even if its more money and higher position.
-i actually love what i do,some colleagues are friends,some patients are appreciative and having no expectations with the management to care about their staff.
-working 2x a week is not much money but enough for cheap travels in between.

I too have had jobs where I woke up in the morning and looked forward to the day ahead. I have also had jobs that I dreaded being there every minute. There have been positions where I brought the best out of my managers and the worst. It's been a smorgasbord of experiences. It's only lately that I realized that my job is to serve a purpose and not be the "be all and end all". That has helped tremendously with my attitude towards my 9 to 5. I also now understand that I need to set myself up for success in my job life if I want my passion life to flourish. I'm glad you love what you do. I haven't had that experience... my jobs have been money orientated ventures.

Thank you for your comment :)

The best for some may not be for the rest. Success have different meanings for all of us.
I hope that for most people, they are happy with what they do. I have noticed that the highest position and salary some people have, they are not happy and content.

"I'll be happy when" plagues a lot of people for they find that when they receive the object of their desire they are not happy. Happiness needs to be the fuel to attain the object not only the brass ring. I used to live like that:
When I have this job or...
When my boys do that....
When I get this money...
or when I go on this trip I will feel happy. Some future endeavor or goal was the carrot in front of my eyes. What I didn't realize was that I was miserable for most of the time and when I finally got the prize that joy was short lived for the next target had to be set. Once set, the misery and cycle started again. When I jumped off that hamster wheel and looked for happiness in the present, I was able to find joy in the process :)

Good for you. The conditioning is there from the start that it's difficult to get out of. Lots of people dont know the meaning of simplicity.

Do you know what snapped me out of it? I was over at my mom's place and she was running around her house cleaning like a chicken with it's head cut off. The irony was that she never got her house to the point where she could sit back and relax. She kept saying to me, "When I get this housework done I'll be happy". The truth was that she never really became happy. She then would find another project and she would say the same thing about that. I then realized I followed in her footsteps and kept projecting my happiness into the future.

I find that there is a balance here that needs to be found and it's not easy to define. We are to look outside our current reality to find what makes us happy yet feel good about the present situation that doesn't. It's not meant to be a escape but instead to be a projection of what we really want. It's like the current pattern that people live in is the fantasy version of this, a counterfeit so to speak. Maybe the difference is whether action is attached to that "day dreaming" or is it just thought. Hmmmm....

It's difficult to say..am not sure but i think it's a state of the mind. Where at some point life becomes a cycle and you arent happy at a time when you think you should. Then you'll think something needs to change.
Somebody did say, it's not where you are, not who you are with, that you become happy etc.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

100 votes and only 5 views?
interesting...........

I often wondered the same thing! Are we voting for the sake of voting ,skimming the surface, or taking the time to read the articles?

Thank you for you comment :)

I think many people lack passion because they're working for someone who doesn't appreciate them, and they know rightly that if they quit tomorrow their role could easily be filled by anyone else and it wouldn't matter either way. I think people would be more interested if they felt indispensable. It's also the fact you're never in control of your own time or future if you work for someone else, and that in itself is very unpleasant. Personally I'd rather live in a bartering society... here's some eggs and I'll have a loaf of your bread!

So True! A bartering society values people and their services because all feel part of something bigger than themselves. Bartering give a sense of acceptance and accomplishment. Looking for appreciation outside of ourselves is a exercise in disappointment unless we see that value in a higher power whatever that is defined by you (unless you can find that internally on your own). Any horizontal expectations for that won't arrive until we find value in ourselves of ourselves. I spent most of my life seeking acceptance and appreciation outside of myself and all that accomplished was a greater sense of selflessness. It was awful. I went to a seminar where I felt a moment of complete acceptance of myself and it changed my life. I then worked from the inside out and received the acceptance I was looking for even from the people who didn't accept me. I do get some "blips" of feeling unappreciated but they pale in comparison. Always a pleasure receiving your posts :)

I'm happy to hear about your experience, that's wonderful! And you are right of course, acceptance has to start from within otherwise we will always fall back into feelings of worthlessness whenever we don't get the 'fix' from others. And then all it takes is for someone to tell us we're useless and we're utterly depressed - not a good state to be in!!!

I enjoy reading your blog, and I look forward to many more interesting topics for discussion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60684.92
ETH 2911.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30