Time Chuckles

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

The following story is an entry for the Art Prompt Writing Contest #9. The wonderful work of art below was created by @azbeen and served as the prompt for this contest.


created by @azbeen


Watches the time tick by. Watches the time tick by. Watches the time tick... Why is the cat ticking? Why is my watch silent?

This vile mute device on my wrist. This vile wound up animal on my couch. Is the fluff-ball full of gears where my watch should be? And what, then, is my watch full of hairballs?

Oh this needs to be investigated if ever anything did. Time is of the essence. I need my small screwdriver kit, the one I use to disassemble electronics and other delicate things. Like cats? No, no! Quick, re-focus. I need to get the hairballs out of my watch.

But where are my tiny screwdrivers? The cat ate them. I know he did. Vile thing. I'll wait for them to pass through his system. They might get stuck, though, they might get stuck... What if they get stuck in his colon or something?

Can't wait on that kind of risk... Hairballs, those damn hairballs in my watch. Smash it open, yeah, better to smash it than to leave it so defiled. For want of a hammer. Where's my hammer? Did I leave it with my tiny screwdriver kit? The cat! Yes, the cat ate it. Shake the cat, shake-shake, any clinking in it's tummy? No none whatsoever.

So the cat didn't eat my hammer. Unless he also didn't eat my tiny screwdriver kit. In which case, nothing to clink... doubt is inescapable. Except when you know. Like when you look at your watch and you know the time is the time is the time!

What time is it? I need to know, I need it because of doubt. Just tell me the time, cat! Fluff your gears together, tick your tail, meowl out the hours and the minutes and the seconds and... but don't do the seconds, I might lose my mind you meowling every damn second I might just toss myself out the window and you'd better not jump meowling after me if I do because that would undermine the whole purpose of my tossing myself away and

Cat cat cat... Is it time to feed the cat? What time is it? I need to feed him, chow for the fluff. Chow when? Maybe now, but oh with a watch full of hairballs who can say? Hear that, cat? That's the sound of your own machinations starving your own self out of a good chow session. What's that? You're already full on hammers and tiny screwdrivers? Serves you right, but god you don't know any better you poor thing...

Cat needs a vet, or a mechanic. Both? Is better. Vet flushes all those tiny screwdrivers out his system (leave the hammer?). Mechanic gets the drivers fixes my watch. Then if the time says meal then... lucky cat.

Cat has a name but it's lost on the name tag that hung from that collar which is also lost. Of course cat has a name it's name is on the tip of my tongue... Funny cat makes me laugh with his seriousness and silence when he's not meowling the time. My fault that. Chuckles my insides, chuckle-chuckle... Chuckles!

Hello my Chuckles, my precious cat. Hello. I haven't forgotten you, no, not yet. Have you eaten? What time is it?

Sort:  

Awesome stuff! This is a very late reply, due to me no knowing I could see when someone mentioned me. I just found out you used my image as a prompt and came to say excellent job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99